AdWords 101•   Introduction to AdWords•   Setting Goals•   How Google Ranks Ads•   The Importance of Structure•   Choosing...
Introduction to AdWords
What is Google AdWords?AdWords is Google‟s online advertising program   • Advertisers select keywords; ads appear next    ...
Common Questions for New Advertisers   Is AdWords appropriate for   Which keywords   my small business?           should I...
What are your goals?Make a list of goals BEFORE you start advertising so youcan evaluate your progress.               Mark...
Where do my ads appear?
Google‟s Search Partners
Google Display Network
Remarketing Ads•   Follows visitors who have been to your site•   Brings customers back to your page to complete an action...
How Google Ranks Ads
In this section we‟ll cover...•   How an AdWords Auction Works•   How Google Calculates your AdRank•   What is Max CPC?•  ...
How does AdWords work?          Instant Auction  A live auction is run for every searchAd Position = Quality x Your Bid   ...
Everybody wants to be in position #1, right???   The position of each ad is determined using a ranking formula.
The Ad Ranking Forumla                    MaximumAd Rank            =   Cost-Per-Click Bid                   (Max. CPC)   ...
What is your Max CPC?CPC stands for Cost Per Click   • Maximum you are willing to bid for a keyword      in an AdWords auc...
What is Quality Score?Quality Score is a measure of the relevance of your ads. Google‟sgoal is to provide a great user exp...
How Google Calculates Quality Score              Click-Through-Rate (CTR)    Of the people who saw your ad, how many click...
How Can I Check My Quality Scores?
Add Your Quality Score to Your Columns  • Click “Columns” in the Keywords Tab  • Customize Columns  • Under Attributes, Ad...
The Ad Ranking Formula   Alison, Scott, and Jon are all bidding on the same keywords.   Based on their Max CPC and Quality...
How Does This Affect How Much I Pay?  Your actual CPC is the Ad Rank of the advertiser below, divided by your  Quality Sco...
The Importance of Structure
In this section we‟ll cover:• The structure and limits of a typical AdWords Account• Best Practices for organizing your ac...
Typical AdWords Account Structure                               AdWords Account                           Unique email add...
Poorly Setup Structure                        AdWords Account                     “Furniture” Campaign                    ...
The Right Way to Structure Your Account                                        AdWords Account                            ...
How to Choose theRight Keywords
In this section we‟ll cover…•   How to begin building your keyword list•   The Google Keywords Tool•   How to apply the “G...
Building Your Keyword List•   Brainstorm Business•   Review Your Website•   Think Like a Customer•   Focus on Your Unique ...
The Google Keyword Toolhttps://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal
Get Creative Looking For Keywords • Instant Search On • Related Searches
The Goldilocks Principlevacation        florida vacation rental     3 br vacation rental grayton beachtax             tax ...
Example keyword „vacation‟ -- your ad might showfor:vacation rental                        The go-go‟s vacationvacation de...
Keyword Match Types                  How keyword                                       The ad will                    The ...
Some Common Negative KeywordsService provider   Vacation destination       Frequently used-become            -library     ...
How to Write Great Ads
Ad Text SpecificationsAd title(25 characters max,including spaces)Two description lines(35 characters max each,including s...
What is a Good AdWords Ad?  A good ad:  •   Is relevant to the keywords in the ad group  •   Gets a high Click-Through-Rat...
Bad AdWords Ads:              Vague, Irrelevant, Unclear AdsAsk yourself just 3 questions to help you write great ads!
1. What Sets Your Business Apart? Why would someone choose your business over a competitor? Examples:“We only sell product...
2. Can You Describe Your Products or Services?Describe specific or technical details of yourproducts or services.Examples:...
What is your call to action?After someone clicks on your ad and visits yourwebsite, what is it you want them to do next?Ex...
Great Ad Examples:       Worksheet #6
Link to the Best Landing PageAlways direct traffic to the most useful page on the site.
Experiment with Your Ads• Create 2 ads for each ad group• Set Ad Rotation to “Rotate Evenly”• Track your results to see wh...
