Successfully reported this slideshow.

India and nalism


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

India and nalism

  1. 1. Nationalism in india
  2. 2. The following is a translation ofRabindranath Tagores rendering of the stanza:Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people, dispenser of Indiasdestiny. The name rouses the hearts of Punjab, Sind, Gujarat andMaratha, of the Dravid and Orissa and Bengal; it echoes in the hillsof the Vindhyas and Himalayas, mingles in the music of theYamuna and Ganga and is chanted by the waves of the Indian Sea.They pray for thy blessings and sing thy praise. The salvation of allpeople is in thy hand, thou dispenser of Indias destiny.Victory, victory, victory to thee.
  3. 3. • The National Emblem of India is a replica of the Lion of Sarnath, near Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. The Lion Capital was erected in the third century BC by Emperor Ashoka to mark the spot where Buddha first proclaimed his gospel of peace and emancipation to the four quarters of the universe.• The four lions (one hidden from view) - symbolizing power, courage and confidence - est orn a circular abacus.• The abacus is girded by four smaller animals - guardians of the four directions: the lion of the north, the elephant of the east, the horse of the south and the bull of the west.• The abacus rests on a lotus in full bloom, exemplifying the fountainhead of life and creative inspiration. The motto Satyameva Jayate inscribed below the emblem in Devanagari script means truth alone triumphs.
  4. 4. Tiranga
  5. 5.  SAFFRON: the top layer - this color signifies COURAGE and SELFLESSNESS. India has a history of brave and loyal freedom fighters. Saffron indicates the strength of this nation and its will to give away all for the benefit of its people. Saffron is also the color of cloth worn by Holy men of India since ancient times. WHITE: the middle layer - this color signifies PEACE and TRUTH. A nation with diverse ethnic and cultural groups. Rich history, 22 officially recognized languages and more than 300 dialects. Some people think there are only 15 official languages because the language panel on Indian rupee banknotes display the denomination of the note in 15 of the 22 official languages of India. GREEN: the Last layer - the color signifies PROSPERITY and FERTILITY. A country ahead in every field and industry. Has names and people known for their achievement all over the world, a country that gives the best brains and population to almost every other nations success. A success that isnt shared by most. CHAKRA: the wheel in the center. Very well known as ASHOKA CHAKRA taken from the ASHOKA reign Pillar signifies Justice. The 24 Spokes signify 24 hours of a day.
  6. 6. The charkha was both a tool and a symbol of the Indian independence movement. Thecharkha, a small, portable, hand-cranked wheel, is ideal for spinning cotton and other fine,short-staple fibers, though it can be used to spin other fibers as well. The size varies, fromthat of a hardbound novel to the size of a briefcase, to a floor charkha. Mahatma Gandhibrought the charkha into larger use with his teachings. He hoped the charkha would assistthe peoples of India achieve self-sufficiency and independence, and so used the charkha as asymbol of the Indian independence movement and included it on earlier versions of the Flagof India
  7. 7. Bankim ChandraChattopadhyay &Bharat MataThe identity of thenation is most oftensymbolized in a figureor image. This helpscreate an image withwhich people canidentify the nation. Itwas in the twentiethcentury, with thegrowth of nationalism,that the identity ofIndia came to bevisually associated withthe image of BharatMata The image wasfirst created by BankimChandraChattopadhyay.
  8. 8. AbanindranathTagore & BharatMataAbanindranath Tagorepainted his famous image ofBharat Mata. In thispainting Bharat Mata isportrayed as an asceticfigure; she is calm,composed, divine andspiritual. In subsequentyears, the image of BharatMata acquired manydifferent forms, as itcirculated in popular prints,and was painted by differentartists. Devotion to thismother figure came to beseen as evidence of one’snationalism.
  9. 9. Vande Mataram
  10. 10. FLAG
  11. 11. The tricolour,officially adopted as the national emblem by the Congress . Theflag then unfurled had a band of deep saffron to symbolize courage and sacrifice, a bandof white imprinted with a blue charkha for truth, and a band of dark green forfaith and chivalry.On July 22, 1947 three weeks before Indian Independence, the Constituent Assembly adopted the tricolour as Indias National Flag, but replaced thecharkha with the Asoka Chakra, which appearson the abacus of the Lion Pillar at Sarnath.
  12. 12. Powerpoint Templates Page 25