Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Dragons scale (1)


Published on

Presentation by Alan J Currie on the pentatonic scale suitable for key stage 2

  • Be the first to comment

Dragons scale (1)

  1. 1. Exploring Pentatonic Scales All Music © Alan J Currie
  2. 2. We are going to explore pentatonic music. “Penta” means five, as in pentagon. Pentatonic music is made up of five different notes.
  3. 3. Here is a pentatonic scale. It can begin on any note. Here we have F sharp (#), so the scale is called F# major pentatonic. Listen Again
  4. 4. These five note scales are the basis of many forms of music. They use the 1 st , 2 nd , 3 rd , 5 th and 6 th notes of the scale, for example: Listen Again
  5. 5. We are going to learn three simple pentatonic scales, these are C,F and G. C major pentatonic = C, D, E, G, A. Listen Again
  6. 6. F major pentatonic = F, G, A, C, D. Listen Again
  7. 7. G major pentatonic = G, A, B, D, E. Listen Again
  8. 8. Time to get composing. Use the C major pentatonic scale. Don’t be afraid to experiment and experiment with short melodies. Listen carefully to what you create. Record your music!