Process of elections held in india


Published on

Published in: News & Politics, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Process of elections held in india

  1. 1. Process of elections in India
  2. 2. Electoral Constituencies
  3. 3.  Electoral Constituencies:    India is divided into different areas for the purpose of elections called electoral constituencies The voters who live in a constituency elect one representative. Total constituencies –  General Reserved (SC)  Reserved (ST)  543 – 412 – – 84 47
  4. 4. For Lok Sabha elections the country is divided into 543 constituencies.  Each constituency has roughly equal population living within it.  The member elected from each constituency is called ‘Member of Parliament’ or ‘MP’.  Each state is sub-divided into Assembly constituencies.  The elected representatives are called - ’Members of Legislative Assembly’ or ‘MLA’  Each village or town is sub-divided into ‘wards’.   Thus, each parliamentary constituency has within it several assembly constituencies, within which are several wards.
  5. 5. Electoral Constituencies Reserved Constituencies
  6. 6.  Some constitutions are reserved for people who come from scheduled caste (SC) and scheduled tribe (ST). This applies to ‘Other Backward Classes’ or ‘OBC’ as well.  This is to prevent domination of those with better resources and give a chance to weaker sections of society.  In an SC reserved constituency, only someone from the SC’s can stand for elections.
  7. 7. Chandigarh Constituencies with one MP Sikkim Dadra and Nagar Haveli Nagaland State with largest number of MP’s - 80 Daman and Diu Mizoram Karnataka - 28 Lakshadweep Pondicherry Andaman and Nicobar islands
  8. 8. Voter’s List
  9. 9.  The campaign is the period when the political parties put forward their candidates and arguments with which they hope to persuade people to vote for their candidates and parties.  Candidates are given a week to put forward their nominations.  Polling is normally held on a number of different days in different constituencies, to enable the security forces and those monitoring the election to keep law and order and ensure that voting during the election is fair
  10. 10. Nomination of candidates
  11. 11.     For every constituency, there is a voters list Article 326 of the Constitution, and Sec. 19 of R. P. Act, 1950 stipulate that the minimum age for registration of a voter is 18 years. Earlier, the age for registration of a voter was 21 years. Through the 61st amendment Act, 1988 of the Constitution read with Act 21 of 1989 amending the R. P. Act, 1950, the minimum age of registration of a voter has been brought down to 18 years. This has been made effective from 28th March, 1989. A person who is not a citizen of India cannot be registered as a voter. A person cannot be enrolled as a voter in more than one place in the same constituency or in more than one constituency
  12. 12. Election campaign
  13. 13. Polling and Counting of votes
  14. 14. PRE -ELECTIONS  At first before the elections the dates of nomination, polling and counting takes place.  The model code of conduct comes in force from the day the dates are announced.  The code of conduct stipulates that campaigning be stopped 48 hours prior to polling day.
  15. 15. VOTING DAY Government schools and colleges are chosen as polling stations. The Collector of each district is in charge of polling.  Government employees are employed to many of the polling stations.  Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) are being increasingly used instead of ballot boxes to prevent election fraud via booth capturing, which is heavily prevalent in certain parts of India.  An indelible ink is applied usually on the left index finger of the voter as an indicator that the voter has cast his vote. 
  16. 16. POST ELECTIONS  After the election day, the EVMs are stored in a strong room under heavy security. After the different phases of the elections are complete, a day is set to count the votes.  The votes are tallied typically, the verdict is known within hours. The candidate who has mustered the most votes is declared the winner of the constituency.  The party or coalition that has won the most seats is invited by the President to form the new government.
  17. 17. Election commission
  18. 18. INTRODUCTION  Election Commission of India is a body that is constitutionally empowered to conduct free and fair elections to the national and state legislatures.  The decisions of the Election Commission are taken by a majority vote.  Naveen Chandra Hale Mani is the present Chief Election Commissioner.
  19. 19. APPOINTMENT AND REMOVAL  The President of India appoints the two Election Commissioners. They have tenure of 6 years, or up to the age of 65 ; which ever is earlier. Sixty five however is the age limit. The salary and other conditions of service of the Election Commissioner are determined by the Parliament of India through - "Election Commission Act 1991.”
  20. 20. CURRENT AFFAIRS  The Election Commission currently consists of the Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners.  Commission's Notice to Sri Rahul Gandhi for communal speech.  Instructions of the Commission with respect to use of Social Media in Election Campaigning.  Commission's order to Sri Kailas Vijay Vargas.
  21. 21. 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. Electoral constituencies(reserved constituencies)-jagriti DONE !!!!!!!!!!!  Voters list-thania Nomination of candidates-thania Election campaign-craig Polling and counting of votes-shreya Election commision-melvin 