Successfully reported this slideshow.
Your SlideShare is downloading. ×

DMAW Marketing AdVents—January 2016

Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad
Ad

Check these out next

1 of 1 Ad
Advertisement

More Related Content

Similar to DMAW Marketing AdVents—January 2016 (20)

Advertisement

More from Avalon Consulting (20)

Recently uploaded (20)

Advertisement

DMAW Marketing AdVents—January 2016

  1. 1. 3 MARKETINGADVENTSJANUARY2016 DMAW Executive Committee & Board of Directors 2015 Executive Committee President—Jamie Natelson Avalon Consulting Group 202-429-6080 ext. 106 jamien@avalonconsulting.net Vice President/President Elect—Cheryl Keedy PS | PS Digital 703-734-5700, ckeedy@psmail.com Treasurer—Kathy Calta Barton Cotton, 410-565-5040 kathy.calta@bartoncotton.com Secretary—Alan Rich, Nova Label Co. 301-386-4433, alan@novalabel.com Immediate Past President—Peter Carter Chapman Cubine Adams + Hussey 703-248-0025, pcarter@ccah.com Board of Directors Dennis Ashcraft, Colortree Group 804-358-4245, dashcraft@colortreeva.com Samantha Brown, Fundraising Professional 215-287-9222, samanthabrown528@gmail.com Kate Carr, Silver Marketing 301-951-3505, kcarr@silvermarketing.com Jim Chmielewski, Public Interest Communications 703-847-8300, jim@pic1.com Mike DeFlavia, Lautman Maska Neill & Company 202-296-9660 ext. 211 mdeflavia@lautmandc.com Melissa Ford, Mal Warwick | Donordigital 202-332-3124, melissa@malwarwick.com Sherene Kelly, InfoGroup 510-332-2477, sherene.kelly@infogroup.com Liz Kincheloe, List Professional 703-338-9281, aekincheloe@gmail.com Mikaela King, Paradysz 443-454-2313, MikaelasEmail@gmail.com Peter Maaseide, L&E Meridian 703-913-1654, pmaaseide@l-e.com Shira Mitchell, Special Olympics 202-715-1156, smitchell@specialolympics.org Eric Rardin, Care2 703-473-2825, ericr@care2team.com Jeff Thomas, ProList 301-924-4545 ext. 1022, jthomas@prolist.com DMAW Educational Foundation Liaison— Syma Mendelsohn, 301-351-4863, symamendelsohn@verizon.net DMAW Educational Foundation Carrie Schweikart, President carrie.schweikart@qg.com DMAW Executive Director Donna Tschiffely donna@dmaw.org 703-689-DMAW, fax 703-481-DMAW PRESIDENT'S PERSPECTIVE DMAW Marketing AdVents: (ISSN 0896-4742) is published monthly by the Direct Marketing Association of Washington, Inc., 11709 Bowman Green Drive, Reston, VA 20190-3501. Periodicals postage paid at Herndon, VA and at additional mailing offices. BY JAMIE NATELSON Postmaster: Send address changes to DMAW Marketing AdVents, 11709 Bowman Green Drive, Reston, VA 20190-3501; email info@dmaw.org • website www.dmaw.org It is my last column (do I hear faint clap- ping?) as DMAW president. So, I felt I should start with the “official” stuff. First and truly fore- most, thank you to the Membership for letting me serve as DMAW president over the past year. It was quite an experience … although I could do with far fewer photo ops. Secondly, thank you to my fellow board members and the many volunteers (volun-tolds) that make this organization run. I appreciate your passion, your hard work and your dedication. Thirdly, thank you to the great DMAW team, led by Donna and including Ann, Eerik, Elizabeth, Terri and Madison. You put in long hours and truly make the magic happen. And, lastly, welcome and congratulations, Cheryl. You are going to make a wonderful DMAW president and I know you will magnificently lead us through our 61st year. I meant all those words and more, but it is very hard for me to make them my last as presi- dent, when this issue is about trends. What is a trend? The dictionary says it is a “general course or prevailing tendency,” a “style or vogue,” and “be currently popular.” None of the definitions I read call it a best practice and/or an effective method. I like trends, I like to hear about what is new. I am not very fashionable, but I can tell you a lot about pop culture — I can even discuss books I have never read. However, that is my hobby, not my business. So, I monitor trends, I look at what is new, and I test what is applicable to my work. How- ever, I only apply what works. I would be an idiot not to try new things, but I would be a bigger idiot to follow the shiny trend down the well. I hope you will find the next big thing in this issue of AdVents. I will be looking for one too: methodically, practically and sensibly. But if it does not work, I am moving on … SLFAWGN, Jamie P.S. By the way, I have been asked for a five hundred word minimum each month. I think I made it once. This P.S. still will not get me there.

×