Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

RAD Studio Developer Skill Sprint: Preview - Proximity Awareness with Beacons

4,161 views

Published on

Preview: Proximity Awareness with Beacons
John "JT" Thomas - Embarcadero Technologies
Tuesday, March 10, 2015

In this this Developer Skill Sprint, JT previews Beacon proximity based programming using RAD Studio. Although this video shares an upcoming feature in the next major release, don't wait! You can buy XE7 now and get the next major release for free! Find out how at http://www.embarcadero.com/radoffer#freeUS


What are Beacons? Beacons are small transmitting devices. They transmit a radio signal on some preset interval to send some basic information. They typically use low energy BlueTooth (AKA Smart BlueTooth or BlueTooth LE).

What do Beacons do? A Beacon provides proximity and identification information. More specifically, a Beacon informs a mobile app how close it is to it by way of its signal strength. A Beacon also provides identification information - UUID, Major ID, & Minor ID

What can you do with Beacons? Your app can: 1) Know when it within proximity of a beacon and enters/exits its range (Limited to BLE range), 2) Determine how close it is to a beacon (based on signal strength), 3) Know the identify of the beacon (UUID, Major ID, Minor ID) and 4) Take some action based on “seeing” the beacon.

Blog post by Brian Alexakis - http://community.embarcadero.com/index.php/blogs/entry/rad-studio-to-support-beacons

iBeacon - https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202880

AltBeacon - http://altbeacon.org/


You can find the full Developer Skill Sprints YouTube playlist at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLwUPJvR9mZHhZTajVWsgaFPLtDA-t1Xwc

Published in: Technology
  • Be the first to comment

RAD Studio Developer Skill Sprint: Preview - Proximity Awareness with Beacons

  1. 1. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIESEMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Preview: Proximity Awareness with Beacons Download a free trial – NOW! http://embt.co/trialdownloads John “JT” Thomas, Dir. Of Dev Products March 10th, 2015 @IOnThings
  2. 2. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES How Skill Sprints Work. - Agenda • READY – Tips tricks & short URLS • SET – 20 minutes, 1 topic • GO – Demo and discussion – Live Q&ADownload a free trial – NOW! http://embt.co/trialdownloads
  3. 3. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES What are Beacons? • Beacons are small transmitting devices • They transmit a radio signal on some preset interval to send some basic information • The typically use low energy BlueTooth • AKA Smart BlueTooth or BlueTooth LE
  4. 4. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES What do Beacons do? • A Beacon provides proximity and identification information • More specifically, a Beacon informs a mobile app how close it is to it by way of its signal strength • A Beacon also provides identification information • UUID, Major ID, & Minor ID
  5. 5. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES What can you do with Beacons? • Your app can: – Know when it within proximity of a beacon and enters/exits its range • Limited to BLE range – Determine how close it is to a beacon • Based on signal strength – Know the identify of the beacon • UUID, Major, Minor – Take some action based on “seeing” the beacon
  6. 6. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Sample Retail Use Case
  7. 7. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Minority Report • The future of mall shopping with customer tracking and personalized advertising as envisioned in the Minority Report • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bXJ_obaiYQ
  8. 8. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES TBeacon
  9. 9. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES DEMONSTRATION Using TBeacon to find Promixity to a Beacon
  10. 10. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Radius Networks USB Beacon Connected to my MacBook Build a 64-bit iOS app with a TBeacon to discover my proximity to this beacon Read its UUID, Major ID, and Minor ID Calculate my distance based on its signal strength
  11. 11. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Next Preview…. • EMS Push Notifications • Marco Cantu shows you how to use EMS to send notifications to EMS clients • March 17th, 2015 – 6AM San Francisco / 9AM New York / 2PM London / 3PM Milan – 11AM San Francisco / 2PM New York / 7PM London / 8PM Milan – 5PM San Francisco / Wed 9AM Tokyo / Wed 10AM Sydney See the full schedule and replays - http://embt.co/Sprints15 Download your free trial now! - http://embt.co/trialdownloads
  12. 12. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES www.embarcadero.com/radoffer
  13. 13. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIESEMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Q & A Download your free trial now! http://embt.co/trialdownloads @EmbarcaderoTech

×