Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Zombies Vs. Knaves: Playing Games in Cultural Institutions

1,328 views

Published on

Part of a panel presentation for the Meaningful Play 2010 conference at Michigan State University.
http://meaningfulplay.msu.edu/program.php?session=111

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Zombies Vs. Knaves: Playing Games in Cultural Institutions

  1. 1. Zombies vs. Knaves: Playing Games in Cultural Institutions Meaningful Play 2010 Michigan State University
  2. 2. Georgina Goodlander Interpretive Programs Manager Smithsonian American Art Museum
  3. 3. Pheon at the Smithsonian American Art Museum Georgina Goodlander Smithsonian American Art Museum www.pheon.org
  4. 4. 1. You’re having a dream about fishing, are you? a) Wading in a stream. (Stave) b) On a boat in the middle of the ocean (Knave) 2. Which would you rather untie? a) A knot (Stave) b) A bow (Knave) 3. If you played professional football, which squad would you be on? a) Defense (Stave) b) Offense (Knave) Smithsonian American Art Museum www.pheon.org
  5. 5. Smithsonian American Art Museum www.pheon.org
  6. 6. Goals • Increase familiarity with our collections • Inspire creativity • Connect art with *real* life • Raise awareness of the American Art Museum Smithsonian American Art Museum www.pheon.org
  7. 7. Georgina Goodlander GoodlanderG@si.edu | Facebook/Twitter/Flickr: bathlander | CountedShadows.com Smithsonian American Art Museum www.pheon.org
  8. 8. Thank you! Susan Edwards J. Paul Getty Trust, sedwards@getty.edu Jesse Heinzen Minnesota Historical Society, Jesse.Heinzen@MNHS.ORG Margeaux Johnson University of Florida Libraries, margeaux@ufl.edu Erin Branham J. Paul Getty Museum, EBranham@getty.edu Amanda Ohlke The International Spy Museum, aohlke@spymuseum.org Georgina Goodlander Smithsonian American Art Museum, GoodlanderG@si.edu

×