A Quick Recap
You should now know:Where Ads Show                              How to Structure an AccountShow ads on Google.com, the Sea...
Sign Up Now! adwords.google.com
Online Marketing CompanyFind out more about Ajax Union: www.ajaxunion.com               Follow Us On Twitter:             ...
Online Marketing CompanyFollow Up Webinar Tomorrow:February 22nd, 12PM – 12:30 PMwww.ajaxunion.com/webinar/CEO, Business O...
Google ad words 101 workshop
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Google ad words 101 workshop

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Google ad words 101 workshop

  1. 1. AdWords 101• Introduction to AdWords• Setting Goals• How Google Ranks Ads• The Importance of Structure• Choosing the Right Keywords• How to Write Great Ads
  2. 2. Introduction to AdWords
  3. 3. What is Google AdWords?AdWords is Google‟s online advertising program • Advertisers select keywords; ads appear next to the search results on Google.com • Ads can also show on hundreds of thousands of other websites • AdWords is a live auction for keywords
  4. 4. Common Questions for New Advertisers Is AdWords appropriate for Which keywords my small business? should I use? How do I get my ad in the #1 position? How will I be charged? How do I write a great ad? Where will my ads appear?
  5. 5. What are your goals?Make a list of goals BEFORE you start advertising so youcan evaluate your progress. Marketing is about TESTING! • I want 3 new orders everyday • I‟d like as many clicks as possible for less than $.80 per click • I want at least 40 visits to my website everyday • I want five quality leads for my sales team everyday Worksheet #1
  6. 6. Where do my ads appear?
  7. 7. Google‟s Search Partners
  8. 8. Google Display Network
  9. 9. Remarketing Ads• Follows visitors who have been to your site• Brings customers back to your page to complete an action• Out of sight, out of mind• Can target different ads for users who searched different products Worksheet #2
  10. 10. How Google Ranks Ads
  11. 11. In this section we‟ll cover...• How an AdWords Auction Works• How Google Calculates your AdRank• What is Max CPC?• How Quality Score is Calculated• How this affects what you pay per click
  12. 12. How does AdWords work? Instant Auction A live auction is run for every searchAd Position = Quality x Your Bid Quality Factors: Clickthrough rate, keyword relevance, ad relevance and historical performance
  13. 13. Everybody wants to be in position #1, right??? The position of each ad is determined using a ranking formula.
  14. 14. The Ad Ranking Forumla MaximumAd Rank = Cost-Per-Click Bid (Max. CPC) x Quality Score
  15. 15. What is your Max CPC?CPC stands for Cost Per Click • Maximum you are willing to bid for a keyword in an AdWords auction
  16. 16. What is Quality Score?Quality Score is a measure of the relevance of your ads. Google‟sgoal is to provide a great user experience so these score helpranking for the user. POOR OK GREAT
  17. 17. How Google Calculates Quality Score Click-Through-Rate (CTR) Of the people who saw your ad, how many clicked on it? + Relevancy Do your keywords match your ads? Does the search query match your keyword? + Landing Page Quality Does your landing page provide a good user experience?
  18. 18. How Can I Check My Quality Scores?
