Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.



Published on

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment


  1. 1. The Major ScaleIntervals and Chords
  2. 2. The Major Scale in CThe major scale is quite old! It dates back to Renaissance!
  3. 3. The First NoteThe first note goes by a few names: DO, TONIC, or C. The last namechanges with the name of the Major Scale (D Major, F Major, etc…).
  4. 4. The Second NoteIn a C Major Scale, D is the SUPERTONIC, (also called RE).
  5. 5. The Third NoteThis note is E, is called MI, or the MEDIANT.
  6. 6. The Fourth NoteThis note is F, sung as FA, and called the SUBDOMINANT.
  7. 7. The Fifth NoteHere we have G, as SOL, the DOMINANT.
  8. 8. The Sixth NoteA is LA and the SUBMEDIANT.
  9. 9. The Seventh NoteThe last note is B, the LEADING TONE, sung as TI.
  10. 10. Listen to the Major Scale
  11. 11. The ChordsChords in the Major Scale
  12. 12. The First ChordC Major, uses the first, third and fifth notes in a C major scale tocreate the triad.
  13. 13. The Second ChordThe two chord is minor.
  14. 14. The Third ChordThe three chord is also minor.
  15. 15. The Fourth ChordThe four chord is major.
  16. 16. The Fifth ChordThe five chord is major.
  17. 17. The Sixth ChordThe six chord is minor
  18. 18. The Seventh ChordThe seven chord is diminished.
  19. 19. Listen to the Chords in a Major Scale
  20. 20. Thanks for watching!Presentation by C. Catalfamo