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Closing the Loop: Enhancing User Experience with Monetization | Tal Shoham

Closing the Loop: Enhancing User Experience with Monetization | Tal Shoham

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Closing the Loop: Enhancing User Experience with Monetization | Tal Shoham

  1. 1. Closing the loop Enhancing user experience with Rewarded ad-monetization Casual Connect Kiev, October 2017 Tal Shoham VP International Business Development, ironSource
  2. 2. Changing the focus Ad Monetization Revenue Attention for IAPs Attention Ad Monetization IAP Revenue Revenue Attention
  3. 3. How we analyze IAP metrics ● % of paying users ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU ● Type of reward - virtual goods ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
  4. 4. How we analyze IAP metrics ● % of paying users ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU ● Type of reward - virtual goods ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales Rewarded Ad Monetization Metrics ● ER / UR ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPDEU ● Type of reward ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
  5. 5. Engagement Rate and Usage Rate Engagement Rate Usage Rate 6 Videos 100% Users 40% Users 1,000,000 DAU * 40% ER = 400,000 daily engaged users 400,000 * 6 (UR) = 2,400,000 daily video impressions
  6. 6. App A App B
  7. 7. 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 53% 7 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% App A 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 12% 3 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% App B 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 6 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% Casino subcategory average 31% 6X
  8. 8. How to improve ER and UR? Placement ● Test alternative placements - from storefront to natural breaks in the app ● Maximise the ad’s visibility, discoverability with minimal number of clicks for user Reward ● How important is the currency to playing the game? ● Different currencies for each ad unit User Flow ● Is the ad product integrated at the optimal trigger points? ● Ad units should be available exactly when users need rewards Traffic Driver ● Where are your traffic drivers located? ● Are the traffic drivers clear and self explanatory? ● Give them a consistent look & feel
  9. 9. Good Ad Monetization Can Positively Affect IAPs
  10. 10. Case Study EA ● Introduced Rewarded Videos ● Users who watched RVs had a 6 times increased likelihood of making an IAP ● Benefits ○ Sample of the premium content Increases likelihood of making an IAP and reduces average number of days to first IAP ○ Happy, returning users Boosts DAU and retention ○ Engaged users Increases engagement, boosts average session duration and number of screens per session
  11. 11. The Power of Exponential Rewards
  12. 12. Case Study Not Doppler ● Smart rewarding scheme matches in-game economy for their game Earn To Die 2 ● Video reward system adapted to player’s in- game progress with exponential inflation for upgrades in the app ● Benefits ○ Engagement rate increased to 25% - 38% ○ Earn to Die 2’s ER went above subcategory average UR increased from 4.5 to 6 ● Engage Rate between 25% and 38% ● Market Benchmarks Oct Nov 10% 20% 30% 40%
  13. 13. Boost ARPDAU with New Ad Placements
  14. 14. Case Study Fiveamp ● Wanted to boost monetization and ad engagement without disrupting user experience ● Added additional placement of RV ● Enhanced ad appeal and visibility by offering users the choice between 1 reward, or watching an ad and receiving 3 ● Benefits ○ ARPDAU increased x2.5 ○ 165% increase in revenue ○ 94% boost to ER Earnings Before Additional Placement Earnings with the Additional Placement Revenue Jumps 165% ● Revenue Growth
  15. 15. Segmentation Not all users are equal, so don’t treat them like they are
  16. 16. 1 2 3 Paying vs. non-paying users Engaged with ads vs. non engaged users Custom in-app event i.e. Level 5 reached
  17. 17. Impressions * User quality for advertisers IPM Implementation - Placements, Flow Engagement Rate Usage Rate (Imp/engaged user) Visibility Attractiveness Timing Alignment with virtual economy eCPM Revenue =
  18. 18. Thank You

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