Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Serverless Toronto post "AWS Toronto Summit" meetup notes

115 views

Published on

Toronto Serverless, Cloud Native, Docker, DevOps & Ruby communities were lucky to have a special guest Tung Nguyen visiting us! Tung is a presenter at AWS Global Summits 2018, founder of BoltOps, organizer for "San Francisco DevOps for Startups" meetups, and one of the most well-rounded IT professionals we've had the pleasure to meet. He went from being a Keynote speaker at DockerCon 2014, through being AWS Container Hero, teaching ECS and Fargate, to creating Serverless Ruby framework for AWS RubyOnJets.com.

The technologies vary, but the common theme is “Tung makes what was complex simple” - which is perfectly aligned with our slogan: "Serverless is less IT mess".

Tung was answering questions the about the future of Cloud Native Computing, Containers, FaaS & BaaS, and he showed us how to create Serverless applications with Ruby using a tool called Jets. We learned a bit about how AWS Lambda works under the hood & saw how Ruby Support was added to AWS with essentially native performance.

Published in: Software
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Serverless Toronto post "AWS Toronto Summit" meetup notes

  1. 1. AWS Summit Toronto Recap with Tung Nguyen Sep 21, 2018
  2. 2. Friday September 21, 2018 Meetup Agenda 1. Intro & Announcements 2. Stand Up Introductions 3. Presentater Tung Nguyen: Jets, Serverless Ruby Framework + AWS Summit Q&A 4. Networking 2
  3. 3. Meetup Organizers & Sponsors ● ecobee - Making living more comfortable with simply designed smart home devices ● Manning Publications - real time publishing (MEAP) ● BoltOps.com – all AWS all the time ● Serverless.com - Leading Serverless Application Framework ● Daniel ZivKovic - Cloud Solutions Architect, TriNimbus an Onica company 3
  4. 4. Manning Publications Giveaways 1. Serverless Applications with Node.js - Slobodan Stojanović & Aleksandar Simović www.manning.com/books/serverless-applications-with-nodejs 2. Production-Ready Serverless - Yan Cui www.manning.com/livevideo/production- ready-serverless 3. Serverless Applications with AWS - Marcia Villalba www.manning.com/livevideo/serverless-applications-with-AWS 4. Serverless Architectures on AWS, 2nd Ed - Peter Sbarski www.manning.com/books/serverless-architectures-on-aws 5. Voice Applications for Alexa and Google Assistant - Dustin Coates www.manning.com/books/voice-applications-for-alexa-and-google-assistant 6. The Quick Python Book, Third Edition - Naomi Ceder www.manning.com/books/the-quick-python-book-third-edition 7. Google Cloud Platform in Action - JJ Geewax [PRINT] https://www.manning.com/books/google-cloud-platform-in-action 4
  5. 5. AWS Toronto Summit, September 20 2018 5 << Crowd
  6. 6. The future of Cloud Native Computing 6 << Opinion
  7. 7. The future of Cloud Native Computing… 7 << Facts
  8. 8. because Serverless is “Less IT Mess” 8 Slides from tonight @ http://bit.ly/2OFrngZ
  9. 9. For details & to RSVP visit our Meetup page Upcoming Event Startups + Serverless = Match made in Heaven October 30, 2018 Venue: MyPlanet 6pm – 8:30pm 9
  10. 10. 5 Second Introduction 10

×