How to Create Amazon Advertising Campaigns Without Targeting Any Keywords

Daytodayebay
DaytodayebayAmazon Consultant at Daytodayebay
How to create Amazon
Advertising campaigns without
targeting any keywords
Prabhat Shah // Daytodayebay
https://www.slideshare.net/daytodayebay
@daytodayebay
It is about time invest more of
our time on Amazon
Advertising alongside Google!
WHY?
⅔ of US
shoppers
typically start
their search for
new products
on Amazon
Some clients who sell products on
Amazon are moving between 50 & 60 %
of their allocated Google search ad
dollars specifically to Amazon. The shift
amounts to hundreds of millions of
dollars a year, he noted.
Amazon isn’t taking over the online
advertising business today.
And it likely won’t take over the online
advertising business in the next 4-5
years, either.
It is however, playing an increasingly
important role in the lives of consumers,
and companies that operate within
specific verticals and in the e-commerce
space.
For those companies, ignoring Amazon’s
advertising potential and the potential
impact it can have on their business
would be short-sighted.
Just a quick intro…..
✔️ Working with Amazon Sellers since 2007.
✔️ Currently working with Amazon consultancy with a 5
members of our UK team.
In the next 15 mins I will be sharing my Amazon
Advertising experience, I learnt over the past few years.
This talk is all about creating
a successful Amazon Ads
without Keywords!
Let’s start with a quick intro
to different types of Amazon
Ads
Sponsored Brands Ads
(SBAs)
Formerly known as headline search ads – these
ads are displayed above the search results
Sponsored Product Ads
(SPAs)
These are displayed at the top of bottom of a
search results page – and you may not realise
but they can also be displayed on a product
page.
Product Display Ads (PDAs)
This ad type targets and is displayed on a set of
products based on your targets.
This enables you to create cross sell or upsell
opportunities on your own product pages, steal
sales from a competitor or position your
products with complementary items.
Most of the Amazon
Advertising works like
Google Ads in general
based on keywords.
With an exception of
Amazon’s
Product Target and
Category Target Ads
What is Product
Targeting?
This is new to most advertisers and is geared
towards targeting any products on Amazon.
Your product is displayed at the bottom of a
targeted product detail page under “Sponsored
products related to this item or just below the
key features” product as seen in picture below.
Position #1 Sponsored products
related
Position #2 Below key features
How to Create Product Target Ads?
Suggested – based on your product
content
Search –by ASIN or keywords to add
Entire List – Add list of ASINS
3 Strategies you can use
#1 Target competitor products with your best sellers
or entry level products
#2 Complement similar products often sold with
yours or bought by the same audience
#3 Block with your own products by cross selling
or upselling products
These are created with product targeted ads and
target shoppers in a certain category. Displaying your
product at the bottom of product detail page under
“Sponsored products related to this item” as seen in
the picture below.
What is Category
Targeting?
How to create category target ads?
Target suggested category and
relevant categories.
Use search function to find other
categories.
2 Strategies you can use
#1 Target specific sub-product category
#2 Target root product category
Optimising Product &
Category Target Ads
How to Optimise Product Target
Ads?
Start with your search term report
Optimise Product Target Ads
#1 Remove non converting ASINs
Optimise Product Target Ads
#2 Lower bids for high ACOS /profitable targets
Advertising Cost of Sales
(ACoS)
ACOS = total ad spend / total ad sales x 100.
For example, if you spent £2 on advertising and
those ads resulted in sales of £20, your ACOS
would be 10%.
Optimise Product Target Ads
#3 Keep bidding higher for lower ACOS /profitable
targets
Optimise Product Target Ads
#4 If you are in customer acquisition stage it makes
sense to keep bidding for targets generating sales
irrespective of higher Cost of Sales.
How to optimise Category target
ads?
