Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Liturgical Calendar


Published on

Learn more about the Liturgical Calendar!

Published in: Spiritual
  • Very helpful information. Thanks
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here

Liturgical Calendar

  1. 1. Liturgical Calendar
  2. 2. • Refers to the calendar of the church’s liturgical celebrations which shows the salvation history brought about by God to humankind through Jesus Christ.
  3. 3. Liturgy • Public worship • Contains memorial, feast and solemnities of the Saints, Mary and Jesus
  4. 4. Liturgical Colors
  5. 5. The Liturgical Seasons •Comprise the church liturgical Calendar –they are the following:
  6. 6. Advent Season • Begins the church liturgical calendar • The time to wait, to hope and to grow • Celebrates Christ’s two – fold coming – Incarnation – Final judgment (Parousia) • Consists of four weeks
  7. 7. Christmas Season • The celebration of Jesus birth • Celebration of the incarnation – God becoming man • Has two focal points – Christmas day to the solemnity of Mary as Mother of God – Epiphany to baptism of the Lord
  8. 8. Lenten Season • The recalling of the suffering or passion of Jesus • Begins with Ash Wednesday and ends on black Saturday • Includes holy week from Palm Sunday to black Saturday
  9. 9. Easter Season (Most Important Season) • Celebrates Jesus resurrection from the death • Covers 50 days between Easter Sunday and Pentecost • On the 40th day, the church celebrates the ascension of Jesus
  10. 10. Ordinary Time • Divided into two group/ parts –Sunday between Epiphany and Ash Wednesday –Sunday between Pentecost and Solemnity of the Christ the King.
  11. 11. Solemnity of the Christ the King • Celebration of the solemnity of the Christ the King • End of the liturgical calendar
  12. 12. Liturgical Calendar Cycle • Cycle A – features the gospel of Matthew for the whole year • Cycle B – features the gospel of Mark for the whole year • Cycle C – features the gospel of Luke for the whole year • Solemnities and special occasions features the gospel of John
  13. 13. Advent • Derived from the Latin word “Adventus” which means coming or arrival, the coming of Christ our savior • It is a time to wait, to hope, and to grow • A season of hope and anticipation
  14. 14. The focus of the Church during Advent Season in Christ’s three fold coming: • Past – We remember the Lord’s humble first coming 2000 years ago. • Present – We give thanks for His presence and continual coming to us through the word and sacraments. • Future – We look forward with the hope and patience to His victorious second coming as judge and king at the end of time.
  15. 15. Signs and Symbols of Advent •  Advent Wreath • A circular evergreen wreath with four candles which symbolizes the four weeks of Advent. –Circular shape • The eternity of God’s love with no beginning and no ending. –Green leaves • Constant and steadfast love of God for us. Hope and renewal –Candle
  16. 16.  Tree of Jesse • Made from branch of any tree or small evergreen • The image of a branch growing out of the root of Jesse to a new King in line of David • It reminds us that our belief grows out of deep roots of thousand years of ancestors in the faith.
  17. 17. •  Bells –Symbol of worship •  Dove –Peace •  Christmas tree –Eternity and endlessness •  Star –Jesus bright and morning star in Bethlehem