Successfully reported this slideshow.

Needs And Wants


Published on

Community and Family studies - HSC course

  • Be the first to comment

Needs And Wants

  1. 1. Needs and Wants Content – (learn about) needs and wants • difference between needs and wants • classifications of needs – primary, secondary – physical, social, emotional, cultural, spiritual ( PECSS ) – Maslow’s hierarchy • satisfying needs and wants Skills – (learn to) compare the effectiveness of Maslow’s heirachy with other classifications listed
  2. 2. Needs <ul><li>Needs are basic requirements of life; things necessary for survival. </li></ul>Eg food, shelter, clothing, love, water .
  3. 3. Wants <ul><li>Wants are things that are desirable but not necessary in order to survive. </li></ul>Eg DVD player, mobile phones, ice cream, brand name clothes
  4. 4. Primary and Secondary Needs <ul><li>Primary needs are biological or physical needs that are essential to life. Eg food, water, clothing and shelter. </li></ul>Secondary needs are wants or acquired needs they are more likely desires. Eg safety, love, respect, creativity
  5. 5. Classifications (PECSS) <ul><li>Physical </li></ul><ul><li>Physical needs for normal growth development and good health include: adequate sleep, regular health care, safety and protection. </li></ul><ul><li>Also special treatment and help for disabilities. </li></ul><ul><li>Includes requirements of air, water and sunshine. </li></ul>Spiritual Moral or religious needs Development of conscience, understanding the difference between wrong and right, beliefs, attitudes Emotional Includes a stable environment, independence, love, affection, security within family and social groups Cultural Development of customs, beliefs, values and traditions within the family unit. Development of roles and responsibilities. Social Interaction, socialisation, companionship and friendship can be fostered. A sense of belonging from family and other groups. Eg. Leisure, recreation and relaxation. Using the information provided, create a mind map that shows the links between each of these classifications and needs / want and well-being.
  6. 6. MASLOW’S HIERARCHY OF NEEDS <ul><li>Developed in 1954 by Abraham Maslow </li></ul><ul><li>Hierarchy ranks needs in order of importance </li></ul><ul><li>Not everything in the hierarchy is necessary for survival </li></ul><ul><li>Needs at the bottom need to be met first </li></ul>There are 5 levels of Maslow’s Hierarchy -Physiological: food water and shelter -Safety: feelings of personal security -Love: social and belonging -Esteem: our self -Self actualization: happy and fulfilled with everything Read page 12 – 13 of CAFS text book Task - Explain the term self-actualisation. Use scaffold provided to help plot your response.