Futures studies resources

2,682 views

Published on

A collection of useful Futures Studies links.

Published in: News & Politics, Technology

Futures studies resources

  1. 1. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 1FUTURES STUDIESRESOURCESA useful collection of useful futures Internet links. Alireza Hejazi, MSF. Founding Editor of FuturesDiscovery.com
  2. 2. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 2Order of Links• Research & Aid Tools• Trends & Scanning• Books• Journals, Articles & Publications• Professional Websites, Newsletters & Listservs• Universities & Colleges• Futurists, Institutes & Think Tanks
  3. 3. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 3Research & Aid Tools - 1• Futures Research Methodology - Version 3.0 http://www.millennium-project.org/millennium/FRM-V3.html• Scenario Planning http://www.12manage.com/methods_scenario_planning.html• Thinking Futures Scanning Resources http://thinkingfutures.net/scanningresources• Acceleration Studies Foundation http://futuresphd.wetpaint.com• Futures Education Wiki http://merlotfutureseducation.wikispaces.com• Foresight Wiki http://www.forwiki.ro/• Online PhD http://onlinephd.org
  4. 4. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 4Research & Aid Tools - 2• Bloom’s Taxonomy http://www.odu.edu/educ/roverbau/Bloom/blooms_taxono my.htm• Drivers of Change http://www.driversofchange.com• Implications Wheel http://implicationswheel.com• Entering Strategic Foresight http://prezi.com/sn7mz4l9snj- /entering-strategic-foresigh t• Practical Foresight http://practicalforesight.wetpaint.com• Preparing Future Faculty http://www.preparing-faculty.org• Faculty Focus http://www.facultyfocus.com
  5. 5. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 5Research & Aid Tools - 3• Resources for Futures Research http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/~rdr/Ant547/ftrrcrcs.htm• Postdoctoral Useful Resources http://www.nationalpostdoc.org/publications• Bigger Brains http://www.biggerbrains.com
  6. 6. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 6Trend Analysis & Horizon Scanning - 1• The Herman Group http://www.herman.net• Trend Watching http://www.trendwatching.com• The Millennium Project http://www.millennium-project.org• Tech Cast http://www.techcast.org• Trend Search http://www.trendsresearch.com
  7. 7. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 7Trend Analysis & Horizon Scanning - 2• Innovation Watch http://innovationwatch.com• Trends Map http://www.trendsmap.com• The Trends Journal http://www.trendsresearch.com• Understanding Foresight and Horizon Scanning (FHS) http://community.iknowfutures.eu/pg/blog/popper/read/120 65/understanding-foresight-and-horizon-scanning-fhs
  8. 8. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 8Books - 1• WFS Book Picks http://www.wfs.org/book-picks• Global Foresight Books http://www.globalforesightbooks.org• Practical Foresight Guide http://www.shapingtomorrow.com/media-centre/pf-complete.pdf• The Image of the Future http://storyfieldteam.pbworks.com/f/the-image-of-the-future.pdf• Keys to the 21st Century http://www.berghahnbooks.com/prelims/BindeKeys_prelims.pdf• Advanced strategic thinking: Visionary management http://info.tse.fi/julkaisut/vk/Ae8_2004.pdf• Foundations of Futures Studies: Human Science for a New Era http://books.google.com/books?vid=978-0-7658-0566- 9&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false
  9. 9. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 9Books - 2• Future Savvy: Identifying Trends to Make Better Decisions, Manage• Uncertainty, and Profit from Change http://futuresavvy.net/#futuresavvybook• http://books.google.com/books/about/Future_savvy.html?id=2JqPnvo SJqYC• When Things Start To Think http://www.kurzweilai.net/ebooks/when- things-start-to-think• The Art of the Long View http://books.google.com/books?id=fILtwg777hsC• Great Transition http://www.gtinitiative.org/documents/Great_Transitions.pdf• The Knowledge Base of Futures Studies http://ebookee.org/- request_ebook-The-Knowledge-Base-of-Futures-Studies- Professional-Edition_158130.html• Limits to Growth http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Limits_to_Growth
