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Showing ROI: How to Create a Content Marketing Report

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Measuring the performance of your content marketing strategy is a challenge that baffles many marketers. Find out how you can set yourself by success by creating a content marketing report. (Presentation from WordCamp London 2017)

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Showing ROI: How to Create a Content Marketing Report

  1. 1. Showing ROI: How to Create a Content Marketing Report WordCamp London 2017 Ilia Markov www.markovunchained.com @nochainmarkov
  2. 2. Download these slides: 
 http://nocha.in/wcldn17
  3. 3. Why does content ROI matter?
  4. 4. Every uncool content marketer ever Oh, I’m mostly a blogger…
  5. 5. What gets measured, gets managed Peter Drucker (maybe)
  6. 6. Playbill • Act 1: Content is part of your business strategy • Act 2: How to set up a report • Act 3: How to calculate ROI
  7. 7. • Content marketer with strong focus on SaaS companies • Curator of Content Marketing Weekly newsletter • Saints fan, have traveled to Hull, Swansea, and Southampton A bit about myself…
  8. 8. Act 1: Content is part of your business strategy
  9. 9. Business Objectives Marketing Objectives Marketing Strategy Content Objectives Content Strategy Content Tactics What’s the bigger picture?
  10. 10. What are your goals with content? • NOT “Traffic” → It could be a KPI (next slide) • Do you have someone doing Sales? → It could be leads • Are you selling a digital product (SaaS)? → Trials started
  11. 11. Tie your KPI framework with the goals • KPI = Key Performance Indicator • What metric shows progress on your goals? • Some popular options include: • Traffic • Shares & Comments • Leads generated • Conversions
  12. 12. Act 2: Set up your content report
  13. 13. What tools to use • Google Analytics → straightforward (sort of) • Woopra → detailed analytics, free plan • Google Search Console → for measuring SEO • Google Sheets + Analytics Add-on → for the actual report
  14. 14. Create a funnel Traffic Leads Prospects Customers Sessions, Unique visitors, 
 New vs. Returning Emails collected (Goal conversions) Pricing page visited, Trials started Sales (Goal conversions)
  15. 15. Woopra works great for funnels
  16. 16. Your report could be a custom dashboard
  17. 17. Or built from scratch by pulling data
  18. 18. Some things you should consider • Attribution → consider using UTM links • Set up goals in Google Analytics / Woopra • How to measure to avoid data issues (spikes, etc.)
  19. 19. UTM links allow you to get very detailed
  20. 20. Setting up goals in Google Analytics
  21. 21. Think about how you look at data
  22. 22. Act 3: How to Calculate ROI
  23. 23. You need to know two numbers • CAC: Cost of Acquiring a Customer
 • LTV: Average Customer Lifetime Value
  24. 24. How to find out your CAC • In February you generated 4 clients and spent £1200 on content: • Writing: £800 (4 posts x £200 each) • Editing: £300 (10 hours x £30) • Tools (hosting, keyword research, email provider, lead gen): £100 • => Your CAC of content is £1200 / 4 = £300 • But this is quite simplified…
  25. 25. Calculating LTV is similar • In reality, it’s the average deal size, but with caveats… • If you’re selling a subscription-based product (e.g. SaaS, productized consulting, etc.), => average [monthly/annual] rate x average time someone’s a customer • If you’re freelancing (e.g. building websites for clients) => figure out your average deal size
  26. 26. Putting CAC and LTV together LTV < CAC Obviously not good…
  27. 27. Putting CAC and LTV together LTV > CAC Slightly better, but…
  28. 28. Putting CAC and LTV together £301 > £300 …is it enough?
  29. 29. A good measure of comparison LTV ≥ 3x CAC
  30. 30. For more on the topic: • Content Marketing ROI: How We Measure Success at Hubstaff
  31. 31. nocha.in/content-marketing-weekly Before I finish…
  32. 32. Thank you! @nochainmarkov
 hello@markovunchained.com
 http://nocha.in/wcldn17 It’s time for your questions…
  • VijayKumar1371

    Nov. 10, 2017

Measuring the performance of your content marketing strategy is a challenge that baffles many marketers. Find out how you can set yourself by success by creating a content marketing report. (Presentation from WordCamp London 2017)

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