Successfully reported this slideshow.
Your SlideShare is downloading. ×

Internet of Things with Bluetooth - Developer Skill Sprint with David I

Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad

Check these out next

1 of 12 Ad
Advertisement

More Related Content

More from Embarcadero Technologies (20)

Recently uploaded (20)

Advertisement

Internet of Things with Bluetooth - Developer Skill Sprint with David I

  1. 1. EEMMBBAARRCCAADDEERROO T TEECCHHNNOOLLOOGGIEIESS Internet of Things with Bluetooth David Intersimone “David I” davidi@embarcadero.com Blog: http://embt.co/SipFromTheFirehose Twitter: @davidi99 Thursday, 18th of September, 2014 Download a free trial – NOW! http://embt.co/trialdownloads
  2. 2. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES This Skill Sprint Works with . . . • Windows • OS X • Android • iOS • RAD Studio • Appmethod • Object Pascal • C++ • RAD Studio XE7 DocWiki – http://embt.co/latestdocwiki • Appmethod September 2014 Release DocWiki – http://embt.co/AppmethodTopics • Appmethod supports the FireMonkey framework on all 4 platforms while RAD Studio, Delphi and C++Builder also supports VCL on Windows. Contact sales with any questions!
  3. 3. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES How Skill Sprints Work. - Agenda • READY – Tips tricks & short URLS • SET – 20 minutes, 1 topic • GO – Demo and discussion Download a free trial – NOW! – Live Q&A http://embt.co/trialdownloads
  4. 4. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Bluetooth support in XE7 • RTL new unit: System.Bluetooth, System::Bluetooth • Multi-device API for Classic Bluetooth & Bluetooth LE • TBluetoothLE component • Classic Bluetooth classes – TBluetoothManager – TBluetoothAdapter – TBluetoothDevice
  5. 5. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Bluetooth and App Tethering • To implement Classic Bluetooth support in your VCL and FMX apps: – Obtain an instance of TBluetoothManager. – Discover remote devices and pair with them. – Connect to the paired devices. – Exchange data with the connected devices.
  6. 6. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES BluetoothLE and Devices • Use an instance of TBluetoothLEDevice to: – Discover services that the remote device provides – Obtain detailed info including the characteristics • Read and Write a characteristic value • Ask to be notified of changes in a Characteristic value – SetCharacteristicNotification method – OnCharacteristicRead event handler • Get the received signal strength indicator (RSSI) • To obtain an instance of TBluetoothLEDevice – Use the StartDiscovery method or LastDiscoveredDevices property
  7. 7. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES TBluetoothLE Component • Discovery – DiscoverDevices – DiscoverServices • Working with devices and services – DiscoveredDevices – OnEndDiscoverDevices – OnEndDiscoverServices – SetCharacteristicNotification – OnCharacteristicRead, OnCharacteristicReadRequest – OnCharacteristicWrite, OnCharacteristicWriteRequest – OnReadRSSI
  8. 8. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES BluetoothLE GATT-based Profile Hierarchy • Generic Attribute Profile (GATT) – Services are collections of characteristics and relationships to other services that encapsulate the behavior of part of a device – https://developer.bluetooth.org/gatt/Pages /GATT-Specification-Documents.aspx • If device is not GATT – Try using discovery – Contact the device manufacturer
  9. 9. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Bluetooth support in XE7 DEMONSTRATIONS APP TETHERING, HEART RATE
  10. 10. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Bluetooth Resources • Bluetooth samples that are included in XE7 – C++ • C:UsersPublicDocumentsEmbarcaderoStudio15.0SamplesCPPMobile SamplesDevice Sensors and ServicesBluetooth • C:UsersPublicDocumentsEmbarcaderoStudio15.0SamplesCPPRTLTethering – Object Pascal • C:UsersPublicDocumentsEmbarcaderoStudio15.0SamplesObject PascalMobile SamplesDevice Sensors and ServicesBluetooth • C:UsersPublicDocumentsEmbarcaderoStudio15.0SamplesObject PascalRTLTethering • Bluetooth and App Tethering – http://docwiki.embarcadero.com/RADStudio/XE7/en/Using_Bluetooth – http://docwiki.embarcadero.com/RADStudio/XE7/en/Using_Classic_Bluetooth – http://docwiki.embarcadero.com/RADStudio/XE7/en/Using_App_Tethering • Bluetooth.org – https://developer.bluetooth.org/ – https://developer.bluetooth.org/TechnologyOverview/Pages/BLE.aspx – https://developer.bluetooth.org/TechnologyOverview/Pages/GATT.aspx – https://developer.bluetooth.org/gatt/Pages/GATT-Specification-Documents.aspx Download a free trial – NOW! http://embt.co/trialdownloads
  11. 11. EMBARCADERO TECHNOLOGIES Next Time…. • Aspect-oriented Programming using DSharp with Nick Hodges • “Coding in Delphi” - https://leanpub.com/codingindelphi • Tuesday the 23rd of September – 6AM San Francisco / 9AM New York / 2PM London / 3PM Milan – 11AM San Francisco / 2PM New York / 7PM London / 8PM Milan – 5PM San Francisco / Fri 9AM Tokyo / Fri 10AM Sydney See the full schedule - http://embt.co/Sprints14 Download your free trial now! - http://embt.co/trialdownloads
  12. 12. EEMMBBAARRCCAADDEERROO T TEECCHHNNOOLLOOGGIEIESS Q & A @EmbarcaderoTech Download your free trial now! http://embt.co/trialdownloads

Editor's Notes

  • Few Slides, more demos
    Include links on the reference slide
  • Specifiy the samples used
    Add in links to Code Central for the code and DocWiki for the Tutorials (Appmethod / RAD Studio)

×