Self cultural awreness

290 views

Published on

0 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Views
Total views
290
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Self cultural awreness

  1. 1. Self/ Cultural Awereness Jessica Scheidler Emily Silverberg Carlie Schmidt
  2. 2. Jessica Scheidler: 20 Years Old, Female, Caucasian Emily Silverberg: 20 Years Old, Female, Caucasian Carlie Schmidt: 19 Years Old, Female, Caucasian
  3. 3. <ul><li>Jessica - Cincinnati Ohio </li></ul><ul><ul><li>I have lived in the suburb of Cincinnati my entire life and still do. It is made up of mostly white middle class. </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Emily - Arlington, Virginia </li></ul><ul><ul><li>suburb of dc, big community feeling, close knit neighborhoods. upper middle class white people in the immediate community but anywhere outside of northern Arlington has many Hispanics who speak English as a second language   - Lived there my whole life until I came to OU </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Carlie - Cleveland, Ohio (Aurora) </li></ul><ul><ul><li>I have lived in Aurora my entire life until I came to OU. Aurora is a small suburb about 40 minutes outside of cleveland. It is majority white middle to upper class families. </li></ul></ul>
  4. 4. <ul><li>Jessica - Both sides of my family live in Cincinnati, but our ancestors came from Germany, Ireland, and Czechoslovakia. My family came to the United States over three generations ago. </li></ul><ul><li>Emily -My mom grew up in Sacramento, California and my dad grew up in new york city. They have both always lived in the US but my moms ancestors are from Germany and my dads are from Brazil/Hungary if you go back enough generations </li></ul><ul><li>Carlie - Both of my parents are from Cleveland. My moms dads family is from Russia, he was the first one to be born in the states. My moms mom moved here from Argentina. My dads family is from Germany, Poland, and Czechoslovakia. They came to the United States over four generations ago. </li></ul>
  5. 5. <ul><li>Jessica - I have a mom and dad and three baby sisters. Two of my sisters are in high school and my other sister is in first grade. </li></ul><ul><li>Emily - I have my parents and two half siblings from my dads side. a brother who lives in Seattle, Washington with his family and my sister who lives in Potomac, Maryland with her family </li></ul><ul><li>Carlie - I live with my mom and step-dad. I have an older brother and three older step-brothers. I also have a dad and step-mom. </li></ul>
  6. 6. <ul><li>Jessica- My extended family is extremely close to us and we celebrate almost every holiday with them with lots of food. Since my sister is still young we play a lot of games from board games to Wii. My parents are very religious and we have many different prayer activities that come before and during major religious holidays. </li></ul><ul><li>Emily- When I was little we played card games a lot. My dad is really into cooking oriental dishes or other ethnic foods while my mom is really into the typical home cooking food such as mashed potatoes and green beans, etc. My dad listens to classical music and my mom listens to oldies but we have seen a lot of Broadway shows especially while i was younger so we all enjoyed that music together. We don't really have any unique customs. </li></ul><ul><li>Carlie- My family spends time together by playing board games and watching our favorite TV shows. My mom doesn’t do a lot of cooking so on holidays my grandma makes all of our meals. Since I was little every year my mom and I go see a play in Cleveland. I am half Jewish half Catholic so during December we celebrate both holidays. </li></ul>
  7. 7. <ul><li>Jessica- nope </li></ul><ul><li>Emily- nope </li></ul><ul><li>Carlie- Playing board games with my family. </li></ul>Story
  8. 8. <ul><li>Jessica- My grade school and high school was made up of all white middle class so when I came to college I had my first taste of diversity. I went to a school in Kentucky and then here at OU. But I saw the most diversity while working at a local elementary school. </li></ul><ul><li>Emily- My middle school/high school (HB Woodlawn) was the first integrated school in Virginia. HB also offers a HILT program for those who learn English as a second language. Although I graduated with mostly Caucasian classmates, racial diversity was definitely a part of my every day life at home just because of the make up Arlington county and being a suburb of Washington, DC </li></ul><ul><li>Carlie- My school was predominantly Caucasian. I did not have much exposure to diversity until I came to college. </li></ul>

×