Satipatthana Sutta Workshop - S15.1 Summary & Conclusion Day 3


Published on

This set of slides is from the Satipatthana Workshop conducted by Venerable Aggacitta at Sasanarakkha Buddhist Sanctuary between July 26-29, 2012.

Permission is given to redistribute without any modifications, for non-commercial purposes only.

Published in: Spiritual, Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Satipatthana Sutta Workshop - S15.1 Summary & Conclusion Day 3

  1. 1. Satipaṭṭhāna SuttaStudy with Meditation Workshop Part 2.2Summary & Conclusion ●Samādhi & Satipaṭṭhāna ● 4 Noble Truths 5 ● Comparison of Satipaṭṭhāna Contents 1
  2. 2. Samādhi & Satipaṭṭhāna1) Kāyagatāsati Sutta (MN 119) states that all the 14 exercises in kāyānupassanā together with the 4 jhānas lead to samādhi2) This contrasts with the vipassanā refrain that follows each exercise in Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta3) Extracts from Janavasabha Sutta (DN 18) and Cūḷavedalla Sutta (MN 44) confirm that the 4 satipaṭṭhānas lead to samādhi4) Samādhi·bhāvanā Sutta (AN 4:41) shows that there are 4 types of samādhi 2
  3. 3. Samādhi & Satipaṭṭhāna5) Vitakka·saṇṭhāna Sutta (MN 20) shows that all the 5 methods of stilling distracting thoughts lead to samādhi6) In light of these instances, to translate samādhi as “concentration” or “one-pointed- ness of mind” may be misleading7) Thus, the preferred translation for samādhi is “composure” or “focused state of mind” 3
  4. 4. Samādhi & Satipaṭṭhāna8) The Visuddhimagga’s definition of worldly jhāna as “absorption in a conceptual object oblivious of the 5 senses” contradicts the descriptions of jhānas in the suttas, where the 5 senses, especially the body, have not been transcended9) The Visuddhimagga jhāna is based on a con- ceptual object, but the sutta jhāna is defined according to mental state, not object of focus 4
  5. 5. 4 Noble Truths1) Suffering (=1st NT) is to be fully known by developing the 4th NT = Noble Eightfold Path2) Fully knowing the 1st NT entails discovering its cause, craving (=2nd NT), and simultaneously abandoning it3) With the abandoning of craving, the cessation of suffering (3rd NT) is realised4) Developing N8P is often portrayed as a linear process in the suttas, but in reality it is more complex, involving multiple feedback loops 5
  6. 6. Comparison of Satipaṭṭhāna Contents 1) The variations in the 7 major texts are very obvious in kāyānupassanā & dhammānu- passanā 2) The rule of thumb is to regard the common elements as the more authentic 3) Comparison with the 7 major texts is only one of the criteria for Ajahn Sujāto to make his reconstruction of what the “original (Mūla)” Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta could have been like 6
  7. 7. For Final Discussion What are the significantinsights for understandingand practice resulting from this workshop? 7