Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

40 Plus Cool Tools for Library Webmasters

6,642 views

Published on

Cool Tools presentation from Computers in Libraries 2009 by Frank Cervone and Darlene Fichter

We do this presentation twice a year and include new tools in each talk. Browse past talks to find more useful and fun tools.

Published in: Technology
  • I think one of the best ways to set up a site is with some psd css. PSD is the best out there, it's only natural that you'd use it to design your site.
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here
  • good work!
       Reply 
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here

40 Plus Cool Tools for Library Webmasters

  1. 1. 40-Plus New Tools & Gadgets for Library Webmasters Frank Cervone Vice Chancellor for Information Services Purdue University Calumet Darlene Fichter Data Librarian University of Saskatchewan Libraries March 30, 2009
  2. 2. Webmaster tools Photo by . matt
  3. 3. Layout Gala blog.html.it/layoutgala
  4. 4. WAVE wave.webaim.org
  5. 5. HTML Table Generator <ul><li>Why? </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Time consuming to design table layout </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Style conflicts that yield results </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Visual feedback </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Free </li></ul></ul>www.spectrum-research.com/V2/projects_table_generator.asp
  6. 7. Visual Thesaurus www.visualthesaurus.com
  7. 8. FancyZoom GPL License www.dfc-e.com/metiers/multimedia/opensource/jquery-fancyzoom
  8. 9. Uni-Form <ul><li>DIY - build a form </li></ul><ul><li>Well structured, semantic, accessible and usable form </li></ul>sprawsm.com/uni-form
  9. 10. feed.informer feed.informer.com
  10. 11. phplist <ul><li>phplist is an open-source newsletter manager </li></ul><ul><li>RSS to email </li></ul><ul><li>Integrates with Drupal, Wordpress, Joomla .. </li></ul>phplist.com
  11. 12. EasyPHP www.easyphp.org
  12. 13. Time Savers
  13. 14. “ How I Can Code Twice as Fast as You” net.tutsplus.com/videos/screencasts/how-i-can-code-twice-as-fast-as-you/ net.tutsplus.com/videos/screencasts/how-i-can-code-twice-as-fast-as-you
  14. 15. Texter <ul><li>Runs in the Windows system tray </li></ul><ul><li>Works in any application you're typing in </li></ul><ul><li>Why: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Snippets of email messages </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Code snippets – jquery </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Add begin, end paragraph tags </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Signatures, addresses, and commonly used abbreviations </li></ul></ul>GPL License lifehacker.com/software/texter/lifehacker-code-texter-windows-238306.php
  15. 16. text expander www.smileonmymac.com/TextExpander
  16. 17. Crowd Science crowdscience.com
  17. 18. fusestats web analytics www.fusestats.com
  18. 19. Read it Later www.ideashower.com/ideas/launched/read-it-later
  19. 20. Top Posts Widget www.postrank.com
  20. 21. Internet health report / Internet status report internethealthreport.com / internettrafficreport.com
  21. 22. Lonely Hearts Club for Web Sites? www.google.com/friendconnect
  22. 23. www.youtube.com/watch?v=N94s7ix0JPo
  23. 24. FireShot addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/5648
  24. 25. FileJuicer <ul><li>Squeeze out those images PDFs and slides </li></ul><ul><li>Plus much more … </li></ul><ul><li>File Juicer for €12.95. </li></ul>echoone.com/filejuicer
  25. 26. XnView www.xnview.com/en/index.html
  26. 27. Visual tools Photo by Torley
  27. 28. ColorPicker www.colorpicker.com
  28. 29. Color Wizard colorsontheweb.com/colorwizard.asp
  29. 30. Accessibility Color Wheel gmazzocato.altervista.org/colorwheel/wheel.php
  30. 31. Personal Fonts www.yourfonts.com
  31. 32. More Pie www.lovelycharts.com
  32. 33. XML/SWF Charts www.maani.us/xml_charts/index.php
  33. 34. Mind Mapping bubbl.us
  34. 35. mindmeister www.mindmeister.com
  35. 36. script.aculo.us <ul><li>“ JavaScript library providing dynamic visual effects and user interface element” </li></ul>script.aculo.us
  36. 37. Puzzle Demo made with Sortables wiki.github.com/madrobby/scriptaculous/puzzle-demo
  37. 38. xcavator www.xcavator.net
  38. 39. Avoiding “oh crap” Moments Photo by trancemist
  39. 40. Google Unsend <ul><li>Default 5 seconds, make 10 seconds </li></ul>Photo by bewarenerd mailblog.blogspot.com/2009/03/new-in-labs-undo-send.htm
  40. 41. Automatically Open Search Results in New Tab <ul><li>Type about:config in address bar </li></ul><ul><li>Type in filter box: browser.search.openintab </li></ul><ul><li>Double-click the value to change it to true </li></ul>Bonus Tip: Ctrl K to move to the Google search box lifehacker.com/software/firefox/firefox-tip-open-search-results-in-a-new-tab-255171.php
  41. 42. Review Basics www.reviewbasics.com
  42. 43. Playing It Safe Photo by gardawind
  43. 44. Quintura Kids quinturakids.com
  44. 45. Virus Total www.virustotal.com
  45. 46. WinDirStat windirstat.info
  46. 47. Do I Really Want to Know You? letscallme.com
  47. 48. DamnIT damnit.jupiterit.com <ul><ul><li>Sign up for DamnIT </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Include damnit.js </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>An error happens </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Optional description </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>You get an email </li></ul></ul>Careful with that URL!
  48. 49. Chunk It! www.getchunkit.com
  49. 50. More tools? <ul><li>Net Tuts+ </li></ul><ul><ul><li>http://net.tutsplus.com/ </li></ul></ul><ul><li>25 free Mac Apps for freelancers </li></ul><ul><ul><li>http://www.designer-daily.com/mac-apps-1915 </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Noupe.com </li></ul><ul><ul><li>tutorials designers and developers </li></ul></ul>
  50. 51. Rasterbator homokaasu.org/rasterbator A classic!
  51. 52. Thanks <ul><li>[email_address] </li></ul><ul><li>[email_address] </li></ul>

×