Successfully reported this slideshow.

ALISS AGM Minutes 2008



1 of 2
1 of 2

More Related Content

Related Audiobooks

Free with a 14 day trial from Scribd

See all

ALISS AGM Minutes 2008

  1. 1. ALISS AGM June 17th 2008 British Library Attendance J Alderson-Rice (University of Kent); Margaret Anderson (Queens University Belfast -ALISS Committee); Rachel Browning (Falmouth College); Euan Bull (HM Revenue and Customs); Joy Caisley, (University of Southampton); Anne Dagpunar (SOAS ALISS Committee) Heather Dawson (LSE ALISS Secretary); Paul Dudman (University of East London); Louise Fletcher –(Loughborough University); Debs Furness (UCL); Peter Godwin (University of Bedfordshire); Jennie Grimshaw British Library (ALISS Treasurer); Guy Grannum – (National Archives); Paul Horsler (LSE) Angela Joyce (ILRT ALISS Committee); Andy Jackson (University of Dundee) Diane Kearns (University of Bradford ALISS Committee); Wendy Lynwood (Birkbeck College); Helen Mackin (Barnardos ALISS Committee); Janet Morton (University of Leeds); Marie Nicolson (University of Lincoln); Sally Patalong (Coventry University)Jean Portman (University of Surrey); Ruth Rikowski; Jane Secker (LSE ALISS Chair); Vimal Shah (Kings College London); Amanda Spencer – (National Archives); Barbara Spina (SOAS) Vivienne Stiemens (Policy Studies Institute); Angela Upton SCIE -ALISS Committee); Edward Wood (House of Commons) ALISS Finance Jennie Grimshaw presented the draft accounts for 2007/8 This showed that in the first ALISS continued to maintain a firm financial basis. Marcus Wooley University of Luton Treasurer of the CILIP Information Group was elected as Treasurer 2008/9 Review of Activities. Heather Dawson provided a brief summary of Aliss events. This can be read in full on the ALISS website. The awards for most interesting and informative article in ALISS Quarterly was made to: Peter Godwin for his article on the challenges of the Google Generation. The runner up was Andy Jackson for his article on information literacy techniques (library bingo!) at the University of Dundee. Committee Membership 2007/8 Jane Secker stood down as ALISS chair. Other committee members thanked her for her contribution to events and hoped that she would be able to retain some future involvement with the group. The following were elected as committee members. Angela Upton - SCIE (Chairperson).
  2. 2. Jennie Grimshaw - British Library (Treasurer) Heather Dawson – LSE Library (Secretary) Maragaret Anderson/ Norma Menabney (Queens University Belfast) Angela Joyce (ILRT University of Bristol) Helen Mackin - Barnardos Anne Dagpunar SOAS Library Diane Kearns (University of Bradford) Sally Patalong (Coventry University (new member) Future Developments. Northern Ireland conference on supporting social science researchers planned for July 2008 A programme of visits to key information services and libraries was being arranged for the Summer A Summer one day event on the themed topic of web 2.0 and libraries was in the planning stage and would be publicised on LIS_SOCIALSCIENCE Heather Dawson.