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Bmma formation digitale vincent 2013 final

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Bmma formation digitale vincent 2013 final

  1. 1. 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalPerformance Marketing Search vs Display
  2. 2. History 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalThe Display Advertising ecosystem is changing dramatically
  3. 3. History 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalGoogle transformed the ad market into an automated stock market : Text Link in 2002
  4. 4. History 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalGoogle transformed the ad market into an automated stock market : Display in 2008
  5. 5. What is Performance ? 10 lundis pour rattraper le train duDefinition digitalPerformance marketing is defined by getting measurable return on investment. Unlike traditional marketing platforms such as TV, print or radio, Performance Marketing implies pay-for-performance. This means that one pays only a fixed amount per action or share of revenue per sale rather than paying for advertising and then hoping for the best.Advertisers pay a set price for a defined action such as a download, a visit, a lead, a click, a registration, an information request, a purchase, etc. Pricing is appealing to advertisers as the majority of risk is passed on to Sales-House.
  6. 6. How does it work ? 10 lundis pour rattraper le train duSearch : text link digital
  7. 7. How does it work ? 10 lundis pour rattraper le train duSocial : text link digital
  8. 8. How does it work ? 10 lundis pour rattraper le train duDisplay : graphical digital Skyscraper
  9. 9. How does it work ? 10 lundis pour rattraper le train duConversion TAG digitalWe absolutely need to place pixels to be able to measure the performance of your campaign.A pixel is a single line of HTML coding that is placed on the “Thank You” page of a website, or the page directly following the conversion. When the “Thank You” page appears, we receive a request from the browser for this 1x1 pixel which alerts us that a conversion has occurred.
  10. 10. 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalPerformance Marketing Search Engine Marketing
  11. 11. Search Engines 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital
  12. 12. Campaign strategy 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital Network selectionKeywords & Format adtext CAMPAIGN ORGANISATIONTiming & Geo- daily targeting & budget language Focus on brands, prod ucts & strategies
  13. 13. Keywords selection 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital
  14. 14. Successful Ads 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital
  15. 15. Ad rank 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalAdvertiser MaxCPC Quality Rank Position Actual More than Pay Per Click : Score Number CPC 0,40 x 1,8 = 0,37€ Rank = MaxCPC x1,8 A 0,40€ Quality 0,72 Score 1 (0,65/1,8 + 0,01)  Bidding System that requires active and 0,39€ 0,65 x 1,0 = ……frequent management for improving Quality. (0,38/1,0 + B 0,65€ 1,0 2 0,65 0,01) 0,25 x 1,5 = 0,08€ C 0,25€ 1,5 0,38 3 (= min bid)
  16. 16. Ad rank 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalAdvertiser MaxCPC Quality Rank Position Actual More than Pay Per Click : Score Number CPC 0,40 x 1,8 = 0,37€ MaxCPC0,40€ A : 1,8 0,72 1 (0,65/1,8 + 0,01)  You only pay when someone clicks on your ad 0,39€ 0,65 x 1,0 = B 0,65€ 1,0 2 0,65 competition(0,38/1,0 +  The cost per click depends on the 0,01)  The max CPC is the maximum you’re ready to pay 0,25 x 1,5 = 0,08€ C 0,25€ …..for a click 1,5 0,38 3 (= min bid)
  17. 17. Ad rank 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital More than Pay Per Click :Quality Score : Keyword’s relevance to search query Keyword’s historical CTR on Google Account’s historical performance on Google Other relevant factors
  18. 18. Ad rank 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital Quality Rank ActualAdvertiser MaxCPC Position Score Number CPC 0,40 x 1,8 = 0,37€ A 0,40€ 1,8 0,72 1 (0,65/1,8 + 0,01) 0,65 x 1,0 = 0,39€ B 0,65€ 1,0 0,65 2 (0,38/1,0 + 0,01) 0,25 x 1,5 = 0,08€ C 0,25€ 1,5 0,38 3 (= min bid)
  19. 19. Conversion process 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital User clicks on User visits site, resulting in ad and cookie is placed conversion (purchase, registration, etc.) User searchesthrough Google Landing page Convertion page Advertiser account User reaches is updated with conversion “Thank you” page and data sees Google image « Thank you » Google
  20. 20. 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalPerformance Marketing Display Marketing
  21. 21. How does it work ? 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du1. Impression Landing Page 3. Conversion digital 2. Click Fill in Every impression / click / action generated is recorded within the ad server with date and time (via cookies).
