Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

DMAIC - The 5 Phases of Lean Six Sigma

A simple, friendly introduction to DMAIC and Lean Six Sigma. Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control.

  • Be the first to comment

DMAIC - The 5 Phases of Lean Six Sigma

  1. 1. DMAIC: The 5 Phase Method That Underlies Lean Six Sigma Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control
  2. 2. What Is Lean Six Sigma? • Lean Six Sigma is simply a process for solving a problem. It is a system of management that results in a steady pulping of projects that are ready for improvement • It consists of five phases, aka DMAIC (“duh-may-ik”) • Lean Six Sigma provides guidelines to help you select the right projects at the right time • Once projects are selected, improvement teams use DMAIC to refine projects & deliver quantifiable, sustainable results
  3. 3. Why DMAIC? • DMAIC is a methodology for root cause analysis • DMAIC should be used when: • there is a problem and the root cause is unknown • the stakes are high and we need to be absolutely sure the solution fixes the problem • a problem exists, solutions have been tried, but the root cause is still unknown
  4. 4. Selecting the Right Projects • Before beginning a Lean Six Sigma process improvement project, choose projects that are good candidates for improvement. A good project for improvement: • has an obvious problem within the process • has the potential to result in increased revenue, reduced cost, or improved efficiency • has collectable data
  5. 5. • DMAIC is the Six Sigma methodology to conduct root cause analysis • Define • Measure • Analyze • Improve • Control DMAIC Methodology
  6. 6. • Define is the first phase of the Lean Six Sigma improvement process. It consists of defining the problem, the goal, the process, and the customer • Project Charter • Voice of the Customer • SIPOC Define
  7. 7. • In the Measure phase, the team focuses on data collection, which takes time and effort • Select Measures • Data Collection Planning • Operational Definitions • Baseline Data Measure
  8. 8. • In the Analyze phase, the team reviews data collected during the measure phase. The goal is to narrow down and verify root causes of waste and defects • Process Analysis • Brainstorm Root Causes • Pareto Charts • Develop Hypothesis Analyze
  9. 9. • In the Improve phase, teams move on to solution development • Create Flow • Mistake-Proofing: Poka-Yoke • Visual Management & 5S Improve
  10. 10. • The Control phase is the final phase of Lean Six Sigma. The team focuses on how to sustain newly achieved improvements by passing it on to other employees • Process Control Plan • Monitoring & Response Plan • Documentation & Storyboard Control
  11. 11. Start Improving Today. Get your free Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt Training by visiting Register For Your 
 Free Lean Six Sigma Training