Leaders of 1857 revolt


Published on

Published in: Education, Spiritual
No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Leaders of 1857 revolt

  1. 1. Revolt of 1857 Byju.pk
  2. 2. The Indian Rebellion of 1857 began as a Mutiny of sepoysof the East India compani’s army on 10 May 1857, in the town of Meerut and soon escalated into other mutinies and civilian rebellions largely in the upper Gangetic plain and central India, with the major hostilities confined to present-day Uttar Pradesh, Bihar northern Madya pradesh, and the Delhi region.
  3. 3. The rebellion posed a considerable threat to Company power in that region,and was contained only with the fall of Gwalior on 20 June 1858. The rebellion is also known as the India's First War of Independence, the Great Rebellion, the Indian Mutiny, the Revolt of 1857, the Uprising of 1857, the Sepoy Rebellion, and the Sepoy Mutiny .
  4. 4. Date : 10 May 1857–1859 Location : India (cf. 1857)[1] Result : Suppression of the rebellion, Final collapse of Mughals & Marathas, End of Company rule in India, Transfer of rule to the British crown, De Facto (concerning fact)British Victory Territorialchanges: British Indian Empire created out of former East India Company territory (some land returned to native rulers, other land confiscated by the British crown)
  5. 5. Leaders of 1857 revoLt
  6. 6. Leaders of 1857 Revolt 1. Bahadur Shah Zafar. 2.Mangal Pandy. 3.Rani Laxmi Bai. 4.Begum Hazrat Mahal. 5.Nana Sahib. 6.Liyakat Ali. 7.Tantya Tope. 8.Kunwar Singh. 9.Bhakt Khan. 10.Khan Bahadur Khan Rohilla.
  7. 7. Bahadur Shah Zafar
  8. 8. Bahadur Shah II Bahadur Shah II, better known as Bahadur Shah Zafar, born as Abu Zafar Sirajuddin Muhammad Bahadur Shah Zafar was the last Mughal emperor and a member of the Timurid Dynasty. Born : October 24, 1775, Delhi Died : November 7, 1862, Yangon Spouse : Zeenat Mahal (1840–1882) Parents : Akbar Shah II Children : Mirza Mughal, Mirza Dara Bakht, Mirza Shah Abbas, Mirza Fath-ul-Mulk Bahadur, Mirza Khizr Sultan
  9. 9. Mangal Pandey
  10. 10. Mangal Pandey (19 July 1827 – 8 April 1857) was a sepoy in the 34th Bengal Native Infantry (BNI) regiment of the English East India Company. He is known for his involvement in the initial stages of the Indian Rebellion of 1857. While contemporary British reports considered him a traitor and mutineer, he is widely regarded as a freedom fighter in modern India. As such, in 1984 the Indian government issued a postage stamp to commemorate him. His life and actions have also been portrayed in several cinematic productions. Born : 19 July 1827 Nagwa, Ballia, U. P., India Died : 8 April 1857 Barrackpore, Calcutta, India Occupation : Sepoy (soldier) in the 34th Bengal Native Infantry (BNI) regiment of the English East India Company Known for : Mutineer / Indian freedom fighter Religion : Hindu
  11. 11. Rani Lakshmibai
  12. 12. Rani Lakshmibai (Rani of Jhansi) Birth name :Manikarnika Born :19 November 1828 Birthplace :Varanasi, India Died :18 June 1858 Place of death : Gwalior, India Predecessor : Rani Rama Bai Successor :British Raj Consort to : Jhansi Naresh Maharaj Gangadhar Rao Newalkar Royal House : Maratha Empire Children :Damodar Rao, Anand Rao (adopted)
  13. 13. Begum Hazrat Mahal
  14. 14. Begum Hazrat Mahal Begum of Awadh Spouse : Wajid Ali Shah Born 1820 Faizabad, Awadh, India : Died : Religion : April 1879 Kathmandu, Nepal Islam
  15. 15. Begum Hazrat Mahal :also known as Begum of Awadh, was the first wife of Nawab Wajid Ali Shah. She was stunningly beautiful, and used her courage and leadership qualities to rebel against the British East India Company during the Indian Rebellion of 1857.
  16. 16. After her husband had been sent away in exile to Calcutta, she took charge of the affairs of the state of Awadh, seized control of Lucknow and set up her son, Prince Birjis Qadir, as the ruler (Wali) of Awadh, but was forced to abandon it. She rejected the promises of allowance and status held out to her by the British. She finally found asylum in Nepal where she died in 1879.
  17. 17. Nana Sahib
  18. 18. Nana Sahib Born : 19 May 1824 Bithoor Disappeared : 1857 Kanpur Nationality : Indian Title : Peshwa Predecessor : Baji Rao II Children : Shamsher Bahaduar (went to Nepal), Meina Devi Parents : Narayan Bhatt and Ganga Bai
  19. 19. Maulvi Liaquat Ali
  20. 20. Maulvi Liaquat Ali was a Muslim religious leader from Allahabad, in the state of Uttar Pradesh in present day India. He was one of the leaders in the revolt against the British in 1857. One of the most prominent leaders of the 1857 Sepoy Mutiny, Maulvi Liaqat Ali belonged to Village Mahgaon in Pargana Chail of District Allahabad. He was a religious teacher, an upright pious Muslim, and a man of great courage and valour.
  21. 21. Tantya Tope
  22. 22. Born : 1814 Yeola, Nashik Died : 18 April 1859 Shivpuri Other names : Tantya Tope, Tantia Tope Political movement: Religion : Hinduism Indian Rebellion of 1857
  23. 23. Tatya Tope, after his capture in 1859.
  24. 24. Babu Kunwar Singh
  25. 25. Babu Kunwar Singh Born : 1777 Jagdispur, Bihar Died : 1858 (aged 80–81) Allegiance :Zamindar of Jagdispur
  26. 26. a royal Kshatriya (Rajput) house of Jagdispur, currently a part of Bhojpur district, Bihar state, India. At the age of 80 years, during India’s First War of Independence (1857), he actively led a select band of armed soldiers against the troops under the command of the East India Company, he defeated the British twice, but lost most of his battles.
  27. 27. Bakht Khan (1797–13 May 1859)
  28. 28. Bakht Khan (1797–13 May 1859) was nominal commander-in-chief of Indian rebel forces in the Indian Rebellion of 1857 against the East India Company.
  29. 29. Khan Badur Khan Rohilla
  30. 30. grandson of Hafiz Rahmat Khan. He formed his own government in Bareilly in 1857 Indian revolt against British. When the Indian Rebellion of 1857 failed Bareilly, too, was subjugated. Khan Bahadur Khan was sentenced to death and hanged in the Kotwali on February 24, 1860.