Business opportunities in a Web 2.0 World

578 views

Published on

Presentation as guest lecturer at California State University at Channel Islands, Business 499 taught by Dr. Jeffrey Stone.

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
578
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
10
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Business opportunities in a Web 2.0 World

  1. 1. Business Opportunities in a Web 2.0 World April 18, 2011 Jesse Luna JP Luna Media www.jpluna.com Presentation at www.jpluna.com/csuci
  2. 2. Social Web sites blogs Twitter ______ ______ ______
  3. 3. Why Adapt?
  4. 4. Social Media Revolution (Socialnomics) <ul><li>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFZ0z5Fm-Ng </li></ul>
  5. 5. This is *not* Social Media
  6. 6. Web 2.0 is People!
  7. 7. United Linen (B2B) <ul><li>http://unitedlinen.typepad.com/ </li></ul>
  8. 8. Network Solutions (PR) <ul><li>http://www.networksolutions.com/blog </li></ul>
  9. 9. Intuit – Turbo Tax (ROI) <ul><li>http://blog.turbotax.intuit.com/ </li></ul>
  10. 10. Newhall Coffee Company (local) <ul><li>http://newhallcoffee.com/blog </li></ul><ul><li>@NewhallCoffee </li></ul>
  11. 11. Tim Ferriss (Lifehacker) <ul><li>http://www.fourhourworkweek.com/blog/ </li></ul>
  12. 12. WineLibraryTV (Gary Vaynerchuk) <ul><li>http://tv.winelibrary.com/ </li></ul>
  13. 13. Happiness Project <ul><li>http://www.happiness-project.com/ </li></ul>
  14. 14. Invisible People TV (Mark Horvath) <ul><li>http://invisiblepeople.tv/blog/ </li></ul>
  15. 15. Epic Change (Stacey Monk) <ul><li>http://epicchangeblog.org/ </li></ul>
  16. 16. 12for12K (Danny Brown) <ul><li>http://12for12k.org/about/ </li></ul>
  17. 17. Latinos In Social Media #LATISM (Org) <ul><li>http://blog.latism.org/ </li></ul>
  18. 18. CouchSurfing Ori <ul><li>http://www.couchsurfingori.com </li></ul>
  19. 19. Pitch Engine (Jason Kintzler) <ul><li>http://blog.pitchengine.com/ </li></ul>
  20. 20. Getting Things Done (David Allen) <ul><li>http://www.gtdtimes.com </li></ul>
  21. 21. Etsy.com (Rob Kalin ) <ul><li>http://www.etsy.com/storque/?ref=so_blog </li></ul>
  22. 22. Kickstarter <ul><li>http://blog.kickstarter.com/ </li></ul>
  23. 23. Kogi BBQ <ul><li>http://kogibbq.com </li></ul><ul><li>@kogibbq </li></ul>
  24. 24. Takeaways <ul><li>Find your niche </li></ul><ul><li>Fix a problem </li></ul><ul><li>Have a cause and intention </li></ul><ul><li>Don’t give up! </li></ul><ul><li>Remember, Web 2.0 is People </li></ul>
  25. 25. Social Media Resources for Grads <ul><li>MarketingProfs.com </li></ul><ul><li>Lynda.com </li></ul><ul><li>Problogger.net </li></ul><ul><li>Chats on Twitter – (Google Spreadsheet) http://bit.ly/chatlist </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Especially #jobhuntchat and by industry </li></ul></ul>
  26. 26. FOUR LinkedIn Job Search Tips
  27. 27. LinkedIn Job Search Tip #1 <ul><li>Set up profile & create a strong Summary </li></ul><ul><ul><li>A mini job description </li></ul></ul>
  28. 28. LinkedIn Job Search Tip #2 <ul><li>Ask for recommendations from people you know well </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Mini testimonials </li></ul></ul>
  29. 29. LinkedIn Job Search Tip #3 <ul><li>Use the LinkedIn Job Search feature </li></ul><ul><ul><li>See ALL jobs in region </li></ul></ul>
  30. 30. LinkedIn Job Search Tip #4 <ul><li>Follow key companies </li></ul>23 job opportunities
  31. 31. Questions?
  32. 32. Thank you!
  33. 33. Backup Slides <ul><li>These slides are here, just in case… </li></ul>
  34. 34. Path Of Social Media <ul><li>Web 1.0 </li></ul><ul><li>Web 2.0 </li></ul>1997 2011
  35. 35. Adapting

×