Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.



Published on

This slide show tells about benefits of yoga and its types.

  • Hey guys! Who wants to chat with me? More photos with me here 👉
    Are you sure you want to  Yes  No
    Your message goes here


  1. 1. YOGASANS<br />Types of Yogasan<br />
  2. 2. Index<br /><ul><li>Benefits of Yoga
  3. 3. Types of Yoga
  4. 4. Bhakti yoga
  5. 5. Karma yoga
  6. 6. Ashtanga yoga
  7. 7. Jnana yoga
  8. 8. Hatha yoga
  9. 9. Raja yoga
  10. 10. Kriya yoga
  11. 11. Mantra yoga</li></li></ul><li>Benefits of Yoga<br /><ul><li>Increase Flexibility
  12. 12. Massaging of all Organs of the Body
  13. 13. Complete Detoxification
  14. 14. Excellent toning of the muscles
  15. 15. Stress Relief
  16. 16. Pain Relief
  17. 17. Better Breathing
  18. 18. Increase Strength
  19. 19. Cardiovascular Conditioning
  20. 20. Inner Peace
  21. 21. Increase lubrication of the joints, ligaments and tendons</li></li></ul><li>Types of Yoga<br /><ul><li>Bhakti Yoga :</li></ul>Bhakti yoga involves devotion, attachment and love for God.<br />Bhakti yoga history stretches back to before the origin of hatha yogi. <br />It is not known exactly when it started, but it has been around since<br />before the fifth century BC. There are nine forms of Bhakti yoga:<br /><ul><li>Sravana (hearing about God);
  22. 22. Kirtana (singing of the glory of God);
  23. 23. Smarana (remembering God's name and presence);
  24. 24. Padasevana (service of God):
  25. 25. Archana (worship of God);
  26. 26. Vandana (prostration);
  27. 27. Dasya (cultivating the Bhava of a servant);
  28. 28. Sakhya (cultivation of the friend-Bhava);
  29. 29. Atmanivedana (surrender of the self).</li></li></ul><li><ul><li>Ashtanga yoga:</li></ul>Ashtanga yoga started around 5000 years BC, and was began <br />by Patanjali Yoga Sutra. So what is ashtanga yoga? It is the <br />eight limbs or eight fold path formulated by Patanjali. The <br />ashtanga yoga basics include paying attention to each of the <br />eight limbs, which are: <br /><ul><li>Yama (principles or moral code);
  30. 30. Niyama (personal disciplines);
  31. 31. Asana (ashtanga yoga postures)
  32. 32. Pranayama (yoga breathing);
  33. 33. Prayahara (withdrawal of senses);
  34. 34. Dharana (concentration on objects);
  35. 35. Dhyan (meditation);
  36. 36. Samadhi (salvation).</li></li></ul><li><ul><li>Karma yoga:</li></ul>Karma means action or deed, and the result of that action. By practicing karma,<br />people try to do those actions that bring the most amounts of good and the least<br />amount of evil. Karma yoga dedicates actions to God. It is the performance of<br />actions in union with the Divine. It also involves selfless service. The history of<br />karma yoga dates back to before 800 BC, when yoga referred more to life<br />disciplines and paths.<br /><ul><li>Jnana Yoga:</li></ul>Jnana yoga is yoga that focuses on knowledge. There are seven stages to<br />Jnana, involving study, self-realization, desire, protection of the mind,<br />developing indifference to objects, letting the world appear like a dream, non<br />attachment to the world, bliss and knowledge of truth.<br />
  37. 37. <ul><li>Hatha Yoga:</li></ul>Hatha yoga is one of the most popular forms of yoga in the western world. It is the use<br />Of Yoga postures or asana. Many people practice hatha yoga solely for its physical<br />benefit. However, the aim of hatha yoga is meant to be to condition the body, so that<br />the mind can be prepared for its spiritual path. It is thought that when the body is in<br />good physical condition, then the mind is freer to concentrate on spiritual matters. It<br />involves studying the nostril's breath flow at all times of the day and seasons. Swara<br />yoga has existed for over ten thousand years. At first, it was only available to special<br />people, like kings and sadhaks.<br /><ul><li>Raja yoga:</li></ul>Raja yoga focuses on directing one's life force to bring mind and emotions into<br />balance. The aim is to focus on an object of meditation or the Lord. The life force<br />is directed to move up and down the spine, until it reaches a position where the<br />mind is content. Then awareness is directed to a point in the lower forehead.<br />
  38. 38. <ul><li>Kriya Yoga:</li></ul>Kriya yoga consists of meditation techniques that help with a person's spiritual<br />growth. The goal of kriya yoga is union with the Divine. It works with the spiritual<br />energy deep in the spines. Kriya yoga involves mentally drawing this energy up<br />and down the spine.<br /><ul><li>Mantra yoga:</li></ul>Mantra yoga involves chanting a word or phrases repeatedly until the mind and<br />emotions are transcended and the super conscious is revealed. Repeating a<br />Mantra helps to prevent the mind from wondering and keeps it focused on the<br />object of meditation. Two popular mantras are aum mani padme hum (om the<br />jewel is in the Lotus hum) and asato ma sat gamayo (lead me from the unreal to<br />the real).<br />