  10. 10. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 10Book - 3• The State of the World http://www.worldwatch.org/node/7157• The State of the Future http://www.millennium- project.org/millennium/publications.html• The Art of Conjecture http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/36600/The-Art-of- Conjecture• The Age of Spiritual Machines http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Age_of_Spiritual_Machines• Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collapse:_How_Societies_Choose_ to_Fail_or_Succeed• SuperStruct http://archive.superstructgame.net/• Born Digital: Understanding the First Generation of Digita http://www.borndigitalbook.com/
  11. 11. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 11Book - 4• Innovation Killers http://www.innovationkiller.com/• Scenario Planning-the Link Between Future and Strategy http://www.brefigroup.co.uk/books/view_book/category_sname/ scenario_planning/asin/details_0333993179.doc• The Art of Conjecture http://www.questia.com/library/book/the- art-of-conjecture-by-bertrand-de-jouvenel-nikita- lary.jsp?CRID=the-art-of-conjecture-by-bertrand-de-jouvenel- nikita-lary&OFFID=se2qbp&KEY=art+of+conjecture• Thinking about The Future: Strategic Anticipation and RAHS http://www.rahs.org.sg/rahs+publication/RAHS_book.pdf• Strategic Foresight for Corporate and Regional Development http://en.laprospective.fr/download-translations/5-file.html
  12. 12. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 12Journals, Articles & Publications - 1• Journal of Futures Studies http://www.jfs.tku.edu.tw/sarticles.html• Foresight http://www.emeraldinsight.com/fs.htm• World Futures Review http://www.wfs.org/wfr/• Futures http://www.elsevier.com/wps/find/journaldescription.cws_h ome/30422/description• On The Horizon http://www.emeraldinsight.com/journals.htm?issn=1074- 8121• Futurist http://www.wfs.org• Foresight Magazine http://forecasters.org/foresight/
  13. 13. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 13Journals, Articles & Publications - 2• Managing the Future http://www.futuringassociates.com/thoughts/Managing_the_Future_6_ JANUARY_2011.pdf• Future-proofing Your Organization http://www.gbn.com/articles/pdfs/GBN_Futureproofing.CEO%20j.pdf• RT Delphi: An Efficient, “Round-less” Almost Real Time Delphi Method http://www.realtimedelphi.org/library/delphi_article.html• The Art and Strategy of Scenario Writing http://www.emeraldinsight.com/journals.htm?articleid=872864&show= html• Anticipatory Management: Tools for Better Decision Making http://horizon.unc.edu/courses/papers/AnticipatoryManagement.html• How Experienced Examiners Assess Research Theses http://www.uow.edu.au/content/groups/public/@web/@raid/document s/doc/uow016364.pdf• The Social Side of Strategy http://www.mckinseyquarterly.com/The_social_side_of_strategy_2965
  14. 14. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 14Journals, Articles & Publications - 3• Dilemmas in a General Theory of Planning http://www.uctc.net/mwebber/Rittel+Webber+Dilemmas+Gener al_Theory_of_Planning.pdf• Looking Back on the Limits of Growth http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/Looking-Back- on-the-Limits-of-Growth.html• Is it Too Late for Sustainable Development? http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/Is-it-Too-Late- for-Sustainable-Development.html• Higher Education in a Global, Knowledge Networked World http://www.emeraldinsight.com/journals.htm?issn=1074- 8121&volume=18&issue=4&articleid=1886431&show=pdf• Six Pillars: Futures Thinking for Transforming http://www.metafuture.org/Six%20pillars%20- %20futures%20thinking%20for%20transforming%20Foresight %20vol%2010%20issue%201%202008.pdf
