Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Popular religious silver jewelry designs


Published on

The incredible array of religious jewelry designs surpasses even the number of religions, extinct or still present today

Published in: Lifestyle
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Popular religious silver jewelry designs

  1. 1. The incredible array of religious jewelry designs surpasses even the number of religions, extinct or still present today. Through the history of mankind religions arose, some stayed while other vanished into obscurity. A number of symbols from each religion - or at the very least a belief system - were created to represent the various significant / sacred items pertinent to each individual religion.
  2. 2. Religious jewelry is an outward symbol of a person's beliefs, thus this type of jewelry is often seen as the physical manifestation of those beliefs or at the very least as a talisman that will emotionally help them or save them from various types of evil. The most representative and recognized symbols of each main religion are as follows:
  3. 3. Christianity: the cross represents the instrument of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. A crucifix differs in that it also includes a representation of Jesus' body. Judaism: the 6-point Star of David (also known as the Shield of David) is formed by the compound of two equilateral triangles. Buddhism: the Dharma Wheel basically stands as a representation of the cycle of reincarnation.
  4. 4. Islam: the Star and Crescent is a relatively new representation of the religion since the early Muslim community did not have a symbol. Hinduism: the Aum (also spelled Om). Taoism: the Yin Yang describes how opposite forces are interconnected and interdependent.
  5. 5. There is a myriad of other symbols and sacred artifacts that can be made into jewelry, especially pendants and bracelets. Some of those symbols and their accepted meanings include: The Eye of God: otherwise known as the Eye of Providence, it symbolizes God watching over all things. The symbol is formed by a stylized eye inside of a triangle. The Ichthus: a symbol consisting of two intersecting arcs extending beyond the meeting point so as to resemble the profile of a fish. It is related to Jesus mentioning to his disciples " I will make you fishers of men".
  6. 6. The Hamsa: palm-shaped amulet featuring a stylized eye popular throughout the Middle East believed to protect against the evil eye. The Ankh: it is a cross of Egyptian origin that represents the concept of eternal life. The Lotus flower: it is a symbol that parallels the growth of the actual flower with the process one has to go through to achieve enlightenment. The Trisula: also spelled trishul or trihsula, it is a trident spear emblem of the Hindu god Shiva. Celtic endless knots: the Celtic knot can represent the uninterrupted life cycle.
  7. 7. The Tree of Life: depending on the culture, it either represents the interconnection of all life on earth or the union of heaven, earth and underworld among others. Prayer boxes: this pendant was originally worn as a ritual object, now it is used primarily for sentimental reasons. One can place a small meaningful object inside the prayer box and hope for a wish to come true. The Irish Claddagh: usually a ring, it features two hands clasping a heart surmounted by a crown. Traditionally, this rings indicates a person's marital status or emotional availability.
  8. 8. Resources: Silver-Jewelry-Designs&id=8404407
  9. 9. Thank you for reading!