Back To Africa Adventure 2011

292 views

Published on

0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
292
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
2
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Back To Africa Adventure 2011

  1. 1. Back to Africa Adventure 2011
  2. 2. <ul><li>This year we took some American friends for their </li></ul><ul><li>first visit to Africa and a mini-Safari. We flew from </li></ul><ul><li>Washington Dulles to Cape Town via Dakar and </li></ul><ul><li>Johannesburg and then, after spending a few days </li></ul><ul><li>in Cape Town and up the West Coast, we flew to </li></ul><ul><li>Namibia to stay with friends and visit the towns of </li></ul><ul><li>Okahandja, Swakopmund, Walvis Bay and then </li></ul><ul><li>the game reserves at Erindi and Etosha. Some </li></ul><ul><li>highlights: </li></ul>
  3. 3. Cape: http:// www.routes.co.za/maps/wc/stellenbosch/stellenbosch.jpg
  4. 4. <ul><li>Gold Restaurant Cape Town: </li></ul><ul><li>http:// www.goldrestaurant.co.za/directions.htm </li></ul><ul><li>Cape Point: http:// www.capepoint.co.za / </li></ul><ul><li>Cape Town V&A Waterfront : </li></ul><ul><li>http:// www.waterfront.co.za/Pages/home.aspx </li></ul><ul><li>Foresters Arms Pub: http:// dostuffct.com/activity/newlands/foresters -arms-pub </li></ul><ul><li>Table Mountain: http://www.wayfaring.info/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/table-mountain-cable-car.jpg </li></ul><ul><li>Lambert’s Bay: http:// www.lambertsbay.co.za / </li></ul><ul><li>Muisbosskerm Restaurant on the beach: </li></ul><ul><li>http:// www.muisbosskerm.co.za / </li></ul><ul><li>Stellenbosch: http://www.strauss.za.com/images/stellenbosch_2.jpg </li></ul><ul><li>Nederburg Wine Farm: http:// www.nederburg.co.za/home.php </li></ul>
  5. 5. For the Namibian part of the adventure, we rented a VW T1 Syncro AWD which seated 6 people in air-conditioned comfort and handled the many dirt roads and long distances very well (I did the driving). http://www.4wdonline.com/VW/Transporter/PiCs37/T1.Syncro.jpg
  6. 6. <ul><li>Swakopmund: http://www.nels-estates.com.na/images/swakopmund_aerialview.jpg Swakopmund Brauhaus: http:// www.swakopmundbrauhaus.com / </li></ul><ul><li>http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g298357-d1122519-Reviews-Footprints-Swakopmund.html </li></ul><ul><li>Walvis Bay: http://www.challengeandadventure.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/walvis-bay.jpg </li></ul>
  7. 7. <ul><li>Spitzkoppe: http://www.jenmansafaris.com/typo3temp/pics/de98f28ed0.jpg </li></ul><ul><li>Erindi Game Reserve: http:// erindi.com /gallery/ Etosha National Park: http:// www.namibian.org/travel/namibia/etosha.htm Okahandja Country Hotel: http:// www.okahandjahotel.com / </li></ul>
  8. 9. Many thanks to Dot, Corinne, Tobie, Klaus, Irene, Charles and Gareth and all our other friends whom we met up with for making this so special for us!!

×