Welcome andrew velleman 7 august 2013 - final 3


Published on

Published in: Business, Travel
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Welcome andrew velleman 7 august 2013 - final 3

  1. 1. WELCOME TO THE DURBAN AUTOMOTIVE CLUSTER INDABA 2013 By: Andrew Velleman DAC Chairman General Manager Global Trade & Logistics, Strategy & New Business Development Toyota Tsusho Africa 7th August 2013
  2. 2. Benchmarking and Manufacturing Analysts SA (Pty) Ltd owns all rights, including those in copyright in the content of this document, unless explicitly stated. You are hereby authorised to make internal use of this document by Benchmarking & Manufacturing Analysts SA (Pty). Findings, conclusions and recommendations are based on information and sources believed to be accurate and reliable at the time of publication. The publisher makes no representation or warranty of any kind as to the accuracy of any information provided, and accepts no liability whatsoever for any loss or damage resulting from opinion, errors, inaccuracies or omissions affecting any part of the content. © 2013 Benchmarking and Manufacturing Analysts SA (Pty) Ltd Copyright and Disclaimer
  3. 3. Welcome • Guest Speakers: • Deputy Mayor Cllr. Nomvuzo Shabalala (Deputy Mayor, eThekwini Municipality) – Clustering for Success • Nigel Ward (Senior Vice President: Manufacturing Support Group) • Prof. Justin Barnes (Chairman, B&M Analysts) – Manufacturing Practices in Thailand – Findings from Study Tour to Thailand 2013 • Special Guests • Representatives of member firms, representatives from strategic partners, ladies and gentlemen
  4. 4. About the Durban Automotive Cluster • The DAC is a well-established and mature public-private partnership (PPP) between the eThekwini Municipality and the automotive manufacturing sector in KZN. Overview • Promote the growth and competitiveness of the KZN automotive manufacturing sector. Vision • Industry Manufacturing Value Added growth of 100% in real terms between 2007 and 2020. Objective • 40 members, 90% of automotive manufacturing sector in KZNMembership • Established in 2002Establishment • Market access & technology, infrastructure & materials, skills development, Manufacturing Excellence Focus areas
  5. 5. DAC Strategic Priorities Cost competitiveness Access to increased scale of production Access to product & process technology Competitive operating efficiencies Competitive skills Enabling infrastructure Growth in MVA Competitively priced input materials
  6. 6. Cluster Programmes • Each of these strategic priorities has dedicated programmes with activities designed to achieve the programmes’ objectives. The programmes of the DAC are therefore as follows: 1. Manufacturing Excellence 2. Market Access 3. Infrastructure and Materials 4. Skills Development • Each of these programmes is governed by a Technical Steering Committee (TSC) comprising industry representatives. The TSC’s direct the activities of the programmes in line with industry needs.
  7. 7. DAC Organogram Executive Committee Market & Technology Access Manufacturing Excellence Skills Development Infrastructure & Materials External Affairs
  8. 8. DAC Indaba 2013
  9. 9. Thank You – Executive Committee 2012 Z.amo Xaba HR Director Kaymac Group Chairman of Executive Committee Chairperson of Skills Development TSC Andrew Turner Managing Director Ramsay Engineering Deputy Chairman of Executive Committee Chairperson of Localisation TSC Andrew Velleman General Manager Toyota Tsusho Africa Chairman of Infrastructure TSC Dolly Msomi Group HR Manager Feltex Automotive Division Chairman of Transformation TSC Alex Holmes Commercial Director Behr South Africa Chairman of Growth TSC Bruce Muggeridge General Manager Feltex Fehrer Chairman of Manufacturing Excellence TSC Selvan Tulsiram Head Economic Development eThekwini Municipality eThekwini Municipality Representative Steve van der Ham Department Manager Toyota Boshoku South Africa Nominated Toyota SA Motors Representative Ted Waldburger Director Behr South Africa Nominated Industry Representative Sarv Pillay Manager: Supplier Development Toyota South Africa Motors Nominated Toyota SA Motors Representative Theunis Rootman General Manager: Purchasing Toyota South Africa Motors Nominated Toyota SA Motors Representative Douglas Comrie Managing Director B&M Analysts Non-Voting Chief Facilitator Michele Arde Executive B&M Analysts Non-Voting Facilitator Prof Justin Barnes Chairman B&M Analysts Non-Voting Facilitator
  10. 10. Thank You to Indaba Funders Members