Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Newbery & Caldecott Award


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

Newbery & Caldecott Award

  1. 1. Newbery & Caldecott Award By: Tiffany Lewis
  2. 2. How the Newbery Medal Came To Be <ul><li>The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children’s book. </li></ul><ul><li>The purpose of the Newbery Medal was stated as follows: “To encourage original creative work in the field of books for children. To emphasize to the public that contributions to the literature for children deserve similar recognition to poetry, plays, or novels.” </li></ul>
  3. 3. When Did The Newbery Come To Be <ul><li>On June 22, 1921, Frederic G. Melcher proposed the award to the American Library Association meeting and suggested the award be named for the eighteenth-century English bookseller John Newbery. </li></ul><ul><li>The first Newbery Award was given in 1922 to the author of The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem van Loon. </li></ul><ul><li>The Newbery Award became the first children’s book award in the world. </li></ul>
  4. 4. How the Caldecott Medal Came To Be <ul><li>Many persons became concerned that the artists creating picture books for children were as deserving of honor as were the authors of children’s books. </li></ul><ul><li>This medal is to be given to the artist who had created the most distinguished picture book of the year. </li></ul><ul><li>It is named after Randolph J. Caldecott, a nineteenth-century English illustrator. His illustrations were unique to their time in their humor and movement. </li></ul>
  5. 5. When Did The Caldecott Come To Be <ul><li>In 1937 the Caldecott Medal was designed. The bronze medal has the winner’s name and the date engraved on the back. </li></ul><ul><li>The first Caldecott Award was given in 1938 to Animals of the Bible, A Picture Book , illustrated by Dorothy P. Lathrop. </li></ul>
  6. 6. Terms and Criteria for Newbery and Caldecott <ul><li>The Medal shall be awarded annually. </li></ul><ul><li>Published in English in the United States </li></ul><ul><li>The Award is restricted to citizens or residents of the United States. </li></ul><ul><li>Published in the preceding year---means that the book has a publication date in that year, was available for purchase in that year. </li></ul>
  7. 7. Non-Fiction or Fiction <ul><li>Award can go to any genre. </li></ul><ul><li>In 2001 a Non-Fiction book was rewarded the Caldecott Medal </li></ul><ul><li>Fiction does win most of the time. </li></ul><ul><li>A favorite fairytale won in 1998: Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky. </li></ul>
  8. 8. 2008 Newbery Winner <ul><li>The 2008 Newbery Medal winner is  Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village  by Laura Amy Schlitz, illustrated by Robert Byrd. </li></ul><ul><li>In “ Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village ,” thirteenth-century England springs to life using 21 dramatic individual narratives that introduce young inhabitants of village and manor. It is written with a poetic form and style offers humor. </li></ul>
  9. 9. 2008 Newbery Honor Books <ul><li>Elijah of Buxton   </li></ul><ul><li>by  Christopher Paul Curtis   </li></ul><ul><li>The Wednesday Wars   </li></ul><ul><li>by Gary D. Schmidt </li></ul><ul><li>Feathers   </li></ul><ul><li>by Jacqueline Woodson </li></ul>
  10. 10. 2008 Caldecott Winners <ul><li>The 2008 Caldecott Medal winner is  The Invention of Hugo Cabret  by Brian Selznick (Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic) </li></ul><ul><li>The setting, an awakening Paris in 1931, this tale casts a new light on the picture book form. Hugo is a young orphan secretly living in the walls of a train station where he labors to complete a mysterious invention left by his father. In a work of more than 500 pages, the suspenseful text and wordless double-page spreads narrate the tale in turns. Neither words nor pictures alone tell this story, Black & white pencil illustrations evoke the flickering images of the silent films to which the book pays homage. </li></ul>
  11. 11. 2008 Caldecott Honor Books <ul><li>Henry's Freedom Box: A True Story from the Underground Railroad  by illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Ellen Levine </li></ul><ul><li>First the Egg, written and illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger  </li></ul><ul><li>The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtain , written and illustrated by Peter Sís </li></ul><ul><li>Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity , written and illustrated Mo Willems </li></ul>
  12. 12. My Favorite Winners What Are Your Favorites?