Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Arsenal f


Published on

Published in: Sports, News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

Arsenal f

  2. 3. Arsenal Football Club is an English professional football club in North London that plays in the Premier League. One of the most successful clubs in English football, they have won 13 First Division and Premier League titles and 10 FA Cups. They hold the record for the longest uninterrupted period in the English top flight and are the only side to have completed a Premier League season unbeaten. Arsenal was founded in 1886 in Woolwich and in 1893 became the first club from the south of England to join the Football League. In 1913, they moved north across the city to Arsenal Stadium in Highbury. In the 1930s they won five League Championship titles and two FA Cups. After a lean period in the post-war years they won the League and FA Cup Double, in the 1970–71 season, and in the 1990s and first decade of the 21st century won two more Doubles and reached the 2006 UEFA Champions League Final. Arsenal have a long-standing rivalry with neighbours Tottenham Hotspur, with whom they regularly contest the North London derby. Arsenal are also the third most valuable Association football club in the world as of 2010, valued at $1.2 billion HISTORY
  3. 4. COLOURS For much of Arsenal's history, their home colours have been bright red shirts with white sleeves and white shorts, though this has not always been the case. The choice of red is in recognition of a charitable donation from Nottingham Forest, soon after Arsenal's foundation in 1886. Two of Dial Square's founding members, Fred Beardsley and Morris Bates, were former Forest players who had moved to Woolwich for work. As they put together the first team in the area, no kit could be found, so Beardsley and Bates wrote home for help and received a set of kit and a ball. The shirt was redcurrant, a dark shade of red, and was worn with white shorts and blue socks.
  4. 5. STADIUM For most of their time in south-east London, Arsenal played at the Manor Ground in Plumstead, apart from a three-year period at the nearby Invicta Ground between 1890 and 1893. The Manor Ground was initially just a field, until the club installed stands and terracing for their first Football League match in September 1893. They played their home games there for the next twenty years (with two exceptions in the 1894–95 season), until the move to north London in 1913 . Widely referred to as Highbury, Arsenal Stadium was the club's home from September 1913 until May 2006. The original stadium was designed by the renowned football architect Archibald Leitch .
  5. 6. <ul><li>After considering various options, in 2000 Arsenal proposed building a new 60,355-capacity stadium at Ashburton Grove, since renamed the Emirates Stadium , about 500 metres south-west of HighburyThe project was initially delayed by red tape and rising costsand construction was completed in July 2006, in time for the start of the 2006–07 season . The stadium was named after its sponsors, the airline company Emirates , with whom the club signed the largest sponsorship deal in English football history </li></ul>
  6. 7. Players <ul><li>First-team squad </li></ul>1 GK Manuel Almunia 2 MF Abou Diaby 3 DF Bacary Sagna 4 M F Cesc Fabregas ( captain ) 5 DF Thomas Vermelen 6 DF Laurent Koscielny 7 MF Tomas Rosicky 8 MF Samir Nasri 10 FW Robin van Pers ie 11 FW Carlo s Vela 14 FW Theo Walcott 15 MF Denílson 16 MF Aar on Ramsey 17 MF Alex Song 18 DF Sébastien Squillaci 19 MF Jack Wilshere 20 DF Johan Djourou 21 GK Łukasz Fabiański 22 DF Gaël Clichy 23 MF Andrei Arshavin 24 GK Vito Mannone 27 MF Emmanuel Eboué 28 DF Kieran Gibbs 29 FW Marouane Chamakh 52 FW Nicklas Bendtner 53 GK Wojciech Szczęsny
  7. 8. Reserve squad <ul><li>PositionPlayer : </li></ul><ul><li>34 MF Chuks Aneke </li></ul><ul><li>35 MF Emmanuel Frimpong </li></ul><ul><li>37 DF Daniel Boateng </li></ul><ul><li>39 FW Roarie Deacon </li></ul><ul><li>40 DF Craig Eastmond </li></ul><ul><li>41 MF Jay Emmanuel-Thomas </li></ul><ul><li>44 MF Conor Henderson </li></ul><ul><li>48 DF Ignasi Miquel </li></ul><ul><li>4 9 FW Rhys Murphy </li></ul><ul><li>55 GK James Shea </li></ul><ul><li>57 FW Gilles Sunu </li></ul><ul><li>58 DF Nicholas Yennaris </li></ul>
  8. 9. MANAGER <ul><li>P ositionName </li></ul><ul><li>Manager : ArsèneWenger </li></ul><ul><li>Assistant manager : Pat Rice </li></ul><ul><li>First team coach : Boro Primorac </li></ul><ul><li>Reserve team coach : Neil Banfield </li></ul><ul><li>Youth team coach : Steve Bould </li></ul><ul><li>Goalkeeping coach : Gerry Peyton </li></ul><ul><li>Fitness coach : Tony Colbert </li></ul><ul><li>Physiotherapist : Colin Lewin </li></ul><ul><li>Club doctor : Gary O'Driscoll </li></ul><ul><li>Kit manager : Vic Akers </li></ul><ul><li>Chief scout : Steve Rowley </li></ul><ul><li>Head of youth development : Liam Brady </li></ul>
  9. 10. Honours <ul><li>Domestic </li></ul><ul><ul><li>First Division (until 1992) and Premier League </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Winners (13) : 1930–31, 1932–33, 1933–34, 1934–35, 1937–38, 1947–48, 1952–53, 1970–71, 1988–89, 1990–91, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2003–04 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (8): 1925–26, 1931–32, 1972–73, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–0 1, </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>2002–03, 2004–05 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Second Division </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (1): 1903–04 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>FA Cup </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Winners (10) : 1930, 1936, 1950, 1971, 1979, 1993, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2005 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (7): 1927, 1932, 1952, 1972, 1978, 1980, 2001 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>League Cup </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Winners (2) : 1987, 1993 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (4): 1968, 1969, 1988, 2007 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>FA Community Shield (FA Charity Shield before 2002) </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Winners (12) : 1930 , 1931, 1933 , 1934 , 1938 , 1948, 1953 , 1991 (shared), 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (7): 1935 , 1936 , 1970 ,1989, 1993, 2003, 2005 </li></ul></ul>
  10. 11. <ul><li>European </li></ul><ul><ul><li>UEFA Champions League </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (1): 2006 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>European Cup Winners' Cup </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Winners (1) : 1994 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (2): 1980, 1995 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Inter-Cities Fairs Cup </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Winners (1) : 1970 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>UEFA Cup </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (1): 2000 </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>UEFA Super Cup </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Runners-up (1): 1994 </li></ul></ul>
  11. 12. <ul><li>Arsenal's tally of thirteen League Championships is the third highest in English football, after Liverpool and Manchester United, while the total of ten FA Cups is the second highest, after Manchester United . Arsenal have achieved three League and FA Cup &quot;Doubles&quot; (in 1971, 1998 and 2002), a record shared with Manchester United,and in 1993 were the first side in English football to complete the FA Cup and League Cup double.They were also the first London club to reach the final of the UEFA Champions League, in 2006. </li></ul><ul><li>Arsenal have one of the best top-flight records in history, having finished below fourteenth only seven times. Arsenal also have the highest average league finishing position for the period 1900–1999, with an average league placing of 8.5 . In addition, they are one of only six clubs to have won the FA Cup twice in succession, in 2002 and 2003. </li></ul><ul><li> </li></ul>
  12. 13. VICKY ZIAKA !!!