Get search term report
Optimise Category target Ads
#1 Add non-converting ASINS as negative
(shown in search term report with ASINS)
Optimise Category target Ads
#2 Remove category if they are not performing well
Optimise Category target Ads
#3 Keep bidding higher for lower ACOS /profitable
targets
Optimise Category target Ads
#4 If you are in customer acquisition stage it makes
sense to keep bidding in categories generating sales
irrespective of higher Cost of Sales.
Let’s see how Product
and Category Target
Play Role in your
Advertising Strategies
Defensive Strategy - Product Target
Target own product ASIN's so customer sees our
other products when they are on our page.
7 K sales targeting own
products
Gain Market Share - Product Target
Target competitor ASINs aiming to get sales via
their product pages.
Increase Market Share - Category Target
Specific/ sub-category targeting customers
shopping in a relevant category.
Increase Market Share - Category Target
Target root category aiming to gain new customers.
Increase Market Share - Category Target
Target Related product category.
Product Vs Category
Target
Category
Target
Product
Target
Advertising Cost of Sale ( ACoS) IS HIGHER THAN
Category
Target
Product
Target
Impressions (p/m)Higher than
Category
Target
Product
Target
Sales (p/m) Higher than
Target (
£3.9:1)
Product
Target
( £4:1)
Return on Ads Spend LOWER THAN
So, let conclude.
Work with product and category target ads
alongside your keywords target ads
In this example additional 13 k sales was raised
in 6 months
ACoS can be lower like keywords targeted ads.
In this example lowest ACoS is 8.58%
If keyword target ads are not
generating good sales or no
sales, it may be the right time
to experiment
product/category target ads
If you are working with non-English Amazon platform and
lack language skills, product and category target ads acts
as a less barrier.
Also, category and product target ads generate additional
sales alongside your keywords targeted ads.
CATEGORY
PRODUCT
KEYWORDS
AUTOMATED
Any questions?
Checkout our full day
Amazon Advertising and SEO
training on April 2020
http://bit.ly/brightonseo101
How to Create Amazon Advertising Campaigns Without Targeting Any Keywords
How to Create Amazon Advertising Campaigns Without Targeting Any Keywords
Prabhat Shah
DAYTODAYEBAY
How to create Amazon Advertising campaigns
without targeting any keywords
@daytodayebay
www.daytodayebay.co.uk
1 of 61

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How to Create Amazon Advertising Campaigns Without Targeting Any Keywords

  • 1. How to create Amazon Advertising campaigns without targeting any keywords Prabhat Shah // Daytodayebay https://www.slideshare.net/daytodayebay @daytodayebay
  • 2. It is about time invest more of our time on Amazon Advertising alongside Google! WHY?
  • 3. ⅔ of US shoppers typically start their search for new products on Amazon
  • 4. Some clients who sell products on Amazon are moving between 50 & 60 % of their allocated Google search ad dollars specifically to Amazon. The shift amounts to hundreds of millions of dollars a year, he noted.
  • 5. Amazon isn’t taking over the online advertising business today. And it likely won’t take over the online advertising business in the next 4-5 years, either.
  • 6. It is however, playing an increasingly important role in the lives of consumers, and companies that operate within specific verticals and in the e-commerce space.
  • 7. For those companies, ignoring Amazon’s advertising potential and the potential impact it can have on their business would be short-sighted.
  • 8. Just a quick intro….. ✔️ Working with Amazon Sellers since 2007. ✔️ Currently working with Amazon consultancy with a 5 members of our UK team. In the next 15 mins I will be sharing my Amazon Advertising experience, I learnt over the past few years.
  • 9. This talk is all about creating a successful Amazon Ads without Keywords!
  • 10. Let’s start with a quick intro to different types of Amazon Ads
  • 11. Sponsored Brands Ads (SBAs) Formerly known as headline search ads – these ads are displayed above the search results
  • 12. Sponsored Product Ads (SPAs) These are displayed at the top of bottom of a search results page – and you may not realise but they can also be displayed on a product page.
  • 13. Product Display Ads (PDAs) This ad type targets and is displayed on a set of products based on your targets. This enables you to create cross sell or upsell opportunities on your own product pages, steal sales from a competitor or position your products with complementary items.
