Successfully reported this slideshow.

Vegan, Vegetarian and Kosher Diet

1,663 views

Published on

Slides developed for an in-service presentation for Kaiser Permanente Baldwin Park-Food Service Department employees.

  • Be the first to comment

Vegan, Vegetarian and Kosher Diet

  1. 1. Vegetarian, Vegan & Kosher Diet <ul><li>Kaiser Permanente Baldwin Park </li></ul><ul><li>Presented by Isabella Camargo </li></ul>
  2. 2. The Vegetarian and The Vegan Diet <ul><li>Diet based on plant foods. </li></ul><ul><li>Contains no meat, poultry or seafood. </li></ul><ul><li>Some vegetarians may include dairy products or eggs in their diets, while others do not. </li></ul><ul><li>Vegans or total vegetarians avoid eating all animal products. </li></ul>
  3. 3. Definitions <ul><li>Vegetarians? </li></ul><ul><li>Lacto-Vegetarians: eat dairy products such as milk, cheese and yogurt. </li></ul><ul><li>Ovo-Vegetarians: eat eggs. </li></ul><ul><li>Lacto-Ovo-Vegetarians: eat dairy products and eggs. </li></ul><ul><li>Vegans? </li></ul>
  4. 4. Weight and Health
  5. 5. Benefits <ul><li>Low in cholesterol. </li></ul><ul><li>Low in saturated fat, the bad fat. </li></ul><ul><li>High in monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fat, the good fat. </li></ul><ul><li>May consume more servings of fiber found in the fruits, veggies, whole grains & legumes, known to support better health. </li></ul>
  6. 6. Lifestyle Keys: <ul><li>Regular Physical Activity </li></ul><ul><li>A Healthy Body Weight </li></ul><ul><li>Non-Smoking </li></ul><ul><li>Daily Multivitamin </li></ul>
  7. 7. Kosher Diet <ul><li>Kosher is the term used to describe food prepared in accordance with the dietary guidelines of the Jewish law. </li></ul>
  8. 8. Jewish Dietary Laws <ul><ul><ul><li>Only animals with cloven hooves are acceptable: sheep, cattle, goat and deer. Camel, hare, and pig are not. </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Meat and poultry can be only purchased from a kosher butcher. They will guarantee to only sell meat and poultry prepared according to the Jewish dietary laws. </li></ul></ul></ul>
  9. 9. <ul><ul><ul><li>Chicken, geese, duck are the only birds permitted. </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Shellfish without the fins and scales are not kosher. </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>A fishmonge, under rabbinic supervision, will remove the scales without damage to the fish. </li></ul></ul></ul>Jewish Dietary Laws Cont.
  10. 10. Jewish Dietary Laws Cont. <ul><ul><ul><li>Meat cannot be eaten with dairy. </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>A 6-hr period must be waited. </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Utensils that came into contact with meat cannot be used with any dairy. </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Utensils that have been used with kosher food may not be used with non-kosher food and vice-versa. </li></ul></ul></ul>
  11. 11. Kosher Certification <ul><li>Kosher certification is indicated by a symbol printed on the food package, a “K” or a “U” surrounded by a circle. </li></ul><ul><li>Each symbol represents a particular agency's certification that the food has been processed in accordance with the Jewish dietary laws. </li></ul>
  12. 12. <ul><li>Any Questions? </li></ul>

×