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How to be an Efficient SEO

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How to be an Efficient SEO

  1. 1. SEO Summit 2015
  2. 2. I’m Sam Nam VP Marketing at Digital Room Inc. @samnamiam | samnamiam.com Hello!
  3. 3. Efficient SEO How to be an
  4. 4. Not Intelligent Industrious Industrious Lazy IntelligentNotIntelligent Intelligent Industrious Not Intelligent Lazy Intelligent Lazy
  5. 5. Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe. - Abraham Lincoln
  6. 6. A sharp axe means less work… makes sense.
  7. 7. A sharp axe means less work… makes sense. But How does this relate to SEO?
  8. 8. Not All Ranking Factors are Created Equal
  9. 9. Not All Ranking Factors are Created Equal Probably MORE important Probably LESS Important
  10. 10. Not All Keywords are Created Equal
  11. 11. Not All Keywords are Created Equal MORE Valuable LESS Valuable
  12. 12. High Value = Sharp Axe Low Value = Dull Axe
  13. 13. Bite-Sized Projects Break Opportunities Into
  14. 14. 1. Rough idea of how long it will take Bite-Sized Projects Break Opportunities Into
  15. 15. Bite-Sized Projects Break Opportunities Into 1. Rough idea of how long it will take 2. Generate results independent of other projects
  16. 16. Investment and Return How To Quantify
  17. 17. Investment and Return How To Quantify Investment = [man hours x rate] + Misc. Expenses
  18. 18. Investment and Return How To Quantify Investment = [man hours x rate] + Misc. Expenses Return = increase traffic x per visit value ($)
  19. 19. Low-Hanging Fruit Calculate ROI to Identify
  20. 20. Simple ROI Formula
  21. 21. Opportunity Type Description Days of Labor Daily Rate Labor Investment Misc. Investment Total Investment Est. 6x Month Return ROI Striking Distance Keyword Group brochure printing (avg postion 20) brochure printing services (avg position 21) print brochures online (avg position 24) print brochures (avg position 14) printing brochures (avg position 9.3) 5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118% Striking Distance Keyword Group cheap stickers (avg position 9.8) cheap sticker printing (avg position 13) 5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967% Site Wide Improvement Implement SSL security across domain 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885% Keyword Expansion Group canvas prints canvas printiin 30 $80 $2,400 $1,000 $3,400 $10,000 194% Stack Rank in Excel by ROI Ordered by ROI Greatest to Least
  22. 22. Days of Labor Daily Rate Labor Investment Misc. Investment Total Investment Est. 6x Month Return ROI 5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118% 5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967% 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885% Calculate ROI in Excel
  23. 23. Days of Labor Daily Rate Labor Investment Misc. Investment Total Investment Est. 6x Month Return ROI 5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118% 5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967% 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885% Calculate ROI in Excel x x x = = = = = = + + +
  24. 24. Consistent Growth Schedule Projects for
  25. 25. Little Projects With Short Term Impact Generate Tangible Results to Satisfy Clients and Business Stakeholders Week1 Week2 Week3 Week4 Week5 Week6 Week7 Week8 Week9 Week10 Week11 Week12 Week13 Week14 Week15 Week16 Week17 Week18 Week19 Week20 Little Project Little Project Big Project Big Project Little Project Little Project
  26. 26. METHODOLOGY OVERVIEW 1. Break Opportunities into Bite Sized Projects 2. Try to Quantify Investment and Return 3. Calculate ROI to Identify Low Hanging Fruit 4. Schedule Projects for Consistent Growth
  27. 27. Analytic Guesstimate
  28. 28. Analytic Guesstimate verb Combining data with basic assumptions to calculate an expected value otherwise unknown
  29. 29. EXAMPLE: ANALYTIC GUESSTIMATING FOR “CHEAP STICKERS” PAGE AND KEYWORDS
  30. 30. LOGIN TO SEARCH CONSOLE AND GO TO SEARH ANALYTICS
  31. 31. FILTER FOR QUERIES CONTAINING KEYWORD PHRASE FOR A PAGE
  32. 32. EXPORT CSV FILE OF SEARCH QUERY DATA TO EXCEL
  33. 33. ESTIMATE CTR CURVE USING LOGARITHMIC TREND LINE IN EXCEL
  34. 34. COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES
  35. 35. COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES
  36. 36. COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES
  37. 37. SPEND MORE TIME ON RANKING FACTORS WITH HIGH CORRELATION
  38. 38. EVALUATE AND QUANTIFY OPTIMIZATION EFFORTS
  39. 39. SUMMARIZE INVESTMENT & RETURN Investment: Labor is 11 x $80 = $880 Design and Promotion = $250 + $250 = $500
  40. 40. BEFORE OPTIMIZATION POSITION AND CTR 74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!
  41. 41. GUESSTIMATE +2 POS. FOR FIRST PAGE KW AND POS 10 FOR OTHERS 74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!
  42. 42. AFTER OPTIMIZATION POSITION AND CTR 74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!
  43. 43. ESTIMATE IMPROVEMENT IN TRAFFIC USING CTR CURVE 74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks! 161
  44. 44. CONVERT RETURN VALUE INTO DOLLARS 161 Clicks x 5% Conv. Rate = 8 Conversions 8 Conversions x $200 AOV = $1,600 Sales $1,600 Sales x 6 Months = $9,600
  45. 45. SUMMARIZE INVESTMENT & RETURN Investment: Labor is 11 x $80 = $880 Design and Promotion = $250 + $250 = $500 Return: $9,600 ROI: ($9,600 - $1,380) / $1,380 = 596%
  46. 46. THANK YOU

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