Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Education in the past and nowadays


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Education in the past and nowadays

  1. 1. This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. This publication reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.
  2. 2. T he first modern university in Romania was built in Iasi in 1860. The first University was founded in 1860 by the ruler Alexandru Ioan Cuza. Now, with five public universities and many other private ones, Iasi is one of the most important university center s in the country. Al. I. Cuza is the oldest university in Iasi, successor of the embryo of the University of Iasi, The Royal Academy
  3. 3. The building of the old university is now the University of Medicine and Pharmacy „ Gr. T. Popa”
  4. 4. Alexandru Ioan Cuza University Al. I. Cuza University at the beginning of XX century … and today
  5. 5. The mission of the Al. I. Cuza University <ul><li>“ ...the mission of any university is not just to disseminate knowledge, but to create value s , inoculating vocations and maintaining the sacred fire that is presented to the future generations“. </li></ul><ul><li>Stefan Procopiu  </li></ul>
  6. 6. Faculties of the university <ul><li>Starting from three faculties: Law, Philosophy and Theology, The University developed, reaching a total of 15 faculties. </li></ul><ul><li>Today, the University Alexandru Ioan Cuza of Iasi boasts with 15 faculties, each of them having a number of colleges. The faculties are as follows: </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Biology </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Chemistry </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Law </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Economics and Business Administration </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Sports </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Philosophy and Social and Political Sciences </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Physics </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Geography and Geology </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Computer Sciences </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of History </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Language and Literature </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Mathematics </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Psychology </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Orthodox Theology </li></ul><ul><li>· Faculty of Roman Catholic Theology </li></ul>
  7. 7. <ul><li>In the academic year 2008-2009, 38140 students were enrolled in three cycles: </li></ul><ul><li>Bachelor studies (full time and distance learning): 27601 </li></ul><ul><li>Master studies (full time and distance learning): 8802 </li></ul><ul><li>Doctoral studies (full time and distance learning): 1737. </li></ul>
  8. 8. The faculties’ leaders <ul><li>The faculty activity is led by the Faculty Council, consisting of the representatives of chairs, departments and students. The Faculty Council members are elected by secret ballot for a period of four years by the chairs (departments) and university departments, according to the Regulation of formation and functioning of the Faculty. The exception is represented by the students, whose representatives are nominated by their peers from the workshops getting a representative right in the Faculty Council. They are validated by the Faculty Council which consists of the representatives of Chairs of Departments of the faculty. </li></ul><ul><li>The Dean is the President of the Faculty Council. The current activities are coordinated by the Office of the Faculty Council. The Heads of the Chairs and the Departments are legally part of the Faculty Council. The Dean, the Vice Deans, the Chancellor and the Heads of the departments and chairs are elected in accordance with the Rules of establishing and functioning of the Faculty Council.  </li></ul>
  9. 9. Auditorium theatre In the auditorium theatre, in the dome centre, on the circle around the tower, portraits of teachers that distinguished themselves by their teaching or scientific activity were painted.
  10. 10. The University’s Architecture <ul><li>The new building of the University has 130 m a facade, and contains three large lecture rooms and nine small lecture rooms, nine laboratory halls each of them having its own library and common room. In the centre of the building a 500-seat auditorium theatre was built and upstairs a great hall for the library. </li></ul><ul><li>  The building, as architectural style, is a synthesis between classical and discrete baroque elements, presenting to the street a central jutty with a monumental entrance. Through this, they come in a vast hall of the “Lost Steps”, decorated with fresco paintings made by Sabin Balasa, including a painting depicting Al. I. Cuza. . </li></ul>
  11. 11. Planetarium
  12. 12. <ul><li>The present building of the University was built between 1893-1897 and the architect Louis Le Blanc made its plans. Inside you can find the Monumental Hall and the “Hall of the Lost Steps”, adorned with frescoes painted by the contemporary artist Sabin Balasa. </li></ul>
  13. 15. <ul><li>Sabin Bălaşa’s pictures from the “Hall of the Lost Steps” – University of Iaşi </li></ul>
  14. 16. Other Universities from Iasi <ul><li>Technical University “Gh. Asachi”; </li></ul><ul><li>University of Medicine and Pharmacy; </li></ul><ul><li>University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine “Ion Ionescu de la Brad”; </li></ul><ul><li>University of Arts “George Enescu”; </li></ul><ul><li>Privat universities: </li></ul><ul><li>“ Mihail Kogalniceanu” University; </li></ul><ul><li>“ Petre Andrei” Univesity; </li></ul><ul><li>“ Stefan Lupascu” University etc. </li></ul>