Video Games And Higher Order Thinking

1,264 views

Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Video Games And Higher Order Thinking

  1. 1. Using Video Games to Teach Higher Order Thinking Online Games and Simulations Title URL Food Force http://www.food-force.com/ Stop Disasters http://www.stopdisastersgame.org/ Budget Hero http://americanpublicmedia.publicradio.org/engage08/budgethero/ Peacemaker http://www.peacemakergame.com/ Web Rangers http://www.nps.gov/webrangers Dimension Math http://www.dimensionm.com/ Lunar Quest http://www.seriousgamesresearch.com/ Discover Babylon http://www.discoverbabylon.org/ Virtual History: Settling America http://www.knowledgematters.com/ The Forbidden City http://www.beyondspaceandtime.org/ Magic Pen http://magic.pen.fizzlebot.com/ Traveler IQ http://www.travelpod.com/traveler-iq Real Lives http://www.educationalsimulations.com/ Nanoquest http://www.nanoquest.ie/ ElectroCity http://electrocity.co.nz/ Minyanland http://www.minyanland.com/ Third World Farmer http://www.3rdworldfarmer.com/ Team Treks http://www.teamtreks.com/ You Are the Historian http://www.plimoth.org/education/olc/index_js2.html Darfur is Dying http://www.darfurisdying.com/ Crayon Physics http://www.crayonphysics.com/ Free Rice http://www.freerice.com/ The Redistricting Game http://www.redistrictinggame.com/
  2. 2. Books and Web Sites for More Information Don't Bother Me Mom--I'm Learning! by Marc Prensky Paragon House Publishers (March 2006) What Video Games Have to Teach Us About Learning and Literacy by James Paul Gee Palgrave Macmillan; 2nd edition (December, 2007) How Computer Games Help Children Learn by David Williamson Shaffer Palgrave Macmillan (January, 2008) Born Digital: Understanding the First Generation of Digital Natives by John Palfrey Basic Books (August, 2008) Grand Theft Childhood: The Surprising Truth About Violent Video Games and What Parents Can Do by Lawrence Kutner Simon & Schuster (April, 2008) “Reality Bytes: Eight Myths About Video Games Debunked” by Henry Jenkins http://www.pbs.org/kcts/videogamerevolution/impact/myths.html Federation of American Scientists - Summit on Educational Games (2006) http://www.fas.org/gamesummit/ “Games, Motivation, and Learning” - White Paper (PDF) http://caspianlearning.co.uk/Whtp_Games_Motivation_Learning.pdf Marc Prensky’s Web site http://www.marcprensky.com/writing/ Henry Jenkins’ Blog http://henryjenkins.org “You Play World of Warcraft? You're Hired! Why multiplayer games may be the best kind of job training” by John Seely Brown and Douglas Thomas (Wired Magazine, April 2006) http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/14.04/learn.html Arcademic Skill Builders http://www.arcademicskillbuilders.com 4Kids.org http://4kids.org ALTEC http://www.altec.org This Presentation http://www.slideshare.net/dadams.altec My Wiki page http://dadams-altec.wetpaint.com -- Technology Expectations in Education -- Games and Education

×