World Religions Map And Symbols 07


Published on

Published in: Spiritual
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

World Religions Map And Symbols 07

  1. 1. ISRAEL- Judaism & Christianity SAUDI ARABIA - Islam IRAN - Zoroastrianism INDIA – Hinduism & Buddhism CHINA – Confucianism, Taoism JAPAN - Shintoism MONOTHEISTIC RELIGIONS – Believe in One God Time is linear POLYTHEISTIC RELIGIONS – Belief in many gods/goddesses Time is cyclical (reincarnation) EUROPE ASIA AFRICA OCEANA
  2. 3. Christianity: 2.1 billion Islam: 1.3 billion Secular/Non-religious/Agnostic/Athiest: 1.1 billion Hinduism: 900 million Buddhism: 376 million Primal-indigenous: 300 million Sikhism 23 million Judaism: 14 million Jainism: 4.2 million Shinto: 4 million Zoroastrianism 2.6 million Scientology: 500 thousand
  3. 4. Christianity <ul><li>Ichthus </li></ul>Chi-Rho Uses the first two letters of the word “Christ” in Greek - 
  4. 5. DREIDEL- Judaism <ul><li>Used during Chanukah </li></ul><ul><li>Reminder of persecution of the Jewish faith by the Syrians 160 B.C.E. </li></ul>
  5. 6. Temple Menorah <ul><li>Seven branched candelabrum, lit by olive oil in the Tabernacle and the ancient Temple of Jerusalem. </li></ul><ul><li>One of the oldest symbols of the Jewish people. Symbolizes the burning bush seen by Moses on Mount Sinai (Ex. 25). </li></ul>
  6. 7. Chanukah Menorah <ul><li>Nine-branched </li></ul><ul><li>candelabrum lit during </li></ul><ul><li>the eight-day holiday of </li></ul><ul><li>Chanukkah. </li></ul><ul><li>The ninth branch is for a candle used to light all other candles. </li></ul>
  7. 8. Star/Shield of David <ul><li>Magen David </li></ul><ul><li>Named after King David of ancient Israel, its usage began in the Middle Ages. </li></ul><ul><li>With the establishment of the State of Israel in 1948, the Star of David on the Flag of Israel has also become a symbol of Israel. </li></ul>
  8. 9. AUM or OM <ul><li>Ancient Hindu symbol </li></ul><ul><li>Represents the Hindu Trinity of Gods: </li></ul><ul><li>Brahma the Creator </li></ul><ul><li>Vishnu the Saviour </li></ul><ul><li>Shiva the Destroyer </li></ul>
  9. 10. AUM <ul><li>A mystical or sacred syllable in the Dharmic religions. </li></ul><ul><li>It is placed at the beginning of most Hindu texts as a sacred exclamation to be uttered at the beginning and end of a reading of the Vedas or previously to any prayer or mantra. </li></ul><ul><li>A word of solemn affirmation and respectful assent, sometimes translated by &quot;yes, verily, so be it“. </li></ul>
  10. 11. Swastika <ul><li>A sacred symbol in Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism. </li></ul><ul><li>Hindus often decorate the Swastika with a dot in each quadrant. </li></ul>
  11. 12. <ul><li>The two symbols represent the two forms of the creator god Brahma - facing right it represents the evolution of the universe; facing left it represents the involution of the universe. </li></ul><ul><li>It is also seen as pointing in all four directions (North, East, South and West) and thus signifies stability and groundedness. </li></ul>
  12. 13. STAR AND CRESECENT <ul><li>Muslim symbol adopted after the conquest of Constantinople in 1453 </li></ul><ul><li>May represent Muhammad's monthly meditations </li></ul>
  13. 14. Shahadah <ul><li>و [ أشهد أن ] محمد رسول </li></ul><ul><ul><ul><ul><li>أشهد أن ] لا إله إلاَّ الله ] </li></ul></ul></ul></ul><ul><li>['ašhadu 'an] lā ilāha illā-llāh, wa ['ašhadu 'anna] muħammadan rasūlu-llāh </li></ul><ul><li>[ I testify that ] there is no god (ilah) but God (Allah) and </li></ul><ul><li>[ I testify that ] Muhammad is the messenger of God . </li></ul>
  14. 15. DHARMA WHEEL <ul><li>Buddhist symbol of reincarnation </li></ul><ul><li>Represents the eight-fold path Buddhist follow to achieve Nirvana </li></ul><ul><li>Said to have sharp edges to cut through ignorance. </li></ul><ul><li>The hub stands for discipline, the essential core of meditation practice </li></ul>
  15. 16. KHANDA - Sikh <ul><li>Represents the Sikh brotherhood known as the Khalsa </li></ul><ul><li>A collection of four weapons commonly used by Sikhs at the time of Guru Gobind Singh. </li></ul>
  16. 17. The weapons have symbolic meanings. <ul><li>Double-edged sword - Khanda the middle symbolises knowledge of God. </li></ul><ul><li>Chakkar - circular weapon symbolizes the oneness of God. </li></ul><ul><li>Daggers, or kirpan represent the dual nature/duties of the Gurus Miri and Piri ( political & spiritual sovereignty ). </li></ul>
  17. 18. YIN-YANG <ul><li>Symbol of Taoism </li></ul><ul><li>Represents the balance and harmony of two primal opposing but complementary forces found in all things in the universe. </li></ul><ul><li>e.g. male-female, earth-sky, wet-dry, etc. </li></ul>