  15. 15. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 15Journals, Articles & Publications - 3• Introducing hybrid thinking for transformation, innovation and strategy http://www.gartner.com/resources/172000/172065/introducing_hybrid _thinking_172065.pdf• Should probabilities be used with Scenarios? http://www.futuringassociates.com/text/Probabilities_with_Scenarios_ DEC_2008.pdf• Making the future visible: psychology, scenarios and strategy http://www.hardintibbs.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/future- landscape-tibbs-a4.pdf• Trend analysis as pattern recognition http://www.futuringassociates.com/text/Trend_Analysis_FINAL_REV_ 20_Sept_08.pdf• Combining Foresight Methods for Impact http://www.nistep.go.jp/IC/ic071119/pdf/3-3_Keenan.pdf• To Predict or to Build the Future? http://www.wfs.org/futurist/may- june-2012-vol-46-no-3/predict-or-build-future-reflections-field-and- differences-between
  16. 16. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 16Journals, Articles & Publications - 4• Futurists’ Forecasts http://www.wfs.org/Forecasts_From_The_Futurist_Magazine• A Look at the Future of Science: 2021• http://www.iftf.org/system/files/feature/IFTF_SR1454A_Futureof Science_rdr.pdf• Envisioning Emerging Technology http://envisioningtech.com/envisioningtech.pdf• List of Futurist Blogs http://www.vernewheelwright.com/id14.html• 21 Issues for 21st Century http://www.unep.org/publications/ebooks/foresightreport/Portals /24175/pdfs/Foresight_Report- 21_Issues_for_the_21st_Century.pdf• Future Global Shocks http://www.oecd.org/dataoecd/24/36/48256382.pdf
  17. 17. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 17Journals, Articles & Publications - 5• StoryTech: A personalized guide to the 21st century http://www.educationfutures.com/res/StoryTech.pdf• Global Risks 2012 http://reports.weforum.org/global-risks-2012• Envisioning the Future of Education Technology http://envisioningtech.com/envisioning-the-future-of- education.pdf• The Future of Science, Technology & Well-Being http://www.iftf.org/2020ForecastMap• The Re-working of "Work" http://www.iftf.org/reworkingwork• Why Companies Fail http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/print/2012/03/why- companies-fail• The Origins of Futurism http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/The-Origins- of-Futurism.html
  18. 18. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 18Journals, Articles & Publications - 6• Thinking about Futurism http://www.smithsonianmag.com/science- nature/Thinking-About-Futurism.html• Ecosystems of Well-being & Ecosystems of Well-being in 4 Futures http://www.iftf.org/wellbeingecosystems• The Future of the Internet http://www.elon.edu/docs/e- web/predictions/expertsurveys/2012survey/PIP_Future_of_Internet_2 012_Gen_Always_ON.pdf• Mind in a Designed World http://www.iftf.org/system/files/deliverable/SR- 1345%20Mind%20in%20a%20Designed%20World%20(1).pdf• Global Think Tank Index http://www.gotothinktank.com/wp- content/uploads/2012/01/2011_Global_Go_To_Think_Tanks_Report_- _January_20_Edition_WITH_LETTEr-1.pdf• Towards Planetary Consciousness? http://www.jfs.tku.edu.tw/16- 2/S05.pdf• Envisioning Emerging Technology http://envisioningtech.com/envisioningtech.pdf
  19. 19. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 19Professional Websites, Newsletters &Listservs - 1• Club of Rome http://www.clubofrome.org• Futuribles http://www.futuribles.com• Global Business Network http://www.gbn.org• World Future Society (WFS) http://www.wfs.org• WFS newsletter subscription futuristupdate@wfs.org• Shaping Tomorrow (ST) http://www.shapingtomorrow.com• Shaping Tomorrow Network http://shapingtomorrowmain.ning.com• Foresight Research & Education Network (FERN) http://www.fernweb.org• iKnow Community http://community.iknowfutures.eu
