Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.



  • Login to see the comments


  1. 1. THE COMMONWEALTH OF NATIONS Headquarters: Marlborough House , London , UK Official language: English Membership: 53 sovereign states Leaders  -  Head of the Commonwealth Queen Elizabeth II  -  Secretary- General Kamalesh Sharma Appointed 24 November 2007 and took office 1 April 2008 Establishment  -  Balfour Declaration 18 November 1926   -  Statute of Westminster 11 December 1931   -  London Declaration 28 April 1949 Area  - Total 31,462,574 km²   12,147,768  sq mi Population  - 2005 estimate1,921,974,000
  2. 2. Origins <ul><li>Most of the 53 nations were former colonies of the British Empire </li></ul>
  3. 3. What does the Commonwealth do? <ul><li>This group of states works together on important matters such as: </li></ul><ul><li>Business </li></ul><ul><li>Health </li></ul><ul><li>Fight against poverty </li></ul>
  4. 4. Commonwealth Games <ul><li>The Commonwealth Games is a sporting event simelar to the Olympic Games. Every four years all the nations of the Commonwealth take part in this event </li></ul><ul><li>The first event, known as the British Empire Games , was held in 1930. The name changed to British Empire and Commonwealth Games in 1954, to British Commonwealth Games in 1970 and assumed the current name of the Commonwealth Games in 1978. </li></ul>