  22. 22. Post-impression vs. Post-click 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalBeyond the clickThe Click Through Rate is an inadequate Post-Clic indicator undervaluing the ads Conversions 20,4% efficiency.- 20% of conversions originate from clicks. Post-Impression Conversions- Whereas 79.6% of conversions originate from the contact with the advert 79,6% without clicking. Distribution of the standard banner conversions in the world, Post-Impression vs Post-Click, Q3 2009-Q2 2010 (% of total) Source: MediaMind, « Standard Banners-Non-Standard Results »
  23. 23. Retargeting 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalRetargeting pixels simply drop a cookie on a users machine when a page on the clients website is visited, this identifies the user as being part of a population for re-targeting should that user re-enter our network.When setting up retargeting for an advertiser or a publisher, there are three steps:- Setting up ad servers to read and write specific data to the cookie.- Building the population.- Targeting a media or campaign back to the population.
  24. 24. Basic-Retargeting 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalOnly 2% of users buy on thesite during their first visit Banner 1 Banner 2 or nothingThanks to retargeting, we find your users back on the sites of our network and show them your specific ads with a personalized message in priority
  25. 25. Dynamic-Retargeting 10 lundis pour Cross selling rattraper Product recall Recommendations le train du digitalThe user has seen a 46cm TV on the The user has placed the TV in the The user has bought a 46cm TVHitech.com site basket page but has not bought the product. Hitech.com Hitech.com Hitech.com 500€ 300€ 100€ 25We personalize the banners by We personalize the banners by We personalize the banners byshowing the products previously highlighting the products from the highlighting additional productsconsulted by the user. same category in the banners (TV In this case, it could be a DVD player size, price, brand, etc…) or home cinema sound system.
  26. 26. Duplication 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalDuplication occurs when two or more online properties take the credit for the same sale.The industry uses the last click/impression/search as the means for determining which property generated the sale/action.This is fundamentally flawed because several number of exposures and touch points are required to result in a sale. Also, this method does not factor in the impact of any offline activity.Short of asking a user it is impossible to determine what creative messages influenced the user to buy/engage.
  27. 27. Duplication 10 lundis pour rattraper le train duThe overlapped areas are the digital„risk of duplication‟ for eachnetwork.The network with the largestspend will have the highestchance of being the lastexposure.The network with the lowestspend will be „handicapped‟.The conversion is firstlyassigned to the last clickor to the last impression.
  28. 28. 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalAdExchangeDisplay Network
  29. 29. AdExchange 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital
  30. 30. A changing ecosystem 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital DEMAND AUTOMATISATION TECHNOLOGY SUPPLY DSP SSP Demand side Supply side Advertisers platforms platforms Editeurs Publishers AdExchange Agencies Sales - House Trading - desks AdnetworksAd Exchange are now in the middle of transactions between advertisers, sales houses, and publishers…
  31. 31. AdExchange 10 lundis pour rattraper le train duSELL SIDE PLATFORM digitalA sell side platform, also known as a publisher yield optimizer, works with publishers toincrease their advertising revenue and help manage ad inventory , pricing, yieldmanagement, and the multiplicity of publisher sales channels.DEMAND SIDE PLATFORMDemand side platforms (DSPs) enable buyers to connect directly to multiple sources ofinventory supply ( SSP, Publisher, adnetwork ) and provide such benefits as workflowsimplification, integrated reporting, algorithmic buying optimization, and the ability tomake impression-level bids (RTB)..
  32. 32. AdExchange 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalTRADING DESKAgency trading desks can be thought of as a specialized arm of larger media buyingagencies that focus on media trading and RTB. Each desk represents a specific agency.Agency buying desks generally serve as the liaison between the advertiser or parentagency and the platforms they use to facilitate real-time bidding. For example, an agencybuying desk may work with a DSP to facilitate an RTB campaign.ADNETWORKSAd networks aggregate supply (inventory) and demand (ads) and add their own and 3rdparty data as well as targeting and optimization technology. Ad networks are slowlyadding RTB capabilities in order to facilitate RTB transactions on behalf ofagencies, advertisers, and agency buying desks.
