Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Stages of cognitive development


Published on

Child and Adolescent Development

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Stages of cognitive development

  1. 1.  SCHEMA -it is an individuals way to understand or create meaning about a thing or experience.  ASSIMILATION -this is the process of fitting a new experience into an existing or previously created cognitive structure or schema.  ACCOMMODATION -this is a process of creating a new schema.
  2. 2. •EQUILIBRIUM -is achieving proper balance between assimilation and accommodation. COGNITIVE DISEQUILIBRIUM - there is discrepancy between what is perceived and what is understood.
  3. 3. PIAGET’S STAGES OF COGNITIVE DEVELOPMENT •STAGE 1 SENSORY-MOTOR STAGE -corresponds from birth to infancy. OBJECT PERMANENCE -is the ability of the child to know that an object exists even when out of sight. •STAGE 2 PRE-OPERATIONAL STAGE - covers from about two to seven years old, roughly corresponding to the pre-school years.
  4. 4. -intelligence at this stage is intuitive in nature. SYMBOLIC FUNCTION - the ability to represent objects and events. - gradually develops in the period between 2 to 7 years. ECOGENTRISM - is the tendency of the child to only see his point of view and to assume that everyone has his same point of view. CENTRATION - the tendency of a child to only focus on one aspect of a thing or event and exclude other aspects.
  5. 5. IRREVERSIBILITY - pre-operational children still have the inability to reverse their thinking. ANIMISM - the tendency of children to attribute human like traits or characteristics to inanimate objects. TRANSDUCTIVE REASONING - pre-operational child’s type of reasoning that is neither inductive nor deductive. If A cause B, then B causes A.
  6. 6. • STAGE 3 CONCRETE-OPERATIONAL STAGE - is characterized by the ability of the child to think logically but only in terms of concrete objects. This covers approximately the ages between 8-11 years. DECENTERING - refers to the ability of the child to perceive the diff. features of objects and situations REVERSIBILITY - the child can now follow that certain operations can be done in reverse.
  7. 7. CONSERVATION - the ability to know that certain properties of objects like numbers, mass, volume, or area do not change even if there is a change in appearance. SERIATION - refers to the ability to order or arrange things in a series based on one dimension such as weight, volume or size.
  8. 8. •STAGE 4 FORMAL OPERATIONAL STAGE - the final stage of formal operations covering ages between 12 and 15 years, thinking becomes more logical. HYPOTHETICAL REASONING - is the ability to come up with different hypothesis about a problem and to gather and weigh data in order to make a final decision or judgement.
  9. 9. ANALOGICAL REASONING - is the ability to perceive the relationship in one instance and then use that relationship to narrow down possible answers in another similar situation or problem. DEDUCTIVE REASONING - is the ability to think logically by applying a general rule to a particular instance or situation.