Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Vernor vinge by evan


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Vernor vinge by evan

  1. 1. Vernor Vinge Math Professor, Computer Scientist and Science Fiction Author
  2. 3. Beginnings <ul><li>Born October 2 nd , 1944 </li></ul><ul><li>His first published science fiction work was Bookworm, Run! And was published in the March 1966 Issue of Analog Science Fiction </li></ul><ul><li>First widely recognized work was in 1981 when he published True Names </li></ul><ul><li>True Names would go on to influence such works of William Gibsons and Neal Stephenson </li></ul>
  3. 4. Pursuit of Hugo Award <ul><li>Both of Vernor’s next two novels The Peace War (1984) and Marooned in Real Time (1986) were nominated for the Hugo Award </li></ul><ul><li>Both times though he was beat out by Orson Scott Card and William Gibson </li></ul><ul><li>It wasn’t until 1992 that he finally got his much deserved Hugo award with A Fire Upon the Deep </li></ul><ul><li>Since then he has won the Hugo award an additional four times with A Deepness in the Sky (1999), Fast Times at Fairmont High (2002), The Cookie Monster (2004) and most recently Rainbows End (2006). </li></ul>
  4. 5. Themes <ul><li>Much of Vernor’s writings include some form of an Artificial Intelligence and involve a type of technological singularity, of which Vernor is an avid believer </li></ul><ul><li>“ Within thirty years, we will have the technological means to create superhuman intelligence. Shortly after, the human era will be ended. ”  — Vernor Vinge, 1993 </li></ul><ul><li>Other themes include Anarcho-Capitalism which favors a sovereign individual in a free market with not state oversight </li></ul>
  5. 6. Summary of Novels <ul><li>Tatja Grimm's World (1987) </li></ul><ul><li>The Witling (1976) </li></ul><ul><li>The Peace War (1984) </li></ul><ul><li>Marooned in Realtime (1986) </li></ul><ul><li>A Fire Upon the Deep (1992) </li></ul><ul><li>A Deepness in the Sky (1999) </li></ul><ul><li>Rainbows End </li></ul>