  33. 33. AdExchange 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalADEXCHANGEAd exchanges are powered marketplaces where numerous ad networks, publishers, advertisers andother sources of supply and demand meet to buy and sell media in continuous real-time biddingauctions. Exchanges provide workflow and reporting services and tools for buyers and sellers, aswell as access to data suppliers and targeting, optimization and analytic technology andservices.
  34. 34. Real Time Bidding 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalRTBReal Time Bidding is a particular way of selling. It is like a stock exchange price that is determinedby the balance of supply and demand.In the network marketers compete with each other to win the bidding. All the users can be‘’bought’’ in real time, so the banner is seen by the right target at the right moment at the rightprice.
  35. 35. Campaign priority 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalAdv. Imp. Clics CTR CONV CPM CPC CPA Budget eCPM PositionA 1.500.000 5.000 0,3% 2,00 € 3.000,00 € 2,00 € 4B 1.250.000 5.000 0,4% 0,80 € 4.000,00 € 3,20 € 1C 1.500.000 7.500 0,5% 0,50 € 3.750,00 € 2,50 € 3D 1.000.000 5.000 0,5% 100 30 € 3.000,00 € 3,00 € 2
  36. 36. 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalSearch Engine Marketing Natural Search
  37. 37. SEO 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalSEO involves making the pages of a site more easily accessible to search enginesspiders and emphasising the key topics relating to a specific site. SEO
  38. 38. Keywords Analysis 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital To customize a search engine optimization work, it is necessary to focus the efforts on keywords and associations really used by internet users. By basing ourselves on the keywords which define the activity of the site, we undertake an analysis which allows us to determine the best keywords for search engine optimization. By basing ourselves on requests actually made on the main international search tools, we give the current trend of the market. To do this, we use a database which is updated daily and which contains the requests made on several of the main international search engines and directories : Bing, Google and Yahoo.
  39. 39. SEO 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital
  40. 40. Content optimization 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital Page Titles URLContent title Content Navigation
  41. 41. SEO in 3 steps 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital ON-PAGE FACTORS - Content Relevance - Meta Tags - Keyword Density OFF-PAGE FACTORS - Inbound Links from Directories URL FACTORS - Online Press Releases- Search Engine Friendly URL’s - Blogs, RSS Feeds & More- Site Structure- Domain Life Spam SEO FACTORS Contributing to optimal rankings
  42. 42. 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digitalCase Study AOL
  43. 43. Site Audience 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital• Customer: AOL• Sector: travel• Activity: renting of family holiday resorts• Problematic: less and less sales via travel agencies decrease of the website audience• Target: Increase sales rapidly• Proposition: Search Engine Marketing & Display Advertising
  44. 44. Site Audience 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital18,00016,000 897 V.U.14,00012,00010,000 27.057 V.U. 8,000 22.987 V.U. 6,000 18.492 V.U. 4,000 2,000 77.457 V.U. 0 Trafic Direct Search Brand Search Generique Display Affiliation AdExhange RTG
  45. 45. Conversion 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital450 101 Conv. – 11,26%400350300250200 504 Conv. – 1,8% 283 Conv. – 1,23%150 888 Conv. – 4,8%100 50 1.400 Conv. – 1,8% 0 03/2011 04/2011 05/2011 06/2011 07/2011 08/2011 09/2011 10/2011 11/2011 12/2011 01/2012 02/2012 Trafic Direct Search Brand Search Generique Display Affiliation AdExhange RTG
  46. 46. CPA 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital 15,345 14,738 Conv Budget 5,1881,171 957 504 504 101Search Brand Search Generique Affiliation RTG 4,43 € 29,24 € 30,45 € 9,48 €
  47. 47. 10 lundis pour rattraper le train du digital Thank You Vincent Delmottevdelmotte@hi-media.com

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