  • 14. Most of the Amazon Advertising works like Google Ads in general based on keywords.
  • 15. With an exception of Amazon’s Product Target and Category Target Ads
  • 16. What is Product Targeting? This is new to most advertisers and is geared towards targeting any products on Amazon. Your product is displayed at the bottom of a targeted product detail page under “Sponsored products related to this item or just below the key features” product as seen in picture below.
  • 17. Position #1 Sponsored products related
  • 18. Position #2 Below key features
  • 19. How to Create Product Target Ads? Suggested – based on your product content Search –by ASIN or keywords to add Entire List – Add list of ASINS
  • 20. 3 Strategies you can use #1 Target competitor products with your best sellers or entry level products
  • 21. #2 Complement similar products often sold with yours or bought by the same audience
  • 22. #3 Block with your own products by cross selling or upselling products
  • 23. These are created with product targeted ads and target shoppers in a certain category. Displaying your product at the bottom of product detail page under “Sponsored products related to this item” as seen in the picture below. What is Category Targeting?
  • 24. How to create category target ads? Target suggested category and relevant categories. Use search function to find other categories.
  • 25. 2 Strategies you can use #1 Target specific sub-product category
  • 26. #2 Target root product category
  • 28. How to Optimise Product Target Ads? Start with your search term report
  • 29. Optimise Product Target Ads #1 Remove non converting ASINs
  • 30. Optimise Product Target Ads #2 Lower bids for high ACOS /profitable targets
  • 31. Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS) ACOS = total ad spend / total ad sales x 100. For example, if you spent £2 on advertising and those ads resulted in sales of £20, your ACOS would be 10%.
  • 32. Optimise Product Target Ads #3 Keep bidding higher for lower ACOS /profitable targets
  • 33. Optimise Product Target Ads #4 If you are in customer acquisition stage it makes sense to keep bidding for targets generating sales irrespective of higher Cost of Sales.
  • 34. How to optimise Category target ads? Get search term report
  • 35. Optimise Category target Ads #1 Add non-converting ASINS as negative (shown in search term report with ASINS)
  • 36. Optimise Category target Ads #2 Remove category if they are not performing well
  • 37. Optimise Category target Ads #3 Keep bidding higher for lower ACOS /profitable targets
  • 38. Optimise Category target Ads #4 If you are in customer acquisition stage it makes sense to keep bidding in categories generating sales irrespective of higher Cost of Sales.
  • 39. Let’s see how Product and Category Target Play Role in your Advertising Strategies
  • 40. Defensive Strategy - Product Target Target own product ASIN's so customer sees our other products when they are on our page.
  • 41. 7 K sales targeting own products
  • 42. Gain Market Share - Product Target Target competitor ASINs aiming to get sales via their product pages.
  • 43. Increase Market Share - Category Target Specific/ sub-category targeting customers shopping in a relevant category.
  • 44. Increase Market Share - Category Target Target root category aiming to gain new customers.
  • 45. Increase Market Share - Category Target Target Related product category.
  • 52. Work with product and category target ads alongside your keywords target ads In this example additional 13 k sales was raised in 6 months
  • 53. ACoS can be lower like keywords targeted ads. In this example lowest ACoS is 8.58%
  • 54. If keyword target ads are not generating good sales or no sales, it may be the right time to experiment product/category target ads
  • 55. If you are working with non-English Amazon platform and lack language skills, product and category target ads acts as a less barrier.
  • 56. Also, category and product target ads generate additional sales alongside your keywords targeted ads. CATEGORY PRODUCT KEYWORDS AUTOMATED
  • 58. Checkout our full day Amazon Advertising and SEO training on April 2020 http://bit.ly/brightonseo101
  • 61. Prabhat Shah DAYTODAYEBAY How to create Amazon Advertising campaigns without targeting any keywords @daytodayebay www.daytodayebay.co.uk