Articles of Confederation Day 1


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

Articles of Confederation Day 1

  1. 1. Post-War Problems • Britain still occupies forts in West • Loyalist lands • Spain closes Mississippi River at present day New Orleans • Huge debts
  2. 2. States Constitutions • By 1780, most states adopted written constitutions • Constitution: A plan of government • States did not want to give up sovereignty • Sovereignty: not surrendering power to federal government *Revolution made states work together but people still felt their state was their country
  3. 3. America’s First Constitution • 1777 – Congress created the Articles of Confederation • Each state had to ratify this document • 12 states accept; Maryland refuses • 1781- all states ratify • Created national government with single body (Congress) • Unicameral • Formed a very weak central government. - One legislature, with little power. (Congress) - No judiciary (national court system) - No executive branch (president)
  4. 4. Powers of The Articles of Confederation • Each state has one vote • States controlled taxes and law enforcement • States had more power than national government Congress could • wage war • make treaties • handle foreign affairs • regulate trade with Indians • set up Post Office • borrow money • print money
  5. 5. Why a Weak Government? • Parliament and the King were strong • The colonies had rid themselves of such a government. – An executive reminded them of a King, so no deal.
  6. 6. Achievements • Treaty of Paris 1783 • Land Ordinance of 1785: set up system for settling the North West Territory • territory would be surveyed and divided into townships • Land broken down into townships, then sections • Sections sold to settlers for about $1 per acre
  7. 7. Northwest Ordinance of 1787 • Provided a way to admit new states • Requirements for new states –60,000 free inhabitants - settlers could write a state constitution which then had to be approved by Congress • Outlawed slavery, freedom of religion, freedom of speech • 5 states created – Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin
  8. 8. Review • What were the Articles of Confederation? • When were the Articles ratified? • Why did it take more than four years to ratify the Articles of Confederation? • What powers did the Articles of Confederation have? • What is the Land Ordinance of 1785? • What is the Northwest Ordinance of 1787?