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Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

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Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

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App monetization shouldn’t come at the expense of user experience. In fact, when done right, it can actually enhance both user engagement and enjoyment. In this presentation, originally presented by Tal Shoham at Casual Connect Kyiv, learn actionable ways to improve ad engagement and usage rates, and how to better understand The Golden Ratio of ads within your app. Understand how the virtuous cycle of monetization can turn your app into a successful, sustainable business (with happy users).

App monetization shouldn’t come at the expense of user experience. In fact, when done right, it can actually enhance both user engagement and enjoyment. In this presentation, originally presented by Tal Shoham at Casual Connect Kyiv, learn actionable ways to improve ad engagement and usage rates, and how to better understand The Golden Ratio of ads within your app. Understand how the virtuous cycle of monetization can turn your app into a successful, sustainable business (with happy users).

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Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

  1. 1. Closing the loop Enhancing user experience with Rewarded ad-monetization Casual Connect Kiev, October 2017 Tal Shoham VP International Business Development, ironSource
  2. 2. Changing the focus Ad Monetization Revenue Attention for IAPs Attention Ad Monetization IAP Revenue Revenue Attention
  3. 3. How we analyze IAP metrics ● % of paying users ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU ● Type of reward - virtual goods ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
  4. 4. How we analyze IAP metrics ● % of paying users ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU ● Type of reward - virtual goods ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales Rewarded Ad Monetization Metrics ● ER / UR ● Retention rate ● Churn rate ● Average session duration ● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPDEU ● Type of reward ● Timing ● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
  5. 5. Engagement Rate and Usage Rate Engagement Rate Usage Rate 6 Videos 100% Users 40% Users 1,000,000 DAU * 40% ER = 400,000 daily engaged users 400,000 * 6 (UR) = 2,400,000 daily video impressions
  6. 6. App A App B
  7. 7. 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 53% 7 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% App A 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 12% 3 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% App B 7.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 3.0 2.0 1.0 6 Engagement Rate Usage Rate 50% 40% 30% 20% 10% Casino subcategory average 31% 6X
  8. 8. How to improve ER and UR? Placement ● Test alternative placements - from storefront to natural breaks in the app ● Maximise the ad’s visibility, discoverability with minimal number of clicks for user Reward ● How important is the currency to playing the game? ● Different currencies for each ad unit User Flow ● Is the ad product integrated at the optimal trigger points? ● Ad units should be available exactly when users need rewards Traffic Driver ● Where are your traffic drivers located? ● Are the traffic drivers clear and self explanatory? ● Give them a consistent look & feel
  9. 9. The Power of Exponential Rewards
  10. 10. Case Study Not Doppler ● Smart rewarding scheme matches in-game economy for their game Earn To Die 2 ● Video reward system adapted to player’s in-game progress with exponential inflation for upgrades in the app ● Benefits ○ Engagement rate increased to 25% - 38% ○ Earn to Die 2’s ER went above subcategory average UR increased from 4.5 to 6 ● Engage Rate between 25% and 38% ● Market Benchmarks Oct Nov 10% 20% 30% 40%
  11. 11. Boost ARPDAU with New Ad Placements
  12. 12. Case Study Fiveamp ● Wanted to boost monetization and ad engagement without disrupting user experience ● Added additional placement of RV ● Enhanced ad appeal and visibility by offering users the choice between 1 reward, or watching an ad and receiving 3 ● Benefits ○ ARPDAU increased x2.5 ○ 165% increase in revenue ○ 94% boost to ER Earnings Before Additional Placement Earnings with the Additional Placement Revenue Jumps 165% ● Revenue Growth
  13. 13. Segmentation Not all users are equal, so don’t treat them like they are
  14. 14. 1 2 3 Paying vs. non-paying users Engaged with ads vs. non engaged users Custom in-app event i.e. Level 5 reached
  15. 15. Impressions * User quality for advertisers IPM Implementation - Placements, Flow Engagement Rate Usage Rate (Imp/engaged user) Visibility Attractiveness Timing Alignment with virtual economy eCPM Revenue =
  16. 16. Thank You

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