  19. 19. Add Your Quality Score to Your Columns • Click “Columns” in the Keywords Tab • Customize Columns • Under Attributes, Add “Quality Score”
  20. 20. The Ad Ranking Formula Alison, Scott, and Jon are all bidding on the same keywords. Based on their Max CPC and Quality Score, where will they rank? Ad Rank Max CPC Quality ScoreAlison 2nd 8 = $1.00 x 8Scott 10 = $1.00 x 10 1stJon 7 = $2.35 x 3 3rd
  21. 21. How Does This Affect How Much I Pay? Your actual CPC is the Ad Rank of the advertiser below, divided by your Quality Score. Ad Rank Max CPC Quality Score Actual CPCScott 10 = $1.00 x 10 = (8/10) $.80Alison 8 = $1.00 x 8 = (7/8) $.88Juan 7 = $2.35 x 3 = minimum $min
  22. 22. The Importance of Structure
  23. 23. In this section we‟ll cover:• The structure and limits of a typical AdWords Account• Best Practices for organizing your account
  24. 24. Typical AdWords Account Structure AdWords Account Unique email address & password Billing information Campaign Campaign Daily budget Daily budget Location/language targeting Location/language targeting Distribution preference Distribution preference End date End dateAd Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Keywords Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads Ads
  25. 25. Poorly Setup Structure AdWords Account “Furniture” Campaign Furniture Ad Group The Best Furniture Great Selection, Made in USA Free Shipping, 5 Year Warranty. PlantationDesign.comleather sectional leather loveseat leather chairrugs patio furniture leather sofadining room table table lamp coffee tablekitchen table floor lamp end tablebrass bed kids furniture lampleather headboard living room furniture ottomandresser bedroom furniture dining room tableleather couch desk media console
  26. 26. The Right Way to Structure Your Account AdWords Account “Furniture” Campaign “Leather Sectionals” “Leather Loveseats” “Leather Chairs” Ad Group Ad Group Ad GroupLeather Sectionals Leather Loveseats Leather ChairsLeather Sectionals Made in USA Free Delivery When You Buy Before Handcrafted Leather ChairsFrom $1,999 With 5 Year Warranty Christmas. Order Yours Today! Make a Statement. View Catalog!plantationdesign.com/sectionals plantationdesign.com/loveseat plantationdesign.com/chairsbuy leather sectional suite buy leather love seats buy handmade leather chairbuy leather sectional suites buy leather loveseats buy handmade leather chairsleather sectional suites buy leather love seat handmade leather chairsleather sectional suite buy leather loveseat handmade leather chairbuy leather sectional leather loveseats buy leather chairsbuy leather sectional leather love seats buy leather chairleather sectional leather love seat leather chairleather sectionals leather loveseat leather chairs Worksheet #3
  27. 27. How to Choose theRight Keywords
  28. 28. In this section we‟ll cover…• How to begin building your keyword list• The Google Keywords Tool• How to apply the “Goldilocks” principle• Keywords match types
  29. 29. Building Your Keyword List• Brainstorm Business• Review Your Website• Think Like a Customer• Focus on Your Unique Selling Points• Include Plural and Singular Versions• Include Spelling Mistakes & Variations• Include Product Numbers & Codes Worksheet #4
  30. 30. The Google Keyword Toolhttps://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal
  31. 31. Get Creative Looking For Keywords • Instant Search On • Related Searches
  32. 32. The Goldilocks Principlevacation florida vacation rental 3 br vacation rental grayton beachtax tax preparation nashville tax preparation service nolensville rdstore dvd storage faux leather storage for dvd box setsbags handmade leather bags handmade black croc leather handbagsaccounting cheap accounting software accounting software for petsitting bizToo General Just Right Too Specific
  33. 33. Example keyword „vacation‟ -- your ad might showfor:vacation rental The go-go‟s vacationvacation deals disney vacation clubvacation ideas pictures from our vacation by lynne rae perkinsvacations for kids vacation auctionsvacations for singles vacation accrual policyvacations for veterans Vacation agent magazineNational lampoon‟s European vacation vacation air conditioningpermanent vacation lyrics vacation anxiety General keywords = low clickthrough-rate = low Quality Score
