Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

Developmental delay part 1


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

Developmental delay part 1

  1. 1. IDEA Category of Disability (Developmental Delay]Description & Definition of developmental delay:
  2. 2. (1) Who is experiencing developmental delays as defined by the State and as measured by appropriate diagnostic instruments and procedures in one or more of the following areas: Physical development, cognitive development, communication development, social or emotional development, or adaptive development; and Comment [cl]:. . (2) Who, by reason thereof, needs special education and related services. |[34 CFR §300.8(b)] [ 34 CFR §300.8(b)] is an Electronic Code of Federal Regulations. Current as of September 13, 2012. a) Children aged three through nine experiencing developmental delays. Child with a disability for children aged three through • Copy & paste code (CFR §300.8(b) into nine (or any subset of that age range, including ages three through five), may, subject to the conditions described in browser or click on the link below. §300.111(b). idx? c=ecfr&rEn=div8&view=text&node=34: . 1.36.7&idno=34 Its a good idea to find out if your state has added details to this definition of developmental delay. States are allowed to do so, if they choose. They also decide on the age range of children with whom the term may be used (3-5, 3-9, or any subset between 3-9).[ Comment [c2]: Utahs Definition of Developmental Delay It may be helpful to know that, under IDEA: Utahs Baby Watch Early Intervention program serving children birth to three years of age defines a * Your state may not require that your local school district also adopt and use the term developmental delay in working with developmental delay as: children. "Children birth to three years of age who meet or * If your local school district decides to use the term, it must use the same definition and age range as the state does. exceed the definition of developmental delays in one or more of the following areas: Characteristics: •Physical development •Vision and hearing •Feeding and dressing skills •Social and emotional development •Communication Skills such as taking a first step, smiling for the first time, and waving "bye bye" are called developmental milestones. Children reach and language •Learning, problem solving and play skills milestones in playing, learning, speaking, behaving, and moving (crawling, walking, etc.). A developmental delay is when your child does not reach these milestones at the same time as other children the same age. The delay must adversely affect a students educational performance. [What are developmental milestones? Comment [c3]: Developmental milestones are a set of functional skills or age-specific tasks that most ojjpildren can do at a certain age range. Your Refer to additional group handout listing pediatrician uses milestones to help check how your child is developing. Although each milestone has an age level, the actual age characteristics and signs to watch for starting at an early age. when a normally developing child reaches that milestone can very quite a bit. Every child is unique!