Successfully reported this slideshow.

LESSON //Sea animals


Published on

Sea animals

Published in: Technology, Education
  • Be the first to comment

LESSON //Sea animals

  1. 1. Sea animals
  2. 2. Sea animals Dolphin The Octopus Seahorses A pelican The Killer Whale Sharks Sea stars shells
  3. 3. <ul><li>Sharks ( superorder Selachimorpha ) are a type of fish with a full cartilaginous skeleton and a highly streamlined body . They respire with the use of five to seven gill slits . Sharks have a covering of dermal denticles that protect their skin from damage and parasites and improve fluid dynamics . They have several sets of replaceable teethSharks range in size from the small dwarf lanternshark , Etmopterus perryi , a deep sea species of only 17 centimetres ( 7 in ) in length, to the whale shark , Rhincodon typus , the largest fish, which grows to a length of approximately 12 metres ( 39 ft ) and which feeds only on plankton , squid , and small fish through filter feeding . </li></ul>Sharks
  4. 4. Dolphin <ul><li>Dolphins are marine mammals that are closely related to whales and porpoises. There are almost forty species of dolphin in seventeen genera. They vary in size from 1.2 m (4 ft) and 40 kg (90 lb) (Maui's Dolphin), up to 9.5 m (30 ft) and 10 tonnes (9.8 LT; 11 ST) (the Orca or Killer Whale). They are found worldwide, mostly in the shallower seas of the continental shelves, and are carnivores, mostly eating fish and squid. The family Delphinidae is the largest in the Cetacea, and relatively recent: dolphins evolved about ten million years ago, during the Miocene. Dolphins are considered to be amongst the most intelligent of animals and their often friendly appearance and seemingly playful attitude have made them popular in human culture </li></ul>
  5. 5. The Octopus <ul><li>The Octopus: The word octopus means &quot;eight feet.&quot; Octopuses are solitary, eight-armed animals that live on the ocean floor. There are over 100 different species of octopuses. The Giant Octopus is the biggest octopus. This huge mollusk is up to 23 ft (7 m) from arm tip to arm tip, weighing up to 400 pounds (182 kg). The smallest is the Californian octopus, which is only 3/8 inch (1 cm) long. </li></ul>
  6. 6. Seahorses <ul><li>are a genus (Hippocampus) of fish belonging to the family Syngnathidae, which also includes pipefish and leafy sea dragons. There are over 32 species of seahorse, mainly found in shallow tropical and temperate waters throughout the world. They prefer to live in sheltered areas such as sea grass beds, coral reefs, or mangroves. Colonies have been found in European waters such as the Thames Estuary.[2] From North America down to South America there are approximately four species, ranging from very small in size (dwarf seahorses are only about an inch long) to those much larger, found off the Pacific Coast of Central America (the foot-long Hippocampus ingens). Hippocampus erectus are larger seahorses found anywhere from Nova Scotia down to around Uruguay. These fish form territories, with males staying in about one square meter of their habitat while females range about one hundred times that area. They bob around in sea grass meadows, mangrove stands, and coral reefs where they are camouflaged by murky brown and grey patterns that blend into the sea grass backgrounds. During social moments or in unusual surroundings, seahorses turn bright colors. </li></ul>
  7. 7. Sea stars <ul><li>, also known as starfish, are echinoderms belonging to the class Asteroidea[2]. The names &quot;sea star&quot; and &quot;starfish&quot; are sometimes differentiated,[3] with &quot;starfish&quot; used in a broader sense to include the closely related brittle stars, which make up the class Ophiuroidea, as well as excluding sea stars which do not have five arms, such as the sun stars and cushion stars. </li></ul><ul><li>Sea stars exhibit a superficially radial symmetry. They typically have five &quot;arms&quot; which radiate from a central disk (pentaradial symmetry). However, the evolutionary ancestors of echinoderms are believed to have had bilateral symmetry. Sea stars do exhibit some superficial remnant of this body structure, evident in their larval pluteus forms.[ </li></ul>
  8. 8. shells <ul><li>In computing, a shell is a piece of software that provides an interface for users. Typically, the term refers to an operating system shell which provides access to the services of a kernel. However, the term is also applied very loosely to applications and may include any software that is &quot;built around&quot; a particular component, such as web browsers and email clients that are &quot;shells&quot; for HTML rendering engines. The name 'shell' originates from shells being an outer layer of interface between the user and the innards of the operating system (the kernel). </li></ul><ul><li>Operating system shells generally fall into one of two categories: command line and graphical. Command line shells provide a command line interface (CLI) to the operating system, while graphical shells provide a graphical user interface (GUI). In either category the primary purpose of the shell is to invoke or &quot;launch&quot; another program; however, shells frequently have additional capabilities such as viewing the contents of directories. </li></ul>
  9. 9. The Killer Whale <ul><li>or Orca (Orcinus orca), less commonly, Blackfish or Seawolf, is the largest species of the dolphin family. It is found in all the world's oceans, from the frigid Arctic and Antarctic regions to warm, tropical seas. Killer Whales are versatile and opportunistic predators. Some populations feed mostly on fish, and other populations hunt marine mammals, including sea lions, seals, walruses and even large whales. They are considered the apex predator of the marine world. There are up to five distinct Killer Whale types, some of which may be separate races, subspecies or even species. Killer Whales are highly social; some populations are composed of matrilineal family groups, which are the most stable of any animal species.[3] The sophisticated social behavior, hunting techniques, and vocal behavior of Killer Whales have been described as manifestations of culture </li></ul>
  10. 10. A pelican <ul><li>is a large water bird with a distinctive pouch under the beak, belonging to the bird family Pelecanidae. </li></ul><ul><li>Along with the darters, cormorants, gannets, boobies, frigatebirds, and tropicbirds, pelicans make up the order Pelecaniformes. Modern pelicans are found on all continents except Antarctica. They occur mostly in warm regions, though breeding ranges reach 45° south (Australian Pelican, P. conspicillatus) and 60° North (American White Pelicans, P. erythrorhynchos, in western Canada).[1] Birds of inland and coastal waters, they are absent from polar regions, the deep ocean, oceanic islands, and inland South America </li></ul>