Phoenixtalk dec2010

746 views

Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

Phoenixtalk dec2010

  1. 1. Warm up to a good book December 2010 – Phoenix Middle School Kelly Jensen Youth Services Librarian Aram Public Library
  2. 2. Someone Named Eva by Joan Wolf <ul><li>World War II: Holocaust </li></ul><ul><li>Milada now Eva, the perfect German girl </li></ul><ul><li>Tear jerker </li></ul>
  3. 3. Dark Life by Kat Falls <ul><li>Pioneer life under the sea </li></ul><ul><li>Battles, drama, and government conspiracy </li></ul><ul><li>Great readalike to The Hunger Games </li></ul>
  4. 4. One of the Survivors by Susan Shaw <ul><li>Joey lost everything important in his life </li></ul><ul><li>But is he to blame for what killed 22 of his own classmates? </li></ul><ul><li>Realistic & gripping </li></ul>
  5. 5. Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel <ul><li>Ben’s dad has a new job: teaching a chimp to learn sign language </li></ul><ul><li>What happens when the ape becomes much more than an experiment? </li></ul>
  6. 6. Written in Bone by Sally M. Walker <ul><li>Forensic scientists uncover bones of America’s earliest settlers </li></ul><ul><li>Non-fiction </li></ul><ul><li>Awesome photos </li></ul>
  7. 7. The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi
  8. 8. Ruined by Paula Morris <ul><li>Ghost story set in New Orleans </li></ul><ul><li>Mardi Gras, family legacy, and haunted grave yards </li></ul><ul><li>Bonus: Ghosts! </li></ul>
  9. 9. Smile by Raina Telgemeier <ul><li>Graphic novel (like a comic book) </li></ul><ul><li>Funny and relatable story about getting braces </li></ul><ul><li>Even if you don’t have them, you know someone who does! </li></ul>
  10. 10. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

×