Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

PSLA 2009

587 views

Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

PSLA 2009

  1. 1. Library 2.0 The world has never been flatter. Bring it to your students. By: Bridget Belardi bridgetbelardi@gmail.com
  2. 2. Contact Information • All content can be found at belardi@wikispaces.com http://pslawiki.wikispaces.com/2009+PSL A+Conference • Email: bridgetbelardi@gmail.com
  3. 3. Why do we do what we do? • http://multimedia.mtlsd.org/Play.asp? FILEID=25722 • http://multimedia.mtlsd.org/Play.asp? FILEID=12429
  4. 4. Library 2.0 Survey: http://www.polleverywhere.com/polls
  5. 5. Preface Administrator 2.0 Academy http://administrators2-0.wikispaces.com/
  6. 6. Power Up Your Professional Development
  7. 7. Discovery Educator Network http://community.discoveryeducation.com/
  8. 8. Twitter www.twitter.com
  9. 9. Plurk www.plurk.com
  10. 10. Diigo www.diigo.com
  11. 11. Ning www.ning.com
  12. 12. Telling Those Digital Stories
  13. 13. Voice Thread www.voicethread.com
  14. 14. Animoto www.animoto.com
  15. 15. Blabberize www.blabberize.com
  16. 16. Glogster www.glogster.com/edu Foster’s planning ground
  17. 17. Scrapblog www.scrapblog.com
  18. 18. Capzles http://www.capzles.com/
  19. 19. Voki http://www.voki.com/create.php
  20. 20. Books and eBooks
  21. 21. Mrs. P. http://www.mrsp.com
  22. 22. KidThing www.kidthing.com
  23. 23. Good Reads www.goodreads.com
  24. 24. Polling Tools
  25. 25. Poll Everywhere www.polleverywhere.com
  26. 26. Poll Daddy http://www.polldaddy.com
  27. 27. Photo Ops
  28. 28. Big Huge Labs http://bighugelabs.com
  29. 29. Auto Motivator http://wigflip.com/automotivator/
  30. 30. Bookr http://www.pimpampum.net/bookr
  31. 31. Virtual Tours
  32. 32. Google Maps http://maps.google.com/
  33. 33. Google Lit Trips http://www.googlelittrips.org/
  34. 34. Timeline Creators
  35. 35. Xtimeline www.xtimeline.com
  36. 36. Our Story http://www.ourstory.com
  37. 37. Extra-Bonus Sites Just for you!
  38. 38. Family Bloggin www.familybloggin.com
  39. 39. Pandora www.pandora.com
  40. 40. Tag Galaxy http://taggalaxy.de/
  41. 41. Zamzar www.zamzar.com
  42. 42. Extra Resources • Top 10 2.0 Tools for Youngsters • Steve Dembo—2.0 Guru
  43. 43. 15 minute break
  44. 44. What is Digital Storytelling? • Digital storytelling is the process of writing a story and then incorporating multimedia elements of voice, imagery and music to create a visual story.
  45. 45. Traditional Steps • Step 1: Write • Step 2: Develop Script • Step 3: Storyboard* • Step 4: Locate Resources • Step 5: Create • Step 6: Share Jason Ohler
  46. 46. Digital Storytelling Ideas • Public Service Announcements • News/Sports Broadcasts • Movie Trailer (for books, articles, events) • Documentaries • Virtual Tour • Perspective of an object/historical figure
  47. 47. Resources • Discovery Streaming (Search for editable clips) • American Film Institute (Search AFI on Discovery Streaming) • Jennifer Dorman • Bernajean Porter • Joe Brennan
  48. 48. My Current Favorite Tools • Blabberize • VoiceThread • Glogster • Movie Maker/iMovie • Capzules • Google Lit Trips
  49. 49. Contact Information • bridgetbelardi@gmail.com • bbelardi on Twitter and Plurk • Websites: http://blog.mtlsd.org/Cybrary/ http://www.mtlsd.org/foster_elementary/libr ary.asp
  50. 50. Your Assignment • http://abcnews.go.com/search? searchtext=your%20three%20words&type=
  51. 51. Your Assignment • In groups (we only have 4 cameras), each individual will use 3 words to convey their thoughts about education. • Be creative! • Be patient in your groups to film each other. The clips should not be more than 7 or 8 seconds long. • Bring the camera to me when you are done. We’ll watch a compilation video at the end of the day.
  52. 52. Recap • All links can be found here: http://belardi.wikispaces.com bridgetbelardi@gmail.com Twitter and Plurk User Names bbelardi

×