Successfully reported this slideshow.
We use your LinkedIn profile and activity data to personalize ads and to show you more relevant ads. You can change your ad preferences anytime.

The joseph priestley award celebration


Published on

Published in: Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

The joseph priestley award celebration

  1. 1. Thursday, November 7, 2013, 7 p.m. The Joseph Priestley Award was presented by Dickinson College in memory of Joseph Priestley, discoverer of oxygen, to a distinguished scientist whose work has contributed to the welfare of humanity. The Priestley Award, first presented in 1952, recognizes outstanding achievement and contribution to our understanding of science and the world. This year Dr. James E Hansen receives the priestly award. Dr. Nancy A. Roseman, President of Dickinson College formally greeted the audience to the ATS auditorium. Dr. Gregory J. Howard, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies, introduced the speaker. Among others, Dr. Anis Rahman, past chair of the local section of the American Chemical Society (ACS) ( was present at the event. He formally thanked the speaker on behalf of the ACS. Joseph Priestley, discoverer of oxygen
  2. 2. Dr. Nancy A. Roseman, President of Dickinson College greeting the audience Dr. Gregory J. Howard, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies seen in the audience.
  3. 3. Mrs. Christina Van Buskirk, Associate Provost, in the audience Reception prior to the lecture
  4. 4. James E. Hansen receiving the Priestley award from Dr. Nancy A. Roseman, President of Dickinson College Speaker bio Dr. James E. Hansen, former director of the NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies, is adjunct professor at Columbia University’s Earth Institute, where he directs the program on Climate Science, Awareness and Solutions. He was trained in physics and astronomy in the space science program of James Van Allen at the University of Iowa. His early research on the clouds of Venus helped identify their composition as sulfuric acid. Since the late 1970s, he has focused his research on Earth’s climate, especially human-made climate change. Hansen is best known for his testimony on climate change to congressional committees in the 1980s, which helped raise broad awareness of global warming. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1995 and was designated by Time magazine in 2006 as one of the 100 most influential people on Earth. He has received numerous awards, including the Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal, the Roger Revelle Medal, the Sophie Prize and the Blue Planet Prize. Hansen is recognized for speaking truth to power, identifying ineffective policies as greenwash, and outlining actions that the public must take to protect the future of young people and other life on our planet.