If you like hunger games non specific

448 views

Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

If you like hunger games non specific

  1. 1. If you likedThe Hunger Games… Created by: Jennifer Gibson-Millis 3-14-2012
  2. 2. The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer• Matteo Alacrán is a clone of El Patrón, lord of a country called Opium—a strip of poppy fields lying between the United States and the land that was once called Mexico. As Matt struggles to understand his existence, he is threatened by a sinister cast of characters who seem to want him dead. Escape is the only chance Matt has to survive.• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hYIfVFWt7ko• Lexile: 660L• AR Level: 5.1• AR Points: 15
  3. 3. The Maze Runner (Trilogy) by James Dashner• When Thomas wakes up with no memory of his past life, he finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade – a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls. Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every 30 days a new boy is delivered. Then one day, the first girl arrives. And she brings with her a shocking message.• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2-zYcD-dDs• Lexile: 770L• AR Level: 5.3• AR Points: 15
  4. 4. The City of Ember (Trilogy) by Jeanne Du Prau• The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. Now she and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever.• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FOC8PdK9gSA• Lexile: 680L• AR Level: 5.0 (Available)• AR Points: 9
  5. 5. Among the Hidden (Shadow Children Series) by Margaret Peterson Haddix• Luke is one of the shadow children, a third child forbidden by the Population Police. He’s lived his entire life in hiding. Then, one day Luke meets another shadow child like himself. Jen is willing to risk everything to come out of the shadows – does Luke dare to become involved in her dangerous plan?• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFhgV3mWOqI• Lexile: 800L• AR Level: 4.8 (Available)• AR Points: 5
  6. 6. The Giver (Trilogy) by Lois Lowry• Jonas’s world is perfect. There is no war or fear of pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the community. When Jonas turns 12 he is singled out to receive training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.• Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEDahlr8izs&feature=related• Lexile: 760L• AR Level: 5.7 (Available)• AR Points: 7
  7. 7. Gone (Series of 4 books) by Michael Grant• In the blink of an eye, every adult in the world disappears. Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. And the teens themselves are developing new powers that grow stronger by the day. It’s a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen and war is imminent.• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uf8B3FM1L8c• Lexile: 620L• AR Level: 4.3• AR Points: 18
  8. 8. Epic by Conor Kostick• On New Earth, society is governed by a computer game, Epic. If you win, you have the chance to fulfill your dreams; if you lose, your life is forfeit. When Erik defies the rules of Epic, he and his friends must face the Committee. If they win, they have the key to destroying the Committee. But if they lose…• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WedVJlw4VLQ• Lexile: 880L• AR Level: 6.3• AR Points: 14
  9. 9. Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer• After an asteroid knocks the moon closer to earth, worldwide tsunamis wipe out the coasts, earthquakes rock the continents, and volcanic ash blocks out the sun. In her journal, Miranda records the events of each desperate day, while she and her family struggle to hold on to their most priceless resource—hope.• Lexile: 770L• AR Level: 4.7• AR Points: 14
  10. 10. Unwind by Neal Shusterman• In a society where unwanted teens are salvaged for their body parts, three runaways fight to survive. If they make it to their 18th birthday, they can’t be harmed—but when every piece of them is wanted by a world gone mad, eighteen seems far, far away.• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZIjWjnB9nU• Lexile: 740L• AR Level: 5.0• AR Points: 14
  11. 11. Uglies (Uglies Trilogy) by Scott Westerfeld• In Tally’s world, your 16th birthday brings an operation that turns you into a pretty and catapults you into a paradise where your only job is to have a great time. But Tally’s friend Shay isn’t sure she wants to be pretty. When Shay runs away, Tally learns there’s a darker side to the pretty world. Then the authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all.• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KmMtOoILfjI• Lexile: 770L• AR Level: 5.0• AR Points: 13
  12. 12. Spacer and Rat by Margaret Bechard• Those Earthies. First they ruin their own planet, and now they’re going to ruin the rest of the solar system! No wonder Jack and the other Spacers on Freedom Station call them “rats.” Then Jack meets Kit, a rat, and her sentient Bot, Waldo, and against his better judgment finds himself drawn into their orbit and fleeing for his life.• Lexile: 500L• AR Level: 3.6• AR Points: 6
  13. 13. The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson• Who is Jenna Fox? She has just awoken from a coma, they tell her, and she is still recovering from a terrible accident in which she was involved a year ago. But what happened before that? Jenna doesn’t remember her life. Or does she? And are the memories really hers?• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mnk1zPw_PHc• Lexile: 570L• AR Level: 3.8• AR Points: 9
  14. 14. Graceling by Kristin Cashore• In a world where some people are born with extreme and often-feared skills called Graces, Katsa struggles for redemption from her own horrifying Grace, the Grace of killing, and teams up with another young fighter to save their land from a corrupt king.• Lexile: 730L• AR Level: 5.3• AR Points: 19
  15. 15. Divergent by Veronica Roth• In a futuristic Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group.• Book Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tu5Erw-posg• Lexile: 700L• AR Level: 4.8• AR points: 16
  16. 16. Resources• Book List and Descriptions http://normalteens.wordpress.com/books/readalikes/the-hunger-games-readalikes• Lexile Levels and Book Images http://www.lexile.com/fab/• AR Levels http://www.arbookfind.com/default.aspx• Judson Middle School Catalog http://167.135.122.51/library/search.aspx• Salem Public Library Catalog http://catalog.ccrls.org/

×