Teenage premier league a presentation2 (1)


Published on


  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Teenage premier league a presentation2 (1)

  1. 1. History Of TPL• Founded in 2009 by 3 cricket crazy teenagers.• Inaugural Edition : September 2009 at Don Bosco School, Egmore with the participation of 16 teams.• Second Edition: May 2010 at A M Jain College, Meenambakkam with an “100%” increase in participating teams to 32.
  2. 2. Mission•To provide fledgling cricketers an opportunity to showcase their latenttalent, in the opportunity starved world of cricket.•TPL aims to give today’s youngsters a chance to participate in acompetitive tournament and also learn the values of working as a part of ateam.•It aims at getting involved teenager in some form of useful physicalactivity in this generation of computer games, PS2’s, Nintendos etc.•Simulating a tournament on lines with the IPL for the Teenage Cricketfanatics of Chennai•At the end of the day TPL is a healthy mix of Cricket, Fun, Entertainment &Physical Exercise.
  3. 3. Why would a teenager join TPL ?•All teenage cricket lovers are welcome•To be played with a HARD RED TENNIS BALL (VICKY MAKE), thus minimizing the risk ofinjuries.•The participants can form their own teams. Teams need not be school based. They can be •Colony team • A Club Team • A school team, or • Even a family team.•Matches to be held during the summer holidays between 16th May 2011 & 28th May 2011.•All participants should be between 13-19 years.•A 15/15 over format which would see some hard hitting and lots of fun and excitement*
  4. 4. Teenage Premier League 2009 – A Glimpse• Held during September 2009• Tournament was wrapped up in 6 days.• 16 teams participated in the knockout event• Venue was Don Bosco School, Egmore.• Finals of TPL 2009 went down to a super over and St. Johns Beat Chinmaya Superkings XI to win the tournament.• Formed India A player, Mr. Sharath presided over the finals and was the guest of honor.
  5. 5. Teenage Premier League 2010 – A Glimpse• Held during May 2010.• Tournament was wrapped up in 10 days.• Participating teams grew by 100% from the previous edition to 32.• Venue was A M Jain College, Meenambakkam• The team from St. Johns successfully defended the TPL title to be crowned Champions for the second year in a row.• Ace Tamil Nadu & Chennai Superkings player S. Vidyut was the chief guest and distributed the prizes to the winners.
  6. 6. TPL 2009 v/s TPL 2010• All players were given export quality caps bearing the name of TPL and the title sponsor, Eco Kitchen.• A professionally run food stall was setup to provide refreshments to the players.• A total of Rs. 10000/- was distributed as prize money to the winners, runners up & outstanding performers.• Man of the match medals were given for every match played and also participation certificates were given to every player.• In addition to prize money, individual trophies were given for Man of the Series, Best Knock , Best Spell & Electrifying fielder of TPL - 2010
  7. 7. TPL 2009 & 2010 - Sponsors G K Shetty Builders Sri Ramachandra Medical College & Research Institute. Excel Organics Pvt. Ltd.
  8. 8. TPL 2009 & 2010 – Media Coverage• TPL enjoyed media coverage from » The New Indian Express » Times of India » Deccan Chornicle » NDTV-Hindu
  9. 9. TPL – 2011 – The format• Expecting the participation of 32 teams.• Organizing a round robin format for 32 teams rather than the traditional Knockout format.• Teams to be divided into 8 pools, playing all the teams in the group at least once.• Toppers of the groups move on to play the Quarter Finals, Semi-Finals & Finals.• To wrap up the whole tournament within a period of 13 days.
  10. 10. TPL – 2011 – Highlights• Hiring of TNCA qualified umpires & scorers for umpiring.• Use of Hard Red Tennis ball.• Full fledged Circle cricket ground.• Refreshments to be provided by Organizers.• Registration charges per participant, Rs. 200/-• Plans of hosting the Quarter Final, Semi Final & Final under lights, if financially viable.
  11. 11. TPL – 2011 – Awards• Man of the Match• Man of the Series• Butchers Bat (Batsman of the Series)• Golden Arm (Bowler of the Series)• Electrifying fielder (Fielder of the Series)• Just in time Knock (Most Vital Knock of the Series)• Best Spell of the Series
  12. 12. TPL 2011 – Venue• The following venues are in discussion and would be finalized soon: » Aamir Mahal Cricket Ground (Royapettah) » Marina Beach Cricket Ground (Triplicane) » Don Bosco Egmore Cricket Ground (Egmore) » Vetinary College Cricket Ground (Vepery) » Doveton Corrie Cricket Ground (Vepery) » New College (Royapettah)