Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

WordPress media library - Going Outside the Instructionsmedia library

421 views

Published on

My WordPress Orando 2016 talk.

Published in: Internet
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

WordPress media library - Going Outside the Instructionsmedia library

  1. 1. WordPress Media Library Going Outside the Instructions By James Tryon
  2. 2. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com INTRODUCTION
  3. 3. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com DISCLAIMER
  4. 4. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Disclamers Don’t use all of the following plugins at once. There is no affiliate links in my talk. Some plugins come Recommended, but not tested.
  5. 5. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com THEME SETUP
  6. 6. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Simple Image Sizes https://wordpress.org/plugins/simple-image-sizes/ Creating New Preset Image sizes. Keep things consistent.
  7. 7. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Display All Image Sizes https://wordpress.org/plugins/display-all-image-sizes This is cool but not needs for most projects.
  8. 8. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com CodePress Admin Columns https://wordpress.org/plugins/codepress-admin-columns/
  9. 9. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com FILE TYPES
  10. 10. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com WP Extra File Type https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-extra-file-types/
  11. 11. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com PROCESS
  12. 12. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Edit flow https://wordpress.org/plugins/edit-flow Define the key stages to your workflow. Threaded commenting in the admin. Forces you to think about Images and SEO.
  13. 13. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com REBUILDING
  14. 14. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Media From FTP https://wordpress.org/plugins/media-from-ftp
  15. 15. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Ajax Thumbnail Rebuild https://wordpress.org/plugins/ajax-thumbnail-rebuild/
  16. 16. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Regenerate Thumbnails https://wordpress.org/plugins/regenerate- thumbnails/
  17. 17. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com SWAPPING/UPDATING
  18. 18. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Enable Media Replace https://wordpress.org/plugins/enable-media-replace/ Automatically swaps No need to check all old posts. Same name or new name.
  19. 19. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com CREATING MEDIA
  20. 20. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Canva https://canva.com/ & https://about.canva.com/iphone/ App, not a plugin Used for image creation and optimization. Great for on the go editing
  21. 21. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com FINDING MEDIA
  22. 22. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Flickr - Pick a Picture https://wordpress.org/plugins/flickr-pick-a-picture/ Has not been updated in 2 years. It added artist credit to the caption.
  23. 23. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Pixabay Images https://wordpress.org/plugins/pixabay-images/
  24. 24. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com ImageInject https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-inject/
  25. 25. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Unsplash https://unsplash.com/ Not a Plugin. Great free artsy stock photos.
  26. 26. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com OPTIMIZING MEDIA
  27. 27. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com ImageOptim https://imageoptim.com/mac App for Mac, not a plugin. Don’t use on images for geolocation.
  28. 28. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Tinypng https://tinypng.com/ Free Web tool, not a plugin. Don’t use on images for geolocation.
  29. 29. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Imagify (WP Rocket) https://imagify.io/ Starts at $5/month Web Service, not a plugin. Fantastic image compression.
  30. 30. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Kraken.io https://kraken.io/ Starts at $5/month Web Service, not a plugin. Fantastic image compression.
  31. 31. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Imsanity https://en-ca.wordpress.org/plugins/imsanity/ Plugin Automatically resizes huge images on upload.
  32. 32. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Disclaimer: Image Optimization • Do not do this if you using the meta data for mapping or geolocation. • This will sometimes also mess up edibility in photoshop or other programs.
  33. 33. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Enhanced Media Library https://wordpress.org/plugins/enhanced-media- library Basic is free, paid is $25. Bulk edit bought. Unlimited sites.
  34. 34. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Simple Image Widget https://en-ca.wordpress.org/plugins/simple-image-widget/
  35. 35. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com PDF Embedder https://wordpress.org/plugins/pdf-embedder/
  36. 36. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Embed Any Document https://en-ca.wordpress.org/plugins/embed-any- document/
  37. 37. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com ORGANIZING MEDIA
  38. 38. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com WP Media Categories https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-media-categories/ Simpler than the above but does way less. Made by JJJ
  39. 39. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com My eyes are up here https://wordpress.org/plugins/my-eyes-are-up-here/ Lets you re-corp images with a different focal point.
  40. 40. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com SEO & Accessibility Alt Tags, Descriptions, captions, Renaming Images
  41. 41. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Video Thumbnails https://en-ca.wordpress.org/plugins/video-thumbnails/ Setting Thumbnails for Video.
  42. 42. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com – Bridget Willard @YouTooCanBeGuru “Do the Work!”
  43. 43. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com PERFORMANCE
  44. 44. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Photon https://jetpack.com/support/photon/
  45. 45. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Cloudflare https://www.cloudflare.com/
  46. 46. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com MaxCDN https://www.maxcdn.com/
  47. 47. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com WP Rocket https://wp-rocket.me/
  48. 48. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com SUCURI https://sucuri.net/ Their firewall will act like a CDN
  49. 49. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com WP Offload S3 https://deliciousbrains.com/wp-offload-s3/ https://deliciousbrains.com/shouldnt-serve-assets-s3/
  50. 50. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com EXTRAS
  51. 51. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Extras https://wpvulndb.com/plugins Kevin Hoffman - http://wordpress.tv/2016/10/08/kevin-hoffman- demystifying-responsive-images-in-wordpress/
  52. 52. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com CREDITS
  53. 53. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Credits WPblab 050 - Customizing the WordPress Media LibraryWPblab 051 http://www.wpwatercooler.com/video/wpblab-050-customizing-wordpress- media-library/ Jason Tucker - WPwatercooler @jasontucker Bridget Willard - @YouTooCanBeGuru Rachelle Wise - @WiseArts Jonathan Perlman - @jpurpleman Cheryl LaPrade - @YayCheryl Sherie LaPrade - @HeySherie Adam Thomson - @actually_a_bear Emanuel Costa - @emanweb
  54. 54. @JamesTryon - EasilyAmusedInc.com Thank You James Tryon @JamesTryon james@easilyamusedinc.com easilyamusedinc.com @EasilyAmused wapu.us @wapuus

×