Week 6: Psychosocial Development (Erik Erikson)


Published on

1 Comment
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Week 6: Psychosocial Development (Erik Erikson)

  1. 1. Week 5 EDS 220Psychosocial Development Dr. Evrim Baran
  2. 2. Assignment for this week• Conflict between id and superego can lead to emotional distress (anxiety or guilt). Bring an example to 7 defense mechanisms used to avoid these emotions related to child/adult behavior in classroom/educational contexts
  3. 3. IdentityHow do we develop our identity or sense of self?
  4. 4. What is identity?• An individuals self definition that focuses on enduring characteristics of the self.• In an established identity, the individual is able to explain the origins of these self- defined characteristics and the influences behind those origins.• Complete identity includes a clarification of ones morals, ethics, and standards, as well as a commitment to a future occupation.
  5. 5. Activity: Timeline of Our LifeDraw a timeline ofyour life with majorphysical, emotional,and socialdevelopmentalmilestonesWhat is each milestone Physical? Emotional? Social?
  6. 6. • Jean Piaget-Cognitive development• Sigmund Freud-Psychosexual development• Erik Erikson?
  7. 7. Theory of Psychosocial Development http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0sxaU34 MPEErik Erikson (1902-1994)
  8. 8. Psychosocial identitiesEmotional Circumstances(psycho) (social)
  9. 9. Eight stages of development• Each stage is defined by a specific conflict (pair of opposing impulses and behaviors)• The resolution or the inability to resolve these conflicts effects our personalities and identities• Four childhood stages and three adult stages bridged together one stage in adolescents• Basic needs and what society provides
  10. 10. Eight stages of development• Stage 1 – Basic Trust vs. mistrust• Stage 2 – Autonomy vs. Shame/Doubt• Stage 3 – Initiative vs. Guilt• Stage 4 – Industry vs. Inferiority• Stage 5 – Identity vs. Role confusion• Stage 6 – Intimacy vs. Isolation• Stage 7 – Generativity vs. Stagnation• Stage 8 – Ego Integrity vs. Despair
  11. 11. Stage 1: Basic Trust vs. mistrust Others are birth to 12-18 dependable and months (infancy) reliable Trust vs. mistrust World is in an undependable, Hope, optimism unpredictable, and possibly dangerous place.• A loving trusting relationship with the mother/caregiver through feeding, teething, and comforting• Failure to resolve this conflict • Sensory distortion and withdrawal
  12. 12. Object permanence:Trusting objects beyondher control
  13. 13. Stage 2: Autonomy vs. Shame/Doubt I can do this.18 months-3 yearsAutonomy vs. Shame/DoubtSelf control, will I can’tAutonomy: Ability to control their bodies and environmentDeveloping physical skills (toilet training, walking, manipulating objects)Shame and doubt develop when the child is shamed or forced to be dependent in areas in which she/he is capable of independence.Compulsivity, impulsivity
  14. 14. Can I do things myself or must I always rely on others?"
  15. 15. Stage 3: Initiative vs. Guilt3-6 yearsInitiative vs. GuiltPurpose, directionChildren are active and have powerful imaginationInitiative: Independent decision making about planning and doing various activitiesMay develop guilt for their desire of independenceRuthless, inhibition
  16. 16. Am I good or am I bad?
  17. 17. Stage 4: Industry vs. Inferiority 6-12 years Industry vs. Inferiority Competence Gain real adult skills (reading, writing) Industry: Motivation to keep learning and practicing. They want to be productive instead of just wanting to play. When not encouraged to work and learn skills feel inferior and unmotivated. Conflict between what they should do and should not do. School learning, interaction with peers
  18. 18. Am I successfulor worthless?
  19. 19. Balance?
  20. 20. Stage 5: Identity vs. Role confusionadelescenceIdentity vs. Role confusionFidelityIdentity is characterised by integration of personal values with those of society, a clear sense of self in multiple roles, and by making choices about the future.A health identity: One’s organisation of individual drives, abilities, beliefs, and experience into a consistent image of self.Role confusion: Failure to establish an individual identity separate from the family and and having no peer relationships and plans for an occupation.
  21. 21. Who am I?Where am Igoing?
  22. 22. In 4 groups, define and find examples• Identity achievement• Identity foreclosure• Identity diffisuon• Moratorium
  23. 23. Stage 6: Intimacy vs. IsolationYoung Adulthood, 20sIntimacy vs. IsolationLoveForm identities and start looking for close reciprocal relationship.Intimacy develops when the person creates mature relationships with a partner.Isolation: Inability to create intimate relationships.
  24. 24. Am I loved and wanted?Shall I share my life withsomeone or live alone?
  25. 25. Stage 7: Generativity vs. StagnationMiddle AdulthoodGenerativity vs. StagnationCarePrimary developmental task is one of contributing to society and helping to guide future generations.Generativity: Concern of establishing and guiding the next generation.Promote well being of others.Stagnation- a dissatisfaction with the relative lack of productivity.Parenting, educating, productive social involvement
  26. 26. Will I producesomething of realvalue?
  27. 27. Stage 8: Ego Integrity vs. Despair Seniors, 65 and over Integrity vs. Despair Wisdom Sense of satisfaction with life well lived. Integrity: When a person developed wisdom over a lifetime and can look back and see a life of meaning. Despair: A sense of not accomplishing one’s goals or values and it is too late to do anything about it.
  28. 28. Have I lived a full life?
  29. 29. Eight stages of development• Stage 1 – Basic Trust vs. mistrust• Stage 2 – Autonomy vs. Shame/Doubt• Stage 3 – Initiative vs. Guilt• Stage 4 – Industry vs. Inferiority• Stage 5 – Identity vs. Role confusion• Stage 6 – Intimacy vs. Isolation• Stage 7 – Generativity vs. Stagnation• Stage 8 – Ego Integrity vs. Despair
  30. 30. Activity: Examples• For each stage – Discuss one example—ideally from your lives—that illustrates a particular stage-specific crisis. – Describe a positive and negative outcome for your example. • (For example, stage 4, or school age, is when children begin school and learn new skills. If this stage is met successfully, a child will develop a sense of competence. He or she is more likely to feel confident about learning new subjects in school, talking in class, and taking on new challenges. If not, he or she will develop a sense of inferiority, may be reluctant to ask questions, and could fall behind, feeling stupid or discouraged.) – Present your example to the class
  31. 31. Applying Erikson’s Work in the Classroom• Help students achieve a high degree of success, especially in elementary school• Be Tolerant of honest mistakes when dealing with students at all levels• In a middle or junior high school, provide the security of structure while allowing freedom and expression• Know the emotional needs of young people, and use that knowledge as an umbrella under which you conduct instruction• Be a role model for students, both professionally and personally. With elementary students, model industry, with elder students model professionalism and individual dignity helpfull in identity formation.
  32. 32. Assignment• Interview people of different ages to learn about Eriksons stages, their conflicts, and how they could resolve or could not resolve their conflicts.• Some questions: – What advice would you give to someone our age? (Stage 7) – Which stages of your life have been most enjoyable? The most important? (Stage 8) – What have been some of the most significant events of your life? Why? What age were you at each event? – What aspect of your life has influenced you the most?