Liturgy and liturgical seasons


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Liturgy and liturgical seasons

  1. 1. November 26-30,2012
  2. 2. Part II: Intro to Liturgy Review for five minutes Quiz No. 2 (1/4) Grace: Finding God in All Things Liturgy and Liturgical Seasons Reminders:  Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion on December 08, 2012  Advance Reading on ACTS 1-5 after atfest  Love Drive to be collected until November 29, 2012
  3. 3. LITURGY The term liturgy came from the Greek word “LEITOURGIA” .  LEITON or LEITOS= pertains to people or belonging to people  ERGON= pertains to work, activity or service.  “Liturgy therefore refers TO A WORK UNDERTAKEN ON BEHALF OF THE PEOPLE, A SERVICE RENDERED FOR THE COMMON GOOD.”
  4. 4. LITURGY Liturgy in its broadest and deepest sense is the proclamation, manifestation, and celebration not only of Christ and His paschal mystery but also of the churchs own mystery and mission as the universal sacrament of salvation and of the whole world consecrated and ordered to its creator and final goal (CFC 1194).
  5. 5. Two-Fold Character of Liturgy
  6. 6. Essential Qualities of theLiturgy 1. Trinitarian 2. Sacramental 3. Ecclesial or Communitarian 4. Ethically –Oriented
  7. 7. Liturgy includes: The HOLY MASS or the Eucharistic Worship The Seven Sacraments Sacramentals (Liturgical Colors, Symbols, Vessels, Vestments , Linens and Books) The Liturgy of the Hour (Lauds, Vespers, office of readings) The Liturgical Year and Seasons
  8. 8. It is known as the year ofworship or liturgicalyear: The Paschal Mystery that is the whole of Christ Passion, Death, Resurrection and His Ascension to heaven, constitute the unifying center of every liturgical celebration and the whole of the liturgical year. The whole Liturgical Seasons recall Christs mystery as we await His Second Coming. This celebration nourishes and strengthens the Christian faith.
  9. 9.  A Latin word "adventes" meaning ARRIVAL = Arrival of Christ It begins FOUR Sundays before Christmas and observed by some Christians as a season of prayer and fasting. It falls from Nov.27-Dec.3. Since advent is the time of preparation, it becomes a time of desire, longing and expectancy for the COMING OF CHRIST at the INCARNATION. ADVENT "The expectation not only recalls Christs first appearance on earth but also reflects His second coming.  as expressed by the prophet Isaiah—“longing for a redeemer“  While to JOHN the Baptist---- "showed us that advent is a time of CONVERSION.“
  10. 10.  The circular wreath represents eternity, as do the evergreen branches from which it is made, reminding us of Gods gift of eternal life in Christ. A new candle is lit on each of the four Advent Sundays in Advent. The growing light represents the Christians increasing joy. Wreath The candles are colored purple , a color that represents watchfulness and preparation. In some churches, a pink or rose candle is used for the third candle. This candle represents joy. The day on which this candle is lit is sometimes called Gaudete ("Let us rejoice"). Some churches attach meanings to the other candles, such as hope, love and peace. A white candle is sometimes placed in the middle of the wreath to be lit on Christmas Day.
  11. 11. CHRISTMAS SEASON Begins on Christmas day and ends on the Feast of the Epiphany This season includes:  Innocence Day (Dec. 28)  Solemnity of Mary as the Mother of God (January 1)  and the Feast of the Holy Family (last Sunday of the year)
  12. 12. CHRISTMAS SEASON To the Jews, Christmas is HANNUKAH December 25 is ont the actual birthdate of Jesus but adapted it from the Roman pagan practice of SOL INVICTUS.
  13. 13. 12 DAYs of CHRISTMAS
  14. 14. 12 DAYs of CHRISTMAS1 True Love refers to God2 Turtle Doves refers to the Old and New Testaments3 French Hens refers to Faith, Hope and Charity ,Three Virtues4 Calling Birds refers to the Four Gospels and/or 4 Evangelists5 Golden Rings refers to the first Five Books of the OldTestament, the "Pentateuch", which gives the history of mansfall from grace.6 Geese A-laying refers to the six days of creation7 Swans A-swimming refers to the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit, the sacraments8 Maids A-milking refers to the eight beatitudes9 Ladies Dancing refers to the nine Fruits of the Holy Spirit10 Lords A-leaping refers to the ten commandments11 Pipers Piping refers to the eleven faithful apostles12 Drummers Drumming refers to the points of doctrine in theApostles Creed
  15. 15. Lenten Season Can be a time for austere preparation for the joy of Easter. It is also the time of preparation for the catechumens for their entrance into Christian Community. It is also the time for renewal of baptism through penance, charity and prayer. Lent reaches its climax in Holy Week. The week leads to the highest point of Easter Triduum (Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Black Saturday).
  16. 16. Easter Season This is the most important feast day of the liturgical year ( Easter Sunday ) It is the moment where the Lord rose again from the death and shared us His everlasting life. The Easter season continues for forty days with the Ascension and Pentecost as the completion of the Easter Season.
  17. 17. Sundays in the Ordinary Time I and II In the liturgical year there are about 33 to 34 Sundays which the Church does not celebrate any aspect of Christ Paschal Mystery. This is where we celebrate the other important earthly life of Jesus on Ordinary Sundays as the Lord’s Day. But the word ordinary does not mean something less than the other season.
  18. 18. Special Feast DaysThe Church celebrates special feast days such as: 1. CORPUS CRISTI 2. The Sacred Heart of Jesus 3. Christ the King 3. And other memories about saints. We also celebrate the Marian Feast days such as the Immaculate Conception and Assumption of Mary.
  19. 19. Holy Eucharist: Center of the Liturgy The Eucharist, the climax of Christian initiation, is the center, “the source and summit of the whole Christian life” (LG no. 11). “For it commemorates the PASCHAL MYSTERY OF CHRIST.” The term eucharist is derived from the Greek word eucharistia which means “thanksgiving.” Jesus himself “gave thanks” at the Last Supper (Luke 22:19; 1 Cor 11:24; Mk 14:23; Mt 26:27).
  20. 20. The Holy Eucharist is NOT  Priest- Centered Activity  Gimiks of priests  Choir-Centered Activity  Beautiful music and ceremonies  Decoration-Centered Activity  Full colorful decorations and designs  IT IS CHRIST-CENTERED ACTIVITY
  21. 21. Important points aboutthe Liturgy of the Holy Eucharist PCP II stresses on full, active participation on the whole people of God-everyone-and the essential inner connection of liturgy with social action. The Mass or the Holy Eucharist is both a personal and an ecclesial or communal worship activity. Therefore, everybody must participate!
  22. 22. SACRAMENTALS  Liturgical Colors  Liturgical Symbols  Liturgical Vessels  Liturgical Vestments  Liturgical Linens  Liturgical Books