  20. 20. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 20Professional Websites, Newsletters &Listservs - 2• Institute for the Future (IFTF) http://www.iftf.org• Association of Professional Futurists (APF) http://www.profuturists.org/• APF listserv http://groups.google.com/group/apflist• APF listserv e-mail apflist@googlegroups.com• World Futures Studies Federation (WFSF) http://www.wfsf.org/• WFSF listserv e-mail WFSF-L@list1.ucc.nau.edu• The Futures Network http://www.thefuturesnetwork.com• Foresight Planning http://www.foresightplanning.eu• Global Foresight http://www.globalforesight.org• Inward Bound http://www.inwardboundvisioning.com/• The Foresight Epidemic http://theforesightepidemic.com/
  21. 21. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 21Universities & Colleges - 1• The Santa Fe Institute http://www.santafe.edu• University of Houston http://www.houstonforesight.org/• University of Houston Futures Studies http://www.tech.uh.edu/Programs/Futures_Studies• Regent University School of Global Leadership & Entrepreneurship http://www.regent.edu/global/msf• Hawaii Research Center for Futures Studies http://www.futures.hawaii.edu• Anne Arundel Community College http://www.aacc.edu/future• Angers University http://master-foresight- innovation.fr/programme/• PhD on Organizational Future Orientation http://www.au.dk/en/phd/graduate_schools/graduate-school-of- business-and-social-sciences/general-call/
  22. 22. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 22Universities & Colleges - 2• Anticipating the Future http://cals.arizona.edu/futures• Foresight / Futures Studies Programs http://www.accelerating.org/gradprograms.html• Swinburn University, Master of Strategic Foresight http://www.swinburne.edu.au/business/agse/courses/strategic- foresight.htm• SoFor: Social Foresight http://www.unitn.it/en/sofor• Tamkang University http://www2.tku.edu.tw/tddx• The Futures Academy http://www.thefuturesacademy.ie• University of Arizona http://ag.arizona.edu/futures• School of International Futures http://www.soif.org.uk/• Azerbaijan Foresight Course http://www.futurestudies.az/2011/index.php
  23. 23. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 23Futurists, Institutes & Think Tanks - 1• Rand http://www.rand.org• Metafuture http://www.metafuture.org• The Long Now Foundation http://www.longnow.org• Hinesight http://www.andyhinesight.com• Foresight International http://www.foresightinternational.com.au• Infinite Futures http://www.infinitefutures.com/• Institute for Alternative Futures http://www.altfutures.com• The Worlds Biggest Problems http://www.arlingtoninstitute.org/wbp/portal/home• Future Think http://www.futurethink.com• Fast Futures http://fastfuture.com• Leading Futurists http://leadingfuturists.biz
  24. 24. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 24Futurists, Institutes & Think Tanks - 2• Resilient Futures http://resilientfutures.com• Hardin Tibbs http://www.hardintibbs.com• Verne Wheelwright (Personal Futures) http://www.personalfutures.net• Shaping Our Future http://www.ffof.org• Finland Futures Research Centre http://utu.fi/ffrc• Finland Futures Academy http://www.tvanet.fi/en/• Smart Insights http://www.smartinsights.com• Education Futures http://www.educationfutures.com/• The Museum of the Future http://themuseumofthefuture.com/
  25. 25. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 25Futurists, Institutes & Think Tanks - 3• CogNexus Institute: A Portal to Wicked Problems http://www.cognexus.org/• Accelerating Change http://www.accelerating.org/• Center for Future Consciousness http://www.centerforfutureconsciousness.com• Christian Futures Network http://www.christianfutures.com• Kurzweil Artificial Intelligence http://www.kurzweilai.net• Police Futurists http://www.policefuturists.org• The World Network of Religious Futurists http://www.wnrf.org• Social Technologies http://www.socialtechnologies.com/
  26. 26. http://www.futuresdiscovery.com 26The End?• No! The Beginning

×