  34. 34. Keyword Match Types How keyword The ad will The ad will show whenMatch Type appears in show when: a searcher types: AdWords: Any word combination Caribbean Cruise Ships related to part of or all ofBroad Caribbean Cruise the keyword or related Tropical Cruise terms in any order Words related to every Caribbean holiday Cruises+Broad +Modifier +Caribbean +Cruise word with a + sign in front Cruise holiday in Caribbean of it in any order Cruise in Carribean Keywords are typed in the Cheap Caribbean Cruise exact order specified. Can“Phrase” “Caribbean Cruise” have other words before Caribbean Cruise deals Luxury Caribbean Cruise and/or after. Keywords must be only &[Exact] [Caribbean Cruise] exactly what the user Caribbean Cruise types in Ads will not appear when Add will not show if-Negative - Tom this search term is entered someone types: in the query Tom Cruise
  35. 35. Some Common Negative KeywordsService provider Vacation destination Frequently used-become -library -free-study -doctor -lyrics-class -vet -second hand-classes -hospital -used-course -schools -parts-license -coffee -repairs-training -cards -wholesale-jobs -history -pics-employment -jobs in -pictures-supplies -pictures -definition of-tools -news -history-price -weather -diy Worksheet #5
  36. 36. How to Write Great Ads
  37. 37. Ad Text SpecificationsAd title(25 characters max,including spaces)Two description lines(35 characters max each,including spaces)Display URL(35 characters max,including spaces)Destination URL(1024 characters max,including spaces)
  38. 38. What is a Good AdWords Ad? A good ad: • Is relevant to the keywords in the ad group • Gets a high Click-Through-Rate (CTR) • Effectively Sells your Product or Service • Stands out from your competitors • Includes a call to action
  39. 39. Bad AdWords Ads: Vague, Irrelevant, Unclear AdsAsk yourself just 3 questions to help you write great ads!
  40. 40. 1. What Sets Your Business Apart? Why would someone choose your business over a competitor? Examples:“We only sell products made in the USA” “We won an award in 2009”“We have a money back guarantee” “All our products are custom made”“We have 30 years experience” “We always show up on time”“Free shipping if you buy two” “We‟re open 7 days a week”“We have lower prices”“We offer free quotes” This helps you“We‟re having a sale” write useful ads
  41. 41. 2. Can You Describe Your Products or Services?Describe specific or technical details of yourproducts or services.Examples:“Made from recycled materials” “Evening classes available”“Battery lasts up to 8 hours” “18 day all-inclusive tour”“From $16 per square foot” “10 Nashville locations”“Suitable for diabetics” “24/7 onsite support”“Dishwasher safe” “On time or it‟s free”“Collectors item” “First class is free”“Sizes 8-16” “HIPPA compliant”
  42. 42. What is your call to action?After someone clicks on your ad and visits yourwebsite, what is it you want them to do next?Examples:“Call us to request a free quote” “Learn more about osteoporosis”“Browse through all of our toys” “Order a copy of our brochure”“Book your rental home online” “Call us and order a pizza”“Download a 30-day free trial” “Request a call back”“Sign up for our mailing list” This helps you write a call to action
  43. 43. Great Ad Examples: Worksheet #6
  44. 44. Link to the Best Landing PageAlways direct traffic to the most useful page on the site.
  45. 45. Experiment with Your Ads• Create 2 ads for each ad group• Set Ad Rotation to “Rotate Evenly”• Track your results to see which ad is performing better so you can create a new ad to compete against it and delete the old ad
  46. 46. A Quick Recap
  47. 47. You should now know:Where Ads Show How to Structure an AccountShow ads on Google.com, the Search Structure your account for success withPartners, the Google Display Network. campaigns, Ad Groups and keywords.How to Select Keywords How To Write AdsKeyword match types, the “Goldilocks” Ad text specifications, tips for writingprinciple, using the Google Keyword Tool. more effective ads, calls to action.
  48. 48. Sign Up Now! adwords.google.com
  49. 49. Online Marketing CompanyFind out more about Ajax Union: www.ajaxunion.com Follow Us On Twitter: twitter.com/ajaxunion Like On Facebook: www.facebook.com/ajaxunion Connect On Likedin: http://www.linkedin.com/company/ajax-union Call Ajax Union: 718-569-1020 x420
  50. 50. Online Marketing CompanyFollow Up Webinar Tomorrow:February 22nd, 12PM – 12:30 PMwww.ajaxunion.com/webinar/CEO, Business Owner, and Industry Leader Networking Event:February 28th, 6PMwww.ajaxunion.com/ceonetworking/ Enter our Ajax